We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but musty.”
Review of Kelly's View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelly's View Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Boularderie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, but musty.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Positives: Clean room, comfortable beds, satellite TV, friendly staff.
Negatives: Musty smell, no hand towels, no place handy to food, drinks, or restaurants. Need room darkening curtains for when the sun comes up at 5 a.m. & to block green glow from rope lighting.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BigTimeLeafsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night recently whilst travelling in Cape Breton. The owners were lovely - very helpful & friendly. The room was spotless. All the facilities that you need & very comfortable. I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a nice clean motel. It has a nice view of the mountain across from it.
Just don't trust your GPS to get you there (ours sent us on a detour at night). We had a hard time finding the sign in the dark too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WANTTOGETAWAY65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very nice helpful friendly place, but the traffic noise will drive you crazy if that bothers you, we had expected something better to be honest and had planned to have our own breakfasts for our group of 12, but that cannot work here. No common room for meets etc, and we had to use the restaurant next door for breakfast which was a pain to be honest. We had real issues with jamming locks and the tv system is so complicated we did not use. I just got the impression there was more walks from here but you have this very busy road to deal with. Views of the lake and the mountain but this Motel is on the wrong side of the road to enjoy it all.My first time taking groups to Canada so lots to learn, With having to get breakfasts elsewhere this worked out dearer for us. if you want a quick clean bed for the night and early morning get away this is probably for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticConnexionsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here a couple of days to explore the local area before heading around the cabit trail. Staff here were very friendly, it's a good clean hotel fo a few days in cape Breton. About half an hour to Cabot trail and an hour to louiseburg. Restaurant next door had good fish cakes!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austcouple8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I were traveling to Newfoundland to take our son to college, and were looking for a place to stay for a night on the return trip. I read all the positive reviews of Kelly's View here on Trip Advisor so we stopped in after considering some alternatives, including some much pricier accommodations in the Baddeck area. I was thrilled that this little family-owned motel offered a comfortable, extremely clean place to spend the night. The room even had an adjustable, wall mounted flat screen 32" TV. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and we had a good night's rest. There was plenty of hot water for morning showers, and a wonderful view out the front window. This motel was an excellent value and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again in the the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkhhMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Everything was much better than I expected - cleanliness, well maintained, more modern than expected - free wifi, really good restaurant next door. You need to remember where you are - you're in Cape Breton - not Manhattan, you have to manage your own expectations - all mine were exceeded, and especially at the price! Very friendly staff, more than accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee_C_B_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boularderie
2.5 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
2.4 mi away
Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kow's Inn
Kow's Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Bras d'Or
13 reviews
3.3 mi away
A Boat to Sea
A Boat to Sea
#3 of 6 in North Sydney
35 reviews
33.2 mi away
The Iona Heights Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly's View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's View Motel

Property: Kelly's View Motel
Address: 783, Route 105 TransCanada Hwy, Boularderie, Nova Scotia B1X 1J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Boularderie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Boularderie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly's View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kelly's View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly's View Motel Boularderie, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing