We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Trailsman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trailsman Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant place”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

For a roadside motel, it was pretty good. Nice and clean room. Wonderful spot on the side of a lake. Close to Cabot Trail and Baddeck. Red Barn restaurant less than 5 km down the road. Nice dining room for the morning continental breakfast. Staff nice and helpful. I would go there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    75
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
61
82
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

This motel is okay if your expectation is not high. The room is a bit old and have a musty smell, but it is adequate for a quick stay. It is about 10 km out of Baddeck downtown and is inconvenient if you do not have a car and want to explore downtown, which is very small and cute. The motel is, however, situated on a nice property along the lake and each room has a big glass window that you can enjoy the spectacular view. On a nice day, you may see the bald eagle landing on the tree near the lake. Breakfast is included and is quite good. The Red Barn restaurant, 1 km from the motel, is also quite good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, ON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

We drove into Baddeck and found all accommodation very expensive and then found the Trailsman Motel just outside of town by a lake. It was excellent value for what we needed. We were on the road for 12 days. Sure, the rooms are older but we were touring during the day. There were laundry facilities and internet available and lots of space for the kids to run around. The continental breakfast worked well for us. We had dinner at the Red Barn and the second night at a little Family Diner Downtown (both were great). Drove the Cabot Trail during the day. Do not miss the Alexander Graham Bell Museum!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — older accommodation
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank winenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

The website refers to their rooms as "modern", there is NOTHING modern here! The only good thing to report is the view of Bras D'or Lake is lovely and the price is cheap and that's it. The woman at the front desk was not terribly friendly. The room was clean but the mattress and bedding were awful. The continental breakfast was even worse. The only positive thing is that we ate at the Red Barn and had a home cooked, comfort food meal with excellent service. I would not recommend this motel.

  • Liked — the view and the price
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank passionfortravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailsman, Operations Manager at Trailsman Motel, responded to this review, September 9, 2008
My family prides itself on providing clean, comfortable accomodation with good value for money. We are in the process of updating the older rooms on our property. That being said, we have never been told our beds are terrible, because they are high quality hotel mattresses. Since introducing complimentary continental breakfast last year, we have had 9,900 customers, many of whom have raved about the quality of the breakfast. I am sorry that the front desk agent was not friendly enough. Perhaps she was having a bad day(not that that is an excuse). I suspect the customer was as well. I only wish this person had complained to us in person so we could have attempted to satisfy their issues, or given them a refund. In 43 years in business we have never been described as a dump. I guess there is a first time for everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baddeck hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baddeck hotels
3.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
582 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
101 reviews
4.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
595 reviews
4.5 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
217 reviews
5.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailsman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailsman Motel

Property: Trailsman Motel
Address: 10003 Hwy #105, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trailsman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Trailsman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailsman Hotel Baddeck
Trailsman Motel Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing