We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 2013 weekend at “Adventures East Campground and Cottages””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventures East Cottages
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family and I stayed at “Adventures East Campground and Cottages” August 2013 with our popup travel trailer (Site/Lot 3 in the treed area near the pool). We enjoyed our stay and we will come back. Read on for more details. The positives outweigh the negatives.
We really enjoyed our weekend here, it was very laid back and quiet, restful. We travelled with our 4 ½ year old daughter. The swimming pool was a big hit with our daughter. I found the washrooms and showers were incredibly clean and well looked after, same goes for the pool area and sundeck. The sundeck is very inviting, great place to read your Kindle while the kids swim (or look up and you might be lucky to see a pair of bald eagles soaring overhead). The property is very well maintained.

This is a very peaceful property. If you are looking for a bustling campground, this may not be the place for you. There are no organized activities or programs for kids, or anything like that.

We had a good experience with the staff. For example, on Saturday morning I took a shower and there was no hot water. I went to the main office to report the problem. The lady I spoke with (Shelley) dispatched the maintenance man and the issue was solved. She came to our site to speak to us about it. She told us we could have a late checkout the next day and she also gave us a coupon for 5% off our next visit. I thought this was great. Not only did she resolve the issue promptly and followed up with us but she threw in a couple little perks for our trouble.

The negatives were:

Our site (Site/Lot 3) was near the highway so you could hear the traffic going by, but you got used to it and eventually we didn’t notice it. At night it got very quiet, no worries about noise at night time.

The firewood was wet and my husband fought with it all night to keep it going (both nights). We dreaded putting a new log on the fire because the flames would disappear for 15 minutes and the fire would just smoke, smoke, smoke. But if you were patient enough, the wood would catch fire and the flames would return eventually.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phanyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Adventures East Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 25 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed with our 2 kids in a 1-bedroom cabin. It was clean, quiet and perfect for our needs. The location is great, as the entrance is right off the highway near the Big Red Barn (fantastic gift shop & restaurant), but the cabins are far enough back that it's not noisy at all. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank TimmonsD&L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The one-bedroom cottage is actually only a one-room cottage, as the wall separating the living area from the bedroom is only a divider that does not actually reach the ceiling. During each meal, bugs, mostly moths, dropped from the ceiling onto the table. The hot water heater is tiny and holds enough water for only the quickest of showers. The kitchen was well-equipped. The pool was clean but they did not allow children to shower at the poolside in case they wasted water. You were not permitted to plug in a hair dryer in the campground (poolside) washroom as they did not have enough power to run lights and a hair dryer at the same time. The staff was indifferent. The location is good, close to Baddeck and quiet. Cottage rental was overpriced for the quality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I did not stay in any of the 3 cottages, but did spend a delightfully pleasant and quiet week plus stay in the campground off season.
Adventures East offers 3 cottages, 2 have 1 bedroom and the third unit has 2 bedrooms. They come with living room and kitchen / kitchenettes, outside bbq grills and porch. Each unit is a separate building. Housekeeping - clean sheets and towels are offered.
As for the Campground portion of this place - We liked it. Adventures East has over 70 different sites, ranging from no hookup (tent) to full service (w/s/e 30amp). About 20 sites are under trees (yes there are branches hanging in to sites at places) and lengths vary both in depth and width. The majority of sites are w/e service and are in an exposed field. All sites have fire rings (they sell fire wood on site).
Small playground (swing, slide, seesaws) and outdoor pool are available. Laundry, hot showers and wifi. gravel/dirt road and grass sites.
Cabot Trail is right outside the entrance, and you're just a few km from the community of Baddeck. There is a (dirt) boat launch in to Bras d'Or Lake at the driveway entrance if you like to kayak or canoe. Great place to paddle about and watch Bald Eagles soaring overhead.
Not much staff around during our visit - again, early in season. Manager was on site every day during daytime hours and was very helpful in giving us suggestions for touring and the community. Other staff were in and out doing odd jobs (mowing, painting, etc). We stayed here in a 5th wheel and will put Adventures East on our return to this place list.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JibR1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We did not stay in the cottages although the looked very nice. The pool was good and clean and warm, newer small playground, the showers were big and good temperature. Lots of wooded sites and not too close together (although the RV sites looked close together). Only spoke to staff on check in but she was friendly. We enjoyed our stay. It's close to baddeck.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Krystol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

It really is hard to find a place to stay in Cape Breton that does not even have water-view sites never mind waterfront but this is it! Their website looks great but when you actually stay you find a small campground without any activities, sites are pretty squished together and anything with a tree near it leans considerably making it difficult for larger RV's - perhaps that is why it is empty even in mid August. The staff appears bored at best and downright rude in general and really only speak with you if they have something to complain about. The best part of this camp is the country road next to it where there is room to walk your pet or go for a jog plus the access to water scenes and beautiful cottages and homes on Bras D'Or Lake. Anyway - the campground right across the road would be a better bet for any travellers that want something other than complete solitude and rest!!!
In an effort to find something nice to say - the pool and washrooms are kept very clean.

We stayed at 5 different campgrounds during our stay in Nova Scotia and they were all great except this one - definitely a pass!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MountForestCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I booked one of the cabins and there was no hot water. When I asked for a possible discount the staff was very rude and hung up the phone on me. Very poor customer service! I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank canada051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
4.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
655 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bear on the Lake Guesthouse
Bear on the Lake Guesthouse
#2 of 3 in Whycocomagh
157 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aberdeen Motel
Aberdeen Motel
#2 of 2 in Whycocomagh
66 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
200 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventures East Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventures East Cottages

Address: 9585 Trans Canada Hwy 105, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Baddeck
Price Range: $97 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adventures East Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Adventures East Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventures East Cottages Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing