We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place to Relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woody Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland
Ranked #2 of 5 Woody Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Seaside Suites is a wonderful place to unwind and to enjoy the sights and sounds of Bonne Bay and Gros Morne. The suite was extremely comfortable and is highly recommended as a base to explore this wonderful area. Darlene is a friendly and charming hostess whose relaxed character makes you fell very welcome from the the first moment. Ken who is more associated with the restaurant (see seperate review) forms the second part of a very, very nice couple. Thanks to you both for a great time in late June and helping to make a 70th birthday memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
99
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had five wonderful nights at the Seaside Suites. Ken and Darlene, the owners, have thought of everything to make these suites comfortable and they also make their guests feel very welcome. The suites are attractive and spacious and the views of Gros Morne and Bonne Bay make you want to stay even longer. The owners also operate a restaurant across the street where one can enjoy great fish chowder, fish cakes, home made baked beans, other tasty dishes and tempting desserts. A nice gift shop next to the restaurant gave us an easy place to find things to take home. Woody Point is charming and a great place to take other day trips to trails in Gros Morne. We are ready to return and we just came home!

Room Tip: All three suites are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The views, the hosts, the room and the service were all fantastic. We stayed in the Gros Morne Suite July 5 to 7, 2012. Nothing was overlooked by hosts Ken and Darlene. They made us very welcome.

Whales in the harbour, a full moon on the bay. We even saw a double rainbow while on the deck ouitside of our room.

We highly recommend the host's restaurant too. Good food, good prices and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We are here for the last of a three night stay in the Gros Morne Suite. The suite has great views of Gros Morne from our deck over the bay. Darlene is a wonderful hostess who provides information about the area and bookings if you wish. She has thought of everthing you could possibly want in your room during your stay, from a cooler bag, DVDs and bubble bath to a fishing rod. We cooked one meal on the BBQ but Ken and Darlene delivered two other meals right to our room. The cod and lobster were caught fresh that day and were excellent. Minke whales surfaced off our our deck during dinner tonight. A very special place.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for one of the two suites with decks on the bay- well worth it. Consider booking wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debraleeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived at the Seaside Suites on June 6th 2012, and were greeted by Ken who gave us a tour of our room, the I pod was playing local cultural music and we were shown the CD's available to us along with recommendations.We were shown a menu of dinner items and asked if we would be coming across the street for dinner, when I noticed that there was no lobster on the menu, our request was accommodated,Thank's to Colleen's and her Husband who caught them that day!!Amazing. We Knew we had picked the perfect place when I opened the fridge in the room and found a wine cooler which allowed us sit right down to enjoy a glass of wine.

Darlene and Ken were excellent hosts they were very helpful and always anticipating our every need.

We are only sorry we didn't stay longer and the weather had allowed us to sit outside and enjoy the views,but I hear that there is no bad weather in Newfoundland only bad clothes!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deborah y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
336 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent 3 wonderful nighs in one of the most spectacular places we have ever stayed - like being aboard a luxury houseboat, on and over the actual water of this very active port. The fishing fleet was finishing its final days of their Lobster and Turbot days and we were able to watch everything happening from our own private deck. This is a small and beautiful fishing town and we were able to enjoy many local walks and restaurants. Even a super special night when the owners/operators (husband/wife) of this property actually walked over to the lobster boats, selected a couple of nice lobsters for us to choose one for dinner - it was huge and nice!! One of the owners happens to be the town Mayor - not every day that a Mayor walks over with fresh, cooked lobster and condiments to hand deliver to guests!! They also helped immensely with suggestions for various hiking and touring - a super place along the Viking Trail and we simply needed more time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We did not know what to expect, except that this property has had excellent reviews. It surpassed our expectations shaped by the write-ups. The main Suites building, which overhangs the water in Woody Point harbour, offer three very large rooms, each with ample sleeping and living areas, two with large decks over the water. All three rooms are are beautifully designed, with both style and comfort in mind. Small touches such as high-quality coffee and coffee-maker + agreeable bathroom amenities enhance the experience. The owners were exceptionally helpful throughout, providing advice and assistance whenever we asked and otherwise leaving us alone. We ate dinner in their restaurant twice and enjoyed it. Beyond delicious fresh fish, foodies may be frustrated in the park, but our group enjoyed it all. We ate breakfast in a very pleasant cafe down the street.

In sum, of about 80 hotels I have stayed in over the past year, world-wide, this is the one I enjoyed most due to stunning views, terrific rooms and kind hosts. Not cheap, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woody Point
6.1 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.9 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland

Property: Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland
Address: 39 Water Street, Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Woody Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woody Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Suites is a four-star waterfront accommodation in the quaint, historic seaside village of Woody Point. We are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Park with views of the Tableland Mountains, Gros Morne Mountain and the ocean waters of Bonne Bay. There is nothing more soothing and scenic as the views and sounds of the ocean. We have two properties across the street from each other, over the water and across the street from the water; the Over the Water Building (which IS over the water) is home to the Gros Morne, Tablelands and Lighthouse Suites. The Wharfside Building is newly opened and has the Sandollar and Starfish Suites as well as Seaside Souvenirs and our Seaside Deli & Dairy Bar, located directly across from the town wharf, where you can try fishing, take in the scenic views with your morning coffee, or catch the water taxi to Norris Point for an outing. We have five well appointed suites. The waterfront of Woody Point has recently been designated a Heritage District for its historic significance on the West Coast of Newfoundland and also for its' restoration of the many historic buildings along the water. When you settle in at Seaside Suites, you can stroll and enjoy our quaint, scenic village. Be sure to choose Seaside Suites for your Gros Morne adventure. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland Woody Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing