We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious host”
Review of Artisan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artisan Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Trinity B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2009

After a busy day of taking pictures, we arrived very late into Trinity. Our host was waiting up for us and was very gracious with showing us our room. Our room was very comfortable. The room had a large ensuite bathroom. We stayed for two nights and everything was great - the staff, the breakfasts, and the accomodations.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonShutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 306 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2009

We had planned our trip to the Artisan Inn 6 months in advance, but just about a week of our arrival we discovered that the email that we had sent had the wrong date. Despite that it was our mistake, the host kindly offered to help us find other accommodations in the area since the Artisan Inn was full. We were delighted with the B&B she found for us.
We did visit the Artisan Inn for dinner, however, which was just superb! We had a fish entree that was perfectly prepared in a light wine sauce. From start to finish, everything was delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2fraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Stayed 2 nights at Artisan Inn, Trinity, NL in early June 2009. Having read other opinions expressed here I think this place overrated. I agree that the hospitality extended by the staff is wonderful - all are friendly and helpful, (the owner was not present during our stay so we had no opportunity to meet her). Dinner at the Twine Loft was nice, not outstanding, but a very tasty home-cooked meal and certainly better than other dining options in town, if not a little pricey. The Twine Loft itself was a bit of a disappointment - it is right on the shore but the windows are too high to view the outdoor scenery when one is seated. The Artisan Inn itself is nice but also not so special. Our room was upstairs facing the water but an air conditioner positioned in the window ruined the view. It is an old remodeled house and every creak and spoken word is easily heard throughout the building - we found this quite disturbing at night when other guests were up late chatting in loud voices and coming and going up and down the stairs and in and out the doors. The room decor had character and charm - a bit of a mishmash of older collected pieces, more or less, but considering the artist's studio above the Twine Loft which is much touted, one would expect the walls to be more stylishly adorned. All of the notable local art is displayed in the Twine Loft and none in the guest rooms of the inn which are instead decorated in tacky-looking craftwork art - needlepoint etc.. The bed was a shame - it felt like an old, soft, very worn, saggy mattress. I think it unlikely that we would stay here again although we enjoyed the town and the people immensely.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wutzit2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We decided to take a two week tour of Newfoundland and started out from St. John's and headed toTrinity. Trinity is a beautiful community with a quaintness that is the epitome of Newfoundland. We arrived at the Inn and were promptly shown to our room. Accommodations were great.
We decided to have dinner at the Twine Loft - the dining room - a part of the Artisan Inn and Campbell B&B. The meal was amazing as was the ambiance.
Breakfast the following morning (included in the B&B price) was not quite so good (french toast), but the staff were amazing and the hospitality was second to none.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C&D-Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

My family was spoiled by the owners John and Tineke GOW the family understands hospitality and customer care.

We travel extensively and this vacation was over the top because of weather, accommodations and food in Trinity provided by Artisan Inn and Twine Loft dining.

We will return again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRHIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

Superb location, lovely room, excellent food - just wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you Tineke Gow and your friendly staff.

Why can't all B&B's be like this?

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

The Artisan Inn provides a comfortable room with a water view of Trinity Bay, but it wasn't one of my favorite places. There is nothing to complain about, other than the owner is definitely running a business - or maybe 2 or 3, as, during our rushed check-in, she was all about getting us tickets to that evening's play and on a boat tour the following morning, both of which we agreed to, yet when she saw us an hour later in her small dining room, she asked how we got that table not being guests at the inn. The service was very impersonal, the food good (we had dinner at $32pp+tax but small portions), and the bed was comfortable. This innkeeper just didn't have the warm, personal touch that almost all Newfoundland innkeepers seem to exude. Next time I would stay somewhere else - but maybe she own them all!!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
1.3 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
#1 of 1 in Port Rexton
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eriksen Premises
Eriksen Premises
#7 of 11 in Trinity
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#5 of 11 in Trinity
68 reviews
24.0 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artisan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Inn

Address: 57 High Street, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trinity
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Trinity
Price Range: $106 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artisan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the city to a quiet and historic coastal village. Artisan Inn is a collection of buildings located in the heart of historic Trinity. The inn rents rooms with turn down service as well as self-catering multi-bedroom vacation homes with well equipped kitchen facilities, private decks and BBQs. With breathtaking views of the sea all around, this peaceful setting provides a tranquil contrast to everyday routine. Relax, breathe the fresh air, stroll the hills and meadows or explore the town. Guests staying at the inn are close to attractions including Rising Tide Theatre, Skerwink Trail, Port Rexton Brewery, trinity Historic Sites, Whale Watching, Walking Tours, Restaurants and Artisan Shops or can drive along the Bonavista Peninsula to Elliston, Port Union and Bonavista. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Artisan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artisan Hotel Trinity
Artisan Inn Trinity, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing