We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little motel!”
Review of Trailsman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trailsman Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful little motel!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at this motel a few weeks ago and it was such a cute place right by the lake. So calm and peaceful. It is not a sketchy motel at all. It is just what you need in a scenic place like Cape Breton Island. We really enjoyed our stay here. It was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. I haven't had a bread tastier than theirs! My advice - arrive early in the morning for breakfast so you can enjoy their bread. We arrived just about when they were closing breakfast and they only had a few slices of bread left :(

Room Tip: It is a really calm and a quiet location, so there shouldn't be any issues with noise or anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    75
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
61
82
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
'the world
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This rustic motel is centrally located for visiting Cabot Trail, Sydney and Fort Louisbourg. We stayed for one night only, choosing to stay on the other side of the Cabot Trail at the end of our ride. Our room was in a little cabin in the woods and fronted on the Bras d'Or Lake. Though the facility is older and could use a little refreshing, the view from our room was spectacular. Watching the evening storm pass over, while seated at our picture window, we spent a few quiet moments enjoying nature. The room could use a screen door, however, as this cabin is located in the midst of mosquito territory. The grounds of the motel are well-kept. Facilities included a laundry room and outside cooking grills with picnic table. The hotel has many tour visits, so we were grateful for our quiet room in the woods. The morning continental breakfast was served in a spacious room overlooking the grounds and lake. Breads, muffins, cereals, juices, fresh fruit and yogurt were plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pictograms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and toddler for 3 nights at the start of a trip round the Cabot Trail. We had a queen suite at the back of the motel. This had brilliant views of the lake - the only thing in the way of the view was our rental car which was conveniently parked outside the door!

The suite had a sitting room, bathroom, kitchenette and separate bedroom. It could be said that the suite was quite dark - but with the view immediately outside, it's well worth the compromise.

The breakfast was excellent - a choice of cereals, juice, fruit, bread, tasty homemade muffins from the Herring Choker Deli across the road.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a queen suite at the back for the excellent view and good facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spethy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The Room was clean, the bathroom was fine, Bedding and furniture was dated. Just an average room for a one night stopover. The pool was not open! The a/c unit was so loud it made the floor vibrate, as a result not a great sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarieH3549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The room we stayed in had a very strong musty smell. When we arrived my three year old was sleeping in the car and we had to put him in the room to sleep. Later we obtained some Febreze from the laundry room and sprayed it in the room. The smell remained through the night.

There was supposed to be a swimming pool but it was broken and only had a few feet of dirty water in it.

Also the motel is along the highway and outside Baddeck. The free breakfast was good. I didn’t have much expectation but I was really disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfdexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baddeck hotels

TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I think every unit has a lake view at this motel. The grounds slope down to the water, and the owners suggested we could swim in the lake since their pool wasn't working (we didn't swim in the lake). The breakfast room, too, has a beautiful view. Breakfast had some healthy choices including sliced tomato, cottage cheese, and yoghurt. Baked goods were from a nearby bakery (the Scottish oatcakes are REALLY good). Rooms are nicely-sized; ours had two twins in addition to a full and we still had plenty of room to relax. There's lots of run-around space for kids. Mine enjoyed flying the kites (that they had made at the Alexander Graham Bell museum - a site very much worth visiting!) there. It's easy to hop onto almost any of Cape Breton Island's many trails from this motel. We'd hoped for a room with a kitchen, but didn't get one. There was a bbq grill outside our room that we could have used, though.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms here. All are on the ground level, so no noise from above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleswanTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip to the Maritimes. Good central location to see all of Cape Breton. The price was right and the cold breakfast was just fine to start the day. Nice grounds right on the lake. My only complaints were, as others have said it is very noisy...both the highway noise and the room to room noise. People tend to congregate outside the rooms on the parking lot side to socialize which results in noise and smoke coming through the windows. Also, advertised an outdoor pool but when we went to check it out, it wasn't operational and looked like it hadn't been for some time. that was disappointing as it was one of the perks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
3.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
589 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
105 reviews
4.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
618 reviews
5.6 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
279 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aberdeen Motel
Aberdeen Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailsman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailsman Motel

Property: Trailsman Motel
Address: 10003 Hwy #105, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trailsman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Trailsman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailsman Hotel Baddeck
Trailsman Motel Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing