We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lighthouse Kitchen is "one of Nova Scotia's best kept secrets"”

The Lighthouse on Cape d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: there is currently a listing for the hotel portion of the property, however I'm not able to find a listing for the restaurant. I'd love to post a raving review! It was excellent! Also, there are a few tips worth sharing with future visitors.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The Lighthouse Kitchen is "one of Nova Scotia's best kept secrets"”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Lighthouse Kitchen is "one of Nova Scotia's best kept secrets". The dinner menu is a fixed menu, and it's cash or travellers cheques only, but they do cater to vegetarians, kids and special requests. The view here is worth a million dollars and The Lighthouse Kitchen has amazing food. You owe it to yourself to see our full blog review: "<a href="http://www.girafxmedia.com/NovaScotia/?p=557" target="_blank">here</a>".

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    12
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had dinner at the Lighthouse on July 9 and it was a delightful experience. First, reservations are a must since the restaurant is tiny and you must drive a long way to reach it. Also, you must make a fairly steep hike down. But it's worth it! There were only two items on the menu but they were both excellent. Your salad or soup and dessert were included in the price. You feel like you're dining in someone's private dining room. After dinner be sure to hike over to the lighthouse itself to watch the sunset. What a beautiful setting!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atlmomw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful experience on Fundy”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

An amazing collage of wonderful moments ...... steep gravel country drive to the top, delightful views from the walking paths off the parking lot, meander down to "base" camp (wear walking shoes.....flip flops work but are hard on your toes), we visited at high tide, so amazing to watch Dory rip in action, wind buffeted as we gandered around the lighthouse (take a sweater), kids enjoyed the rock walk below the lighthouse and had their version of the Inukshuk constructed........best surprise = walking into a 'closed' resturant and welcomed by Chef Darcey...who then gave us a hearty welcome and a 3 item menu....amongst our group of 8, we tried all three dishes and all where fabulous......the bill was shockingly low for the wonderful meals consumed. Take the trip....its pleasantly different! Cheers to the Light House on Cape d'Or.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not open!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We decided to stop here for lunch on June 19,2013. Their voice message on their phone said that they opened May 21. So we drove the long and difficult road out to it (following part way a road grader). The view was indeed breathtaking. As we parked we saw some people eating at a picnic table near the parking lot. At the top of the trail was a sign that said, "Cafe below. Come on down!" We did. It is a long difficult climb for us seniors but we expected to have lunch at the bottom. What we found was a locked cafe with no sign. The windows were open and we walked all around but there was no one there (except for others looking for lunch too). I don't know the reason it was closed but they could at least have put a sign at the top of the trail saying that they were closed. The view did not really make up for the long drive and long difficult walk and no lunch!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Davetnr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing service and amazing views.”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My family and I stayed the night in the Lighthouse Keepers House which was comfortable, clean and homey and we also enjoyed an amazing dinner with darcy in the "Kitchen". We received personal service tailored to exactly what we needed, partly because we were the only ones there that evening but mostly because of the attentiveness and skill of our host. My son was just turning the corner after having his wisdom teeth removed and was still a little sore and swollen. Darcy made sure to prepare a meal that he could enjoy but made no compromise on the quality, flavour and execution of the food. We didn't have to order, the meal was perfect and exactly what we wanted. The views are spectacular, and the comfortable the mood of the dining room compliment them perfectly. Dessert was wonderful but the real dessert was the sunset. We rose the next day to see the sunrise and enjoyed a breakfast that again anticipated our wants perfectly. to top it all off the prices are extremely reasonable. I've given the restaurant a $$ rating which means "causal sit down service", which in truth it is but the food and service are on par with most fine dining establishments I've gone to.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse on Cape d'Or also viewed

Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia
Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia
 
Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia
 

Been to The Lighthouse on Cape d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing