We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room we've ever stayed in!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woody Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland
Ranked #2 of 5 Woody Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best room we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon trip to Newfoundland (July 2009). We stayed in the Grose Morne suite. We travel quite frequently, which means we've stayed at quite a few hotels, resorts, inn, B&Bs, etc. This place is still on the top of our list for places to stay. Woody point seems to be a little out of the way if you are doing most of your activities in Rocky Harbor, but Seaside suites is WORTH THE DRIVE (or catamaran ride)! Everything in the room is quality, right down to the "Bose" Ipod dock. There's nothing like eating breakfast out on the deck...on the water! It was a treat to stay there, and I would recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: I'm sure either of the suites is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank prettyalright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
99
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Great location over the water in a sleepy town - so relaxing and friendly. Sunset views over the harbour. Comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom. Clean and well-appointed throughout. Small kitchenette but not needed because Ken's (your host and town mayor) cooking over the road was excellent. The company of him and his lovely wife, Darlene, and their cheery band of staff complemented the great food (the best that we had in NFLD).
If you are touring NFLD, try also Elizabeth J Cottages at Bonavista, The Yellow House at Tors Cove, and River Tides B&B at Norris Arm.

Room Tip: Go for one of the two rooms over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SomersetReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, On
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We chose Seaside suites based on the trip advisor reviews, so thanks to all of you who posted reviews. We found the suite to be exactly as described - comortable, with all the amenities, clean and luxurious. FABULOUS
As hosts, Darlene and Ken were welcoming, kind and provided excellent tips and suggestions about what to do. For example, we asked at the Discovery Centre to borrow the GPS guide for the Tablelands hike, and this made the hike much more informative. We would not have known to do this, had Darlene not suggested it. FABULOUS
The food at the restaurant was great. We even enjoyed fresh cod in our room one evening, thanks to Darlene and Ken, who always have the attitude, "we'll make it happen" FABULOUS.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Woody Point. It is a quiet getaway and with memories we will treasure for a lifetime. We hope to come back again soon.
Advice to other travellers
If you plan to hike Gros Morne, be sure to dress in layers and bring plenty of water (it's suggested at least 2 litres per person). The Lookout and Tablelands hikes are closeby and there Lookout offers great views of Bonne Bay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Read some of the reviews, then make your reservations and start lookling forward to your stay in world class accomodations, it's not a coincidence that Seaside Suites has a 5 star rating from everyone that has stayed there. The restaurant is very good and yes Colleen makes everyone feel like they are having dinner at a good friend's house. It's also worth mentioning that the gift shop has very nice quality items, not the typical selection at tourist traps. While you're staying at Woody Point take a walk around town, a short visit to the local cemetery will give you a good indication of how long Ken's family have lived in the area. Our second visit to Gros Morne is probably two years away but we're already looking forward to it. Thanks go to Darlene and Ken for creating this paradise on the Woody Point waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scooplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We began our first trip to Newfoundland in the Grose Morne. We stayed at the Seaside Suites in Woody Point and our hosts, Darlene and Ken Thomas, helped make our trip a very special one. We stayed in the Gros Morne Suite which is right over the water with a deck to sit on and enjoy the water and scenery. The suite itsell was very comfortable. Living area with fireplace and flat screen tv, kitchenette and small table with 2 chairs, queen size bed. Full bathroom with claw foot tub and lovely walk in shower. Ken and Darlene have thought of everything. It even has a telescope and fishing poles as well as a bose ipod playing soothing music. Across the street is the Lighthouse Restaurant and Gift Shop which Darlene and Ken, the owners of the Suites, also own. The meals were delicious and Colleen is a great hostess with so much character. What was really wonderful was that many locals were there for dinner and were more than happy to sit and chat with us and tell us all about the area. Darlene and Ken couldn't do enough for us. Darlene mapped out and suggested many things to do that she thought we would be interested in seeing or doing. She made reservartions for us to do the boat trip on the Western Brook Pond which was a highlight of our trip. We had a lovely lunch in Trout River at the Seaside Restaurant. We did a tour of the Tablelands with a very enthusiastic and knowledgeable Parks Canada guide named Chris who was outstanding. My husband and I fell in love with the Gros Morne but in particular Woody Point. We really didn't want to leave and felt we were saying goodbye to old friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Robinson
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

From the moment we met Darlene we knew this was going to be the highlight of our honeymoon. We had the pleasure (and yes, luxury!) of staying in the Gros Morne suite which, besides being flawlessly decorated, was comfortable and had all of the perks of being at home. The coffee pot got well used!

We slept like rocks each night, both from the ocean air, and the comfortable bed, and enjoyed the soaker tub in the bathroom - especially the evening when we got home from our cold, wet (amazing!) boat tour.

The lighthouse restaurant served up hearty home-style food, in a friendly atmosphere. I felt like I had gone to a favourite relative's for dinner.

If you're looking for a comfortable haven and home base while exploring Gros Morne, this is it... you will not be disappointed, and the only regret you feel will be when you have to leave!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meagan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Easily the nicest place we stayed on our tour of Newfoundland. We stayed in the lighthouse suite, the other rooms being occupied. We loved the view of the harbour and Gross Morne Mountain out the front window.. Super clean. Ultra comfortable. Dinner at the restaurant across the road was very good. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer

Thanks Ken and Darlene for a great stay.

Brian and Ruth..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woody Point
6.1 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
184 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
93 reviews
2.8 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
7 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
92 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gros Morne Suites
Gros Morne Suites
#5 of 16 in Rocky Harbour
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland

Property: Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland
Address: 39 Water Street, Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Woody Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woody Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Suites is a four-star waterfront accommodation in the quaint, historic seaside village of Woody Point. We are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Park with views of the Tableland Mountains, Gros Morne Mountain and the ocean waters of Bonne Bay. There is nothing more soothing and scenic as the views and sounds of the ocean. We have two properties across the street from each other, over the water and across the street from the water; the Over the Water Building (which IS over the water) is home to the Gros Morne, Tablelands and Lighthouse Suites. The Wharfside Building is newly opened and has the Sandollar and Starfish Suites as well as Seaside Souvenirs and our Seaside Deli & Dairy Bar, located directly across from the town wharf, where you can try fishing, take in the scenic views with your morning coffee, or catch the water taxi to Norris Point for an outing. We have five well appointed suites. The waterfront of Woody Point has recently been designated a Heritage District for its historic significance on the West Coast of Newfoundland and also for its' restoration of the many historic buildings along the water. When you settle in at Seaside Suites, you can stroll and enjoy our quaint, scenic village. Be sure to choose Seaside Suites for your Gros Morne adventure. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland Woody Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing