We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always good”

Cedar House Bakery and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“always good”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

sometimes it can get a little busy but the staff are fabulious and the food is great - not to mention the bakery which is excellent as well

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    29
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Filled the gap . . .”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stopped here for lunch and the place was bustling. The service was very good , healthy portions but we found the food to be "tasteless "for the lack of a better word.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great breakfast!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stopped here for a late breakfast and it was excellent. We ended up taking an entire coconut cream pie with us - a definite bargain in comparison to the per slice price, and delicious to boot!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kkhhMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best pie in the universe”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The baking is divine, and we have sampled just about everything on offer the past few years. Homemade raisin bread, Cape Breton oatcakes, cinnamon buns, scones, tea biscuits, rolls--everything is delicious, but best of all, hands down, is their strawberry rhubarb pie. The best pie we've had anywhere anytime in all of Nova Scotia. (Their blueberry and apple pies and coconut cream pies are also excellent.) And their seafood chowder is right up there, quite possibly the best in the province. A light cream broth, no thickeners, a beautiful blend of fresh haddock, scallops and lobster with just enough diced potato and onion to add texture. The fishcakes are also fantastic. No visit to Cape Breton is complete without at least one (or more) stops at the Cedar House.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happycamper154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A highlight of our visit to Cape Breton - Gluten Free Extraordinaire!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I are severe Celiacs so when we planned a visit to Cape Breton we were concerned about the availability of "safe" gluten free food. My daughter's friend had recommended Cedar House to her so we thought we would see if by chance they may be able to prepare something safe for us to eat. We were overjoyed to find out they provide top notch gluten free food prepared in a separate area with every precaution taken to avoid cross contamination. The staff were so understanding of our requirements and provided incredible service. The gluten free menu was probably the most extensive we had ever seen. This restaurant provides home style cooking and the lines to get in tell you all you need to know about the experience within. Thank you Cedar House for making our weekend safe and over the top enjoyable!

Helpful?
5 Thank DESnavely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar House Bakery and Restaurant also viewed

Boularderie, Cape Breton Island
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Cedar House Bakery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing