We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place”
Review of Trinity Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinity
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trinity Cabins
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent place”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The price was good and the cabin was clean. The owners/managers are very, very (extremely) friendly and kind. There seemed to be a bit of a problem with the stove in that when you plug it in, the burners both come on even though their dials are set to 'off'. I guess that's why it was unplugged. The fridge is a tad on the small side. Bring bug repellent! (for outside the cabin, not inside.) Also the wifi was quite poor... had to hold the phone in the window sill just to get one bar of reception.

The cabins are a 5 minute drive from Trinity so you can't really walk anywhere from them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

on-line reservations handled promptly and professionally - wonderful hosts - friendly, generous and knowledgeable - cabins like when we were kids - clean, comfortable, little tired when comes to beds, investment in new pillows wouldn't go amiss - great breakfast at Pearls restaurant across from grocery around the corner - Thanks for trip down memory lane

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A friend of mine who grew up in Newfoundland recommended this spot. My husband and I stayed just one night, but would really have liked to stay longer. The small cabin had more than enough room for us and a nicely equipped kitchen. This would be a great stop for a small family, and they have an area for RV's as well. It's about a 10-15 minute walk into historic Trinity, but there's no sidewalk so be careful with little ones. Staying here was a bit like traveling in a time warp to a friendlier and more innocent time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I would echo the other reviews here. This is a step back into the '50's, when people were nice and life was simple. The owners are lovely people and will chat over coffee with you in the lounge off the office. The accommodations are basic and fine. Don't come expecting the Ritz and you won't be disappointed. While you're here, check out historical Trinity.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GSWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Newfoundland was not even part of Canada when Trinity Cabins were founded in 1948. Today, they are a nostalgic reminder of days past. Be forewarned -- if you want all the comforts and conveniences, you will not like the place. The 3-room cabins are sparingly furnished with furniture that shows its age. The television is a 13-inch black and white that gets one channel. Wireless Internet is spotty, although you get a good strong signal if you go down to the office/canteen across the road. The cabins include a small fridge, two-burner stove, and all the plates, utensils and pots and pans you might need. Glenn, the owner, and his staff are very friendly and helpful. Rates can't be beat in the Trinity area -- my wife and I paid $65 for our cabin. This is the kind of place Ward and June Cleaver might have taken the boys in 1958. Places like this are vanishing fast, so enjoy one while you can.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadTripRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We recently stayed at Trinity Cabins, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Originally, we were hoping to get a B&B right inside of historic Trinity but they were booked up due to a wedding. The cabins are right on the outskirts of the historic town, about a 5 minute drive and a little too far to walk. However, at $65-75/nite, the cabins really are a great deal if you don't mind decor from the 50's to 70's and don't mind preparing your own breakfast (especially since most B&B's in that area are twice that price). Most importantly, our cabin was clean and came with all amenities you would need in a cabin - bedding, towels, and kitchen supplies - plates, cutlery, kitchen utensils, fridge, stove, coffee maker, etc. We felt that if they were to update the cabin decor, they would most likely need to increase their prices? The hosts at the cabin/trailer park are truly amazing, knowledgeable and kind people - Coreen took excellent care of us and helped us with anything we needed, directions, places to visit, etc.
If you do stay at the cabins, we recommend getting a cooler and picking up some groceries before heading to Trinity - either stock up in St. John's or Clarenville en-route - the grocery stores around Trinity are quite small with limited selection (especially if you're used to Superstore), and to drive to larger stores, you need to travel into Bonavista, approx 40 min away. We stayed at Trinity cabins for 3 nights and found it to be a great base for exploring the area and the Bonavista peninsula. There is also the Skerwink hiking trail which is very close by and has breath-taking views of the Atlantic ocean - we have travelled across Canada, and have never hiked a more beautiful trail.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LafPies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

This place is not for everyone. It is a step into the past. The cabins, built in 1948 are a trip into a history book. The cabins are clean and well maintained, but other than a sink and possibly small refrigerator, they are very basic and one feels that they haven't changed since 1948.
For $59 we got three bedrooms - one bed good, others passable, a bathroom with shower (small), kitchenette with sink, hot water, fridge, and stove with oven. Corine was kind enough to freeze our freezer packs in her home freezer and made us feel welcome. We enjoyed being able to make our own food and the privacy and quiet that this cabin offered. The best deal on Bonavista Peninsula!

  • Liked — Proximity to Trinity Bay, quiet, private, good value.
  • Disliked — Old cabins with low doorways. My 6'6
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrsSweetPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
1.6 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
0.6 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bishop White Manor
Bishop White Manor
#8 of 11 in Trinity
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
10.3 mi away
The View Golf Resort
The View Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeton
17 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Meems' Elliston B&B
The Meems' Elliston B&B
#1 of 2 in Elliston
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Cabins

Property: Trinity Cabins
Address: Route 239 | Trinity Bay, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trinity
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Trinity
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Trinity Cabins Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing