We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bed, disappointing breakfast, perfect location”
Review of Eriksen Premises

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eriksen Premises
Ranked #7 of 11 Trinity B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Kelly's Landing, with a lovely ocean view, for one night. We had booked at the Eriksons Premises main building but when we arrived, they'd had a cancellation and offered us the ocean view room at Kelly's Landing.

Both properties are right in trinity and all restaurants as well as the pageant and theatre are in walking distance.

The room was good, although the house is old with thin walls and could have been noisy. We couldn't hear other guests except when they closed their doors. The bed was comfortable, and the overhead fan plus the open window kept us cool, since there is no air conditioning. The toiletries were excellent, and the wifi connection was satisfactory.

My main complaint concerns the breakfast, which is served from 8:30 - 10:30. We arrived just before 9:30 to discover that all the toutons and croissants were gone, only one slice of bread left, the oatmeal was dried up, and there was very little homemade jam left. When asked, the staff got more bread, so we were able to have some scrambled egg and toast, but it was hardly the "decadent delicious continental breakfast" advertised, unless you get there at 8:30.

It seems for the room rate charged, they could at least ensure sufficient quantities of breakfast.

Anyway, the room was nice, and we would stay again, although the breakfast was very disappointing. I would find out next time if there is a better breakfast option in the town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewfieGirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Eriksen Premises
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 99 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in the Vicarage House which Eriksen properties manages. From making the reservation to check out the entire experience was wonderful. Vicarage House had two rooms at the time of our stay but they are adding more. It is a charming house with brand new furniture and accessories. There were beautiful robes available, a nice sized sitting room and very comfortable bed. They even did our laundry (for a reasonable fee) while we were there. Breakfast was good with options ranging from hot oatmeal, eggs, cereal, etc. When we left we were sent off with some home made oatmeal cookies. It is clear that they put a lot of attention to every small detail of their guests' experience. It would be a pleasure to come back again. Trinity itself was my favourite spot in Newfoundland!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which was great
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingbelladonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Trinity gets our favorite vote in Newfoundland. Lovely to stay in old historic inn...restaurant was outstanding...best cod anywhere! Rooms well done for an historic bldg...not much view, but easy to walk into little town. Definitely would recommend this to anyone, tho Artisan Inn has the water view.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at kellys landing for four nights the room had a superb view over Trinity bight the owners were extremely helpful and friendly,room was comfortable and amenities good. Evening meal at Sophies at Erikson was really good, superb fish ,the community of trinity has a lot to offer visitors. An extremely good few days would definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alrewas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I, along with our 16 year old son stayed in the main building for two nights in July '13. The room was beautiful with the older furniture, hardwood floors and gorgeous bedding. We appreciated having access to tea and coffee in the common room. It rained one morning and the staff graciously made a DVD player and a basket full of movies available to us. It was a real treat to wake up around 7:00 am to the aroma of freshly baked bread coming out of the oven. We were impressed with the quality of the breakfast: hot oatmeal, eggs, and of course, the fresh bread! After staying in a hotel for 5 nights in St. John's, we enjoyed the much more personal and intimate experience of Erickson Premises.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room that has an adjoining room to it. We found noise travelled through the door th...
Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Of all the B&B's we stayed, I liked this one the least. This place should be advertised as an Inn. We had to walk through the restaurant and into a gift store to check in with an employee. Not very welcoming. The room was nice, roomy and clean but breakfast was a complete disappointment. Even though the place was so packed, we had space at our table, and they sent couples who were waiting, back upstairs to the sitting area. We would have enjoyed sitting with other visitors and sharing experiences over breakfast. When we went upstairs to our room, we found the couple sitting up there. Started chatting just in time for the waitress to hurry them to their table or they would lose their place in line. The grounds were untidy. No personal touch here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for two days at this place. The room we had was clean and the bathroom facilities were functioning. But the bathroom was setup in an old fashioned way which supposedly should look cozy but could not disguise the fact that all the renovation work was made in an extremely unprofessional and frowsy way and using only cheapest materials. The bathroom had no window and the ventilation was extremely noisy. Normally this poses no problem when leaving the bathroom door open for a while and opening the windows of the room. But windows could not be opened !! The breakfast was another low point: It is only served one small plate with the dish of the day (for example eggs with sausage or similar) and a few slices of toast. That was it! Only when asking for some additional slices of toast or some cereals, a bit more was served. The service was polite but incompetent. Summary: Stay away, no value for too much money.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for room with the possibility to have the windows opened. Or even better, choose an...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juergen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
0.1 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artisan Inn
Artisan Inn
#1 of 11 in Trinity
304 reviews
1.3 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
#1 of 1 in Port Rexton
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bishop White Manor
Bishop White Manor
#8 of 11 in Trinity
43 reviews
104.7 mi away
The View Golf Resort
The View Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeton
19 reviews
23.9 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eriksen Premises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eriksen Premises

Address: 8 West Street, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trinity
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Trinity
Price Range: $126 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eriksen Premises is the Trinity experience for those who appreciate the finer points, the charm and elegance of 19th century architecture and design. We make the perfect base for touring the entire Bonavista Peninsula. During the day, explore the many nooks and crannies our area has to offer while relaxing at night in our comfortable guest rooms and enjoying a delectable meal in our restaurant Sophia's. The Eriksen Premises belongs to the Newfoundland Experience collection of Heritage Inns and Dining located in Trinity & Carbonear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eriksen Premises reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eriksen Premises Trinity, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing