We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“# 1 in town by taking tourism seriously”
Review of Artisan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artisan Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Trinity B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“# 1 in town by taking tourism seriously”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Much of Newfoundland’s appeal to tourists is its nineteenth-century charm. Unfortunately many of its tourist facilities take that a little too literally and are still stuck in the distant past. Not so the Artisan Inn and its dining offshoot, the Twine Loft restaurant. Well located, tastefully renovated period accommodations with all mod cons are both quaint and comfortable with twenty-first century plumbing as a bonus. Breakfast is of the abbreviated continental variety which can be supplemented by a selection of hot choices at extra cost. The staff are friendly and will go out of their way to ensure that you make the most of your stay in Trinity. The small Twine Loft restaurant offers a nightly prix fixe rotating menu that ensures you will be neither disappointed nor hungry. In truth, any other choices in town are a poor second. Well worth the high accolades tendered by other Tripadvisor contributors.

Room Tip: Booking needed at restaurant for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    38
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
190
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

we stayed in the Barbour House which is situated just behind the main house. Our room fronted onto the small street not the water but it didn't really matter as the windows were old, small and didn't open. The room however was lovely and the atmosphere was perfect for the area. We loved the great deck where we sat with blankets against the cool wind, to have our presupper drinks. The meal was delicious and the breakfast the next morning had blueberry scones and partridge berry jam....yumm!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

All the good things you read about the Artisan are true. They staff will try to solve any problem if you have any and the location is excellent. My wife and I stayed in the Cove room in the Barbour house, adjacent to the best restaurant in town, the Twine Loft. The Cove room in the Barbour house was the largest we stayed in during our 25 day tour of Newfoundland and its cleanliness was second to none. You can walk everywhere in town from this location. For $7.50 the staff did up our laundry which is a real value to anyone vacationing and trying to see as much as possible since nobody wants to spend time doing laundry. I will stay here again on our next visit . Trinity is fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for the view room is you want to have a partial view of the bay, rather than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Artisan Inn over Labour Day week-end and found this place to be a gem in a beautiful part of the world. The room was cozy and well appointed. We had an excellent continental breakfast and staff was professional and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our 3 days at this beautiful inn. The owners and staff put a lot of effort into ensuring everyone enjoys their vacation here. Good food, comfortable clean rooms, and great recommendations for activities in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We would not stay anywhere else when visiting! Everything is perfect and don't miss out on their wonderful dinner and breakfast! The staff is very friendly and helpful and everything is impeccably clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at several Inns and a B&B in Newfoundland, and this was the best one! Tineke Gow, her daughter Marieke and their friendly team provided excellent service, with a lovely dinner and breakfast - ooh the tea cakes still make my mouth water! We stayed in The Studio, in Barbour Place house which had a lovely large double bed, sitting room/kitchen and pull out Queen bed suitable for a family. Its not cheap but the location, service, room, food and experience means it was worth it for us.

Don't miss a hike along the Skerwink trail, with spectacular views of Trinity Bay and the village itself, wonderful sea views and stacks. Also good is Elliston for the puffins (summer) and Bonavista for the lighthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
1.3 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
0.1 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop White Manor
Bishop White Manor
#8 of 11 in Trinity
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The View Golf Resort
The View Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeton
17 reviews
23.9 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
23.4 mi away
The Meems' Elliston B&B
The Meems' Elliston B&B
#1 of 2 in Elliston
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artisan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Inn

Property: Artisan Inn
Address: 57 High Street, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trinity
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Trinity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artisan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the city to a quiet and historic coastal village. Artisan Inn is situated by the ocean shore. With breathtaking views of the sea all around, this peaceful setting provides a tranquil contrast to everyday routine. Relax, breathe the fresh air, stroll the hills and meadows or explore the town. Located in Trinity on the Bonavista Peninsula, it is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and is one of the best-kept secrets in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Artisan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artisan Hotel Trinity
Artisan Inn Trinity, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing