We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! True Newfoundland hospitality.”
Review of The Rolling Hills

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinity
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rolling Hills
Ranked #6 of 11 Trinity B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place! True Newfoundland hospitality.”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at Rolling Hills for one night on our way to St. John's from the west coast. Trinity is definitely worth the detour off the Trans Canada. You really feel at home there because you are given freedom of the house. Ed's breakfast was the best! Fresh fruit, delicious casserole, and homemade partridgeberry muffins.

Ed also have us a tip to go out to the lighthouse to see some whales and we saw them right away. Don't miss Trinity and a visit to Ed!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingTeacherX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

A 3 day visit while in the area and the hospitality, food and rooms were second to no others we encountered. Close to everything the area has to offer yet off the beaten path and very down to earth in every aspect. Staying here is like staying with old friends. It's just that cozy.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Wyevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Ed and Margaret were wonderful hosts. Their warmth and friendlyness made our stay special, and Margarets cooking was superb. We definately recommened The Rolling Hills B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ycline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I had a recent stay at Rolling Hills B&B in Dunfield/Trinity for 2 nights and we enjoyed our stay. Ed and Marg are wonderful hosts as well as the rest of the family who helped around the house. They served us delicious breakfast and Marg's cheese strata is out of the world :-) We had some great talk about icebergs, NL history and culture with Ed and his friends one evening and the evening became more enjoyable when accompanied with his home-made wine :-). The hosts are utmost friendly people we have ever come across. Thank-you for your hospitality and sharing your time with us. We'll definitely recommend to our friends.

Naheed and Sohail
Toronto, ON

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sohail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Rolling Hills in Dunfield for two nights in May and we couldn't have asked for a better stay! We were quite early in the season so we had the whole B&B to ourselves.

Ed was an absolutely wonderful host and we feel privileged to have met him. We had great conversations over wine in the evenings and he served up a delicious breakfast in the mornings as well. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers_Checklist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had three wonderful days at Dunfield in Trinity Bay, and were delighted with the accomodations at the Rolling Hills...Ed and Marg Beckett are wonderful hosts, and the area is so scenic...our second stay at the Rolling Hills, and we are already planning our next one...Thanks, Ed and Marg...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_and_Wendy_Crane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecchio Emilia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Rolling Hills is located in a wonderful setting, in the small community of Dunfeld, Trinity Bight. Everything contributed to a wonderful experience for us: the house, beautiful & full of (real, not affected) charm; the owners, Ed & Margaret, a couple of really nice people (they reminded me of two of my uncles and aunts, people who are "by nature" blessed with the gift of hospitality, frankness & humour); and of course the wonderful scenery of the Trinity bay.
We enjoyed lots of nice chats (and a glass of home made wine!) with Ed&Margaret and the other guests, and even had the chance to try the (mmh really good!) fried capelins.
A place to go, and stay for a while, and then to return...to feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoBe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
278 reviews
Comfort Inn Airport
#10 of 22 in St. John's
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
568 reviews
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rolling Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rolling Hills

Property: The Rolling Hills
Address: Dunfield, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A9N 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trinity
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Trinity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Rolling Hills Trinity, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing