We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Meal and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sophia's Fine Dining at the Eriksen Premises

Sophia's Fine Dining at the Eriksen Premises
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Trinity
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sophia's at the Eriksen Premises is a casual fine dining restaurant offering a seasonal menu of dishes prepared with fresh, local ingredients fusing traditional cuisine with international inspiration. Gluten-free, Vegan & Vegetarian selections available.Sophia's at the Eriksen Premises belongs to the Newfoundland Experience collection of Heritage Inns and Dining located in Trinity & Carbonear.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

NL traditional meal- bread pudding was 5* - very nice setting, excellent service and meal. We will return to this restaurant our next trip to Trinity.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NLCaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a very good meal and some of the freshest fish I have ever tasted. Good service and not vicious prices.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MacEddey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A very satisfactory dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This meal compares favourably to a good big city restaurant. It wasn't the absolute best but everything was fresh, competently prepared, nicely presented and very well served. It had some touches that were especially good - little vegetable delights. The seafood chowder was good - not fabulous but tasty and well made. The tenderloin steaks were perfectly cooked. The flour-less chocolate cake was sinfully good. The creme brullee wasn't special. Good wine selection. A bit pricey. Overall, the second best place in town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances4612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
316 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“LOVELY LUNCH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped by this restaurant about 10 minutes before they were closing after lunch but they were kind enough to still serve us.
It was a very comfortable spot, beautifully decorated in a classic style.
I had cod cakes (really good) while my partner had a beef tenderloin sandwich (not much meat in it at all) with soup which he quite enjoyed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had supper here, with my in-laws. Their meal was great, or so they said. My fiance and I were very disappointed with our meal. The portions were very small and it completely lacked any flavor... I was actually going to ask for some ketchup. I had the cod and "smashed" potatoes. Very disappointed. After having had supper at the Twine Loft the evening prior, and for the price and quality of food there, I was very disappointed with this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Manjula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia's Fine Dining at the Eriksen Premises also viewed

Trinity, Newfoundland
Trinity, Newfoundland
 
Bonavista, Newfoundland
 

Been to Sophia's Fine Dining at the Eriksen Premises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing