We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff went above and beyond!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabot Trail Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabot Trail Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staff went above and beyond!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a roadside motel - it's cheap, clean and comfortable, but nothing overly fancy. My father and I stayed here with our bulldog. It's fairly close to Baddeck and it's attractions, and it's easy to find. The room was clean, if a bit dated, and the knob on the air conditioner was broken, but still worked with some tweaking. The television was a bit small. Room was quiet at night and I got a good night's sleep.

The motel is overall average, but the staff are fantastic. While there, my father (a stroke survivor with limited use of his left leg and left arm) rolled his ankle and fell on his face. One staff member called the ambulance for me, another offered to pick us up at the hospital later. When he was discharged, they brought a card table to our room so we could eat in our room. Everyone was so concerned and so helpful. I couldn't have asked for anything better in a bad situation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nepthys001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    46
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
24
49
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed in a small chateau at the Cabot Trail Motel. It had two rooms with beds in each, so there was some privacy. Full kitchen but very small, but we didn't need anything more. Owner was so pleasant and made our stay even better. She upgraded us to this chateau for no extra charge because she thought we'd prefer it over what we had reserved. It rained most of the time we were there, but that is no one's fault. But we were glad we had a bit more room than in a regular motel room. I'd recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Cabot Trail Motel on our 23 anniversary. This mom and pop hotel was just what the Doctor ordered. It is centrally located on the Cabot Trail and a short drive to Baddeck. Dine at their in house restrauant and enjoy home cooked meals and plenty of it. A large heated pool gives you a place to soak up the rays and have some fun. If you are looking for a inexpensive, clean and friendly place to lay your head give the folks at the Cabot Trail Motel a call.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shvmcneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Well.. to start off the trip, we entered the hotel.. We were greeted by a woman at the front desk.. To say the least she was unpleasant.. Barely spoke with us.. Just right to business.. Just gave us 1 key(asked for another), and told us where our room was.

Upon entering the room, we were greeted with a strong musty smell in the outdated room.. We had large stains in the carpet, hair on the pillows, and a musty odour that would not leave.. If you could get over the flaws of the room, it was relaxing..

The view of the Brad D'or Lakes, was decent. Although highway traffic does get loud at night.

The pool was clean, and nice. Water warm(heated) with chairs to sit, and a table with umbrella.

The restaurant:
Well.. the food was good .. There was no service. Our server(young guy) must have been new.. We could see him talking about us to the woman at the front desk, by pointing at us.. We did not feel welcome as this spot at all..

Checking out:
We checkd out at 10am, and were met by a man at the front desk, he was nice. and greeted us (Wish he was there all weekend) Although he was unsure of our rate.. So I told him the rate, and he just erased what he had written down, and filled in the proper amount.

I would only recommend this hotel to people who were just staying the night for a pit stop, before they get to their nicer hotel..


If I were to do it again, I would pay a few bucks extra and stay in Baddeck, or 2 minutes down the 105 at a different motel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Mi
Level Contributor
324 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We came into Baddeck without reservations and were turned away at several "high priced" places.
We drove the short distance out of Baddeck to the Cabot Trail Motel which sets high on a hill overlooking the Bras D'Or lake. The motel is very attractive from the road. So we checked it out. WOW! Were we impressed! For quite a bit less money we have a GREAT comfortable (if dated) room with an unbelievable picture-perfect overlook of the lake from the oversized window in our room. What a value--don't "overlook" this motel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

A comfortable motel on the outskirts of Baddeck across from the Bras D'or Lakes.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

Our experience with the Cabot Trail Motel was less than wonderful. First - the property looks nothing like the pictures - they've chosen to take a picture of one brand new unit they have, however the majority of the units are old and delapatated-looking. Also - it's a full 5 minute drive outside Baddeck. Not really a great location. We went into the office to check in, and the woman was really not very pleasant. She had no idea what rate we were supposed to pay and wanted us to tell her what we were quoted. She essentially took our money, gave us our keys and disappeared. We were traveling as two couples who wanted separate rooms, but naturally were hoping to be close to one another. Rather, they had 8 rooms in between us. The rooms themselves had a unpleasant smell, but things were somewhat clean. The real "fun" came that evening - when trying to fall asleep, we were woken up by the loudest snoring ever. Now, I realise this is not the hotel's fault - but the fact that the walls were so paper thin that we could actually feel the vibration of the person in the next room snoring through the wall can only indicate to me that the walls were ridiculously thin. To be fair - we requested to be moved to a new room, and we were moved, however I can only venture a guess as to what might have happened if the hotel was more full. In any case, checking out the next day was again quick but unfriendly - the lady at the office just sort of looked at us, and I said "I'm checking out" and she asked "you mean just returning your keys?" to which I replied yes, put them down, she grabbed them and walked away. Moral of the story - pay a few bucks extra and stay IN Baddeck - there are some lovely looking hotels, and this isn't worth the money.

  • Liked — The view of the lake.
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ertol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
1.8 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
46.7 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
2.4 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
39.9 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.9 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 18 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Trail Motel

Property: Cabot Trail Motel
Address: 8450 Trans Canada Hwy 105, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabot Trail Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under NEW Ownership in 2013 we are settled on the shore of the Bras d'Or Lake, this family run Motel sits on top of a beautiful hill overlooking the lake. We have a private beach and docking facility, and a heated in-ground pool. Our Cabot Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner, with most seats providing amazing views of the lake. We are 5 minutes drive from the Village of Baddeck, and the Alexander Graham Bell Museum. A wonderful stop for two nights when traveling around the world famous Cabot Trail. We are a small, comfortable, CLEAN, family motel that specialize in making our guests feel at home. We are " A refreshing stop along the way..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cabot Trail Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Trail Hotel Baddeck
Cabot Trail Motel Baddeck, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing