We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”
Review of Lighthouse Restaurant - CLOSED

Lighthouse Restaurant
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Lighthouse Restaurant has been serving up delicious meals for well over 30 years on the waterfront in Woody Point. We offer a selection of mouth watering seafood meals along with some traditional Newfoundland dishes like Fish Cakes and HomeBaked Beans...and of course the Best Fish and Chips in Gros Morne National Park, according to the Lonely Planet.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A very good and friendly restaurant with food to match. There is no pretension here to be a city restaurant, it is a place to enjoy friendly banter, to feel at home and to enjoy good local food. Our secod night's visit was made special by preordering a snow crab and lobster dinner for a birthday. The meal was memorable and the evening was made more enjoyable by the staff with there infectious friendly nature. Many thanks

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Newfoundland food at its best”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We liked everything we ate - fish cakes, beans, fish, chowder, club sandwiches, desserts, beer, wine, salads....
The service is down home, friendly, and efficient!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent value, good food”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Portions were a nice size, availability of different types of fish and other seafood on the menu was great, as a lot of places we visited in that area only had cod or salmon and that too was mostly fried. Loved the scallops, Salmon and cod. We had asked the salmon be grilled and scallops be seared and that was done well. Overall we found our lunch to be excellent, although we used the dinner menu to order (close enough to dinner time). Lobster, halibut, available as well. We would have come back again if woody point was not one hr drive from where we were staying.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sohail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great service, average food, decent views”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Nice place, very friendly people. Had the surf and turf (craving a little beef but didn't want to miss the seafood). Had a sald to start.

Vies look over the harbour which is nice but fairly low so yo miss the panaramic views.

Very limited wine menu and nothing by the half litre.

A bit overpriced but I think it is a function of a short tourist season.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoCFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideSuites, Owner at Lighthouse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thanks for visiting our restaurant and glad to hear you appreciated our service :) We like to get reviews from our customers so thanks for the feedback.
Your visit was in our first week of operation, so we did have a smaller wine list to choose from than we normally have for the rest of the year.We do expand our wine list (happening today in fact) and are quite proud of our quality selections of Chardonnays, Pinot Grigios, Sauvignon Blancs, Sparkling White, Merlots, Cabernet Sauvignons, Shiraz and Red Blends.
You made a good choice with your Surf and Turf as it is one of our popular dishes. We use Angus Beef for our steaks, which we bbq outdoors, and use a nice sized scallop, so the price is reflective of the quality of products and the daily operational costs of a restaurant and has nothing to do with our seasonal business. And while our restaurant is at sea level and we are in a heritage buidling with perhaps less window frontage than a more modern building, our views of Bonne Bay are still very good....saw whales and porpoises today! So we thank you for your business hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
“Great local fare!”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the fish and chips - better than any in St. John's! And the chocolate cake was amazing. Coupled with the amazing accomodations of Seaside Suites you couldn't ask for a better base for exploring Gros Morne.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amybrownadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Restaurant also viewed

Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park
Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing