We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean & quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventures East Cottages
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed with our 2 kids in a 1-bedroom cabin. It was clean, quiet and perfect for our needs. The location is great, as the entrance is right off the highway near the Big Red Barn (fantastic gift shop & restaurant), but the cabins are far enough back that it's not noisy at all. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank TimmonsD&L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

The one-bedroom cottage is actually only a one-room cottage, as the wall separating the living area from the bedroom is only a divider that does not actually reach the ceiling. During each meal, bugs, mostly moths, dropped from the ceiling onto the table. The hot water heater is tiny and holds enough water for only the quickest of showers. The kitchen was well-equipped. The pool was clean but they did not allow children to shower at the poolside in case they wasted water. You were not permitted to plug in a hair dryer in the campground (poolside) washroom as they did not have enough power to run lights and a hair dryer at the same time. The staff was indifferent. The location is good, close to Baddeck and quiet. Cottage rental was overpriced for the quality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I did not stay in any of the 3 cottages, but did spend a delightfully pleasant and quiet week plus stay in the campground off season.
Adventures East offers 3 cottages, 2 have 1 bedroom and the third unit has 2 bedrooms. They come with living room and kitchen / kitchenettes, outside bbq grills and porch. Each unit is a separate building. Housekeeping - clean sheets and towels are offered.
As for the Campground portion of this place - We liked it. Adventures East has over 70 different sites, ranging from no hookup (tent) to full service (w/s/e 30amp). About 20 sites are under trees (yes there are branches hanging in to sites at places) and lengths vary both in depth and width. The majority of sites are w/e service and are in an exposed field. All sites have fire rings (they sell fire wood on site).
Small playground (swing, slide, seesaws) and outdoor pool are available. Laundry, hot showers and wifi. gravel/dirt road and grass sites.
Cabot Trail is right outside the entrance, and you're just a few km from the community of Baddeck. There is a (dirt) boat launch in to Bras d'Or Lake at the driveway entrance if you like to kayak or canoe. Great place to paddle about and watch Bald Eagles soaring overhead.
Not much staff around during our visit - again, early in season. Manager was on site every day during daytime hours and was very helpful in giving us suggestions for touring and the community. Other staff were in and out doing odd jobs (mowing, painting, etc). We stayed here in a 5th wheel and will put Adventures East on our return to this place list.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JibR1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We did not stay in the cottages although the looked very nice. The pool was good and clean and warm, newer small playground, the showers were big and good temperature. Lots of wooded sites and not too close together (although the RV sites looked close together). Only spoke to staff on check in but she was friendly. We enjoyed our stay. It's close to baddeck.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Krystol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

It really is hard to find a place to stay in Cape Breton that does not even have water-view sites never mind waterfront but this is it! Their website looks great but when you actually stay you find a small campground without any activities, sites are pretty squished together and anything with a tree near it leans considerably making it difficult for larger RV's - perhaps that is why it is empty even in mid August. The staff appears bored at best and downright rude in general and really only speak with you if they have something to complain about. The best part of this camp is the country road next to it where there is room to walk your pet or go for a jog plus the access to water scenes and beautiful cottages and homes on Bras D'Or Lake. Anyway - the campground right across the road would be a better bet for any travellers that want something other than complete solitude and rest!!!
In an effort to find something nice to say - the pool and washrooms are kept very clean.

We stayed at 5 different campgrounds during our stay in Nova Scotia and they were all great except this one - definitely a pass!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MountForestCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I booked one of the cabins and there was no hot water. When I asked for a possible discount the staff was very rude and hung up the phone on me. Very poor customer service! I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank canada051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We booked this cottage sight unseen on August 16 2008 based on information through the "Check In Reservation System" located within a Tourist Info Building in Pictou Nova Scotia. The reservation was for that night, guaranteed with a credit card and so there was no canc policy in effect. Upon arriving at the site, we realized that the "cottage" was actually in a Campground, but not advertised as such...also the property was overcharging us from the rate they themselves had guaranteed in the official Nova Scotia "doers and dreamers 2008 Guide". Total misrepresentation, and when we asked them to kindly release us from the guaranteed reservation, they refused. We did not stay there and found other suitable accomodations nearby and decided to take our chances that they would relent and not put the credit card charge through. Just received our bank statement, and the charge is there.
So we are not embroiled in a Credit card dispute.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
4  Thank LTTRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
1.9 mi away
Hunter's Mountain Chalets
13.7 mi away
Aberdeen Motel
Aberdeen Motel
#2 of 2 in Whycocomagh
67 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Bear on the Lake Guesthouse
Bear on the Lake Guesthouse
#2 of 3 in Whycocomagh
157 reviews
1.8 mi away
McIntyre's Cottages & Cameron House
1.3 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventures East Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventures East Cottages

Address: 9585 Trans Canada Hwy 105, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Baddeck
Price Range: $115 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adventures East Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Adventures East Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventures East Cottages Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing