We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pier Relaxation”
Review of Artisan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artisan Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Trinity B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pier Relaxation”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The entire staff is wonderful at the Artisan Inn. They truly care about making your stay as comfortable as possible. My room was very clean, spacious and quiet. I was on business and needed to spend hours on my computer. They have wireless internet and cellphone service is available. The room set-up was perfect. Breakfast, which was included in the cost of the room, was delicious both mornings thanks to Fred.The Twine Loft has a wrap around deck that is directly over the water. They even have blankets for you to wrap around yourself on the cooler evenings. Upstairs, the Twine Loft has a liquor licence and provides a great location to unwind and have a nightcap. I look forward to returning for some R & R with my husband.

Room Tip: Sit on the deck and enjoy the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 835Dolores709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    37
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
184
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlantic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Dined at the Twine Loft as the last great thing to do on my Trinity List this summer. Saved the best for last! We enjoyed tasty lamb, succulent salmon with fresh salad greens. There was plenty of hot food, lovely ambiance and suburb service . Ended the evening chatting with tourists from Switzerland and the owners Tineke, John & marieke even joined us .......what a nice way to end the season!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtSmartTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went to Trinity for a 2-nights short trip on 8th of October.

That was a great trip started from the check-in time at Artisan Inn. Once we arrived there, a lady guided us to the studio we booked, then showed us what attractions we still can go and enjoy at this season.

We had been to lots of places in Newfoundland such as Gander, Twillingate, Ferryland, Corner Brook, Marystown...... We always need to ask someone in the place we stay "Where we can go?" At Artisan Inn, that was the first time that we were given the information about the place we trip to.

We stayed at the studio which next to Twine Loft. We really enjoy having supper at there. The food was perfect, the chef even helped me to change the menu since she does not want me to have the same food for different night. Really appreciate it. We sit at the deck outside the restaurant watching the sunset before supper. That was a beautiful memory.

If our parents can come to visit us next year from China, we will bring them there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here and it was all better than we had hoped. The cottage combined the authentic fishing home with modern luxury. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and of high standard charmingly served.
We had great help in organizing our sightseeing outings every day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were totally impressed with everything about the Artisan Inn. Marieka and Judy were so enthusiastic in helping us make the most of our time in Trinity and well beyond, including going on line for info and contacting other destinations for us. The accommodation provided all we could ask for in comfort, atmosphere and all the details that make a stay special; the meals at the Loft were excellent and the ambiance so warm and welcoming; and Tineke and the rest of the staff were lovely. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Lighthouse view house and found it lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Tineke and her team are nothing short of amazing . They all go above and beyond to ensure your experience is far beyond what you thought . Attention to detail is unreal - the only place to stay in the Trinity area !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Ledingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Artisan Inn a few weeks ago and everything was great about it except for the noise. We stayed in the bottom of the Barbour House, and could hear everything our upstairs neighbours were doing till about midnight both nights - and they weren't partying or doing anything especially noisy, they were just walking around, talking etc. In addition, every time they ran the water there would be a loud bang after in our wall. As we were starting early each morning this made for 2 nights of poor sleep. When I booked I asked if this was a quiet room, and was advised "Well no one else has booked upstairs yet". It would have been decent if they had explained what that meant - as in "if someone DOES book upstairs it will be extremely noisy". When they asked me how the room was when I was leaving and I mentioned the noise, the owner was well aware of it, so aware in fact that they are apparently ripping out the ceiling and replacing it. It seems particularly sly to me that they allowed me (and others) to book the room knowing that this was a problem and not at least warning us.
I was not offered any compensation or even an apology for 2 lousy nights of sleep. NOT impressed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
22.8 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#5 of 11 in Trinity
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.3 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#4 of 11 in Trinity
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop White Manor
Bishop White Manor
#9 of 11 in Trinity
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
23.9 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artisan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Inn

Property: Artisan Inn
Address: 57 High Street, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trinity
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Trinity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artisan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the city to a quiet and historic coastal village. Artisan Inn is situated by the ocean shore. With breathtaking views of the sea all around, this peaceful setting provides a tranquil contrast to everyday routine. Relax, breathe the fresh air, stroll the hills and meadows or explore the town. Located in Trinity on the Bonavista Peninsula, it is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and is one of the best-kept secrets in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Artisan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artisan Hotel Trinity
Artisan Inn Trinity, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing