We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
53
94
57
17
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
94
57
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast red barn cabot trail large dining room bras d'or lake lake view yogurt picnic tables dining hall outdoor pool minute drive big spruce clean rooms hard boiled eggs would stay here again quiet room great view
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 238 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We were on a 3 week road trip across Atlantic Canada and stayed at Trailsman for 3 nights. The location is very convenient for going to the Cabot Trail and we got a room with lake access. There are picinic tables on the lawn by the lake and you can see the lake through the large windows. Good idea to bring some insect spray though. There was a coffee maker and a small fridge in the room, but no hair dryer. The room was not new but clean and a good size. We really enjoyed the breakfast - the breakfast room was spacious and open - there was a nice selection at breakfast, with home made cakes. The staff is very friendly as well. Red Barn is only 2 min drive from the hotel and they have very good food.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluesky000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

For a roadside motel, it was pretty good. Nice and clean room. Wonderful spot on the side of a lake. Close to Cabot Trail and Baddeck. Red Barn restaurant less than 5 km down the road. Nice dining room for the morning continental breakfast. Staff nice and helpful. I would go there again.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dav2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

This motel is okay if your expectation is not high. The room is a bit old and have a musty smell, but it is adequate for a quick stay. It is about 10 km out of Baddeck downtown and is inconvenient if you do not have a car and want to explore downtown, which is very small and cute. The motel is, however, situated on a nice property along the lake and each room has a big glass window that you can enjoy the spectacular view. On a nice day, you may see the bald eagle landing on the tree near the lake. Breakfast is included and is quite good. The Red Barn restaurant, 1 km from the motel, is also quite good.

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passenger810645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

We drove into Baddeck and found all accommodation very expensive and then found the Trailsman Motel just outside of town by a lake. It was excellent value for what we needed. We were on the road for 12 days. Sure, the rooms are older but we were touring during the day. There were laundry facilities and internet available and lots of space for the kids to run around. The continental breakfast worked well for us. We had dinner at the Red Barn and the second night at a little Family Diner Downtown (both were great). Drove the Cabot Trail during the day. Do not miss the Alexander Graham Bell Museum!

Date of stay: August 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KelleyBelfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

The website refers to their rooms as "modern", there is NOTHING modern here! The only good thing to report is the view of Bras D'or Lake is lovely and the price is cheap and that's it. The woman at the front desk was not terribly friendly. The room was clean but the mattress and bedding were awful. The continental breakfast was even worse. The only positive thing is that we ate at the Red Barn and had a home cooked, comfort food meal with excellent service. I would not recommend this motel.

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank passionfortravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailsman, Operations Manager at Trailsman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2008

My family prides itself on providing clean, comfortable accomodation with good value for money. We are in the process of updating the older rooms on our property. That being said, we have never been told our beds are terrible, because they are high quality hotel mattresses. Since introducing complimentary continental breakfast last year, we have had 9,900 customers, many of whom have raved about the quality of the breakfast. I am sorry that the front desk agent was not friendly enough. Perhaps she was having a bad day(not that that is an excuse). I suspect the customer was as well. I only wish this person had complained to us in person so we could have attempted to satisfy their issues, or given them a refund. In 43 years in business we have never been described as a dump. I guess there is a first time for everything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews