We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a lovely town”
Review of Artisan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artisan Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Trinity B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westervoort
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a lovely town”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed three nights in the Artisan Inn in the lovely village of Trinity.
The room was nice with comfortable bed and spacious bathroom.
The breakfast was good and dinner was so good that we decided to eat all 3 evenings at the Artisan Inn. But best of all is the very friendly staff that really does everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Typically for Newfoundland we had all kind of weather during these 3 days and under each condition Trinity stay’s as picture perfect as can be, so we made hundreds of fantastic photo’s.
All so thanks Artisan Inn we drank our first Iceberg and fell in love with it. So will try to convince our famous brewery Heineken to sell Quidi Vidi, because then we can have an Iceberg at home as well . Good alternative: return to Newfoundland next year!
Tip: When you are there don't leave without a trip with Chris from Sea of Whales Adventures (booking office is just one block away from the Artisan Inn). One of the best whale watch trips we ever experienced (and we have experienced plenty of them around the world). It there are whale's around Chris will find them and will bring you close to them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    38
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
184
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spaniard's Bay
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I decided to thake a one night getaway and stayed at the Artisan Inn. When we checked in we were treated to a complimentary upgrade to a studio suite. It was a beautiful room that transported us back to a time gone by. The Artisan Inn is truly representative of the Trinity experience. It is such a warm and welcoming place to stay and Teneke, the owner, is a wonderful host. She greeted us personally and brought us to the studio, explaining everything that we needed to know. She is very knowledgeable about the area. I would highly recommend the Artisan Inn as a place to stay in Trinity. We ate dinner at the Twine Loft-what a treat. There is a beautiful deck right over the ocean. You can have a glass of wine/drink before your meal. It has beautiful comfy chairs and blankets are provided for chilly evenings. A continental breakfast is complimentary and is quite delicious as well. This is a great getaway trip for people living on the Avalon Peninsula!!! Newfoundland has so much to offer. It is great to discover that a place like Trinity which is so close by is a great vacation spot...Rediscover Newfoundland and Labrador!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9-the studio. It is very spacious with a king bed. It is so charming and right acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I live in St. John's but decided to take a mini vacation and after reading the reviews from Trip Advisory, the Artisan Inn is where we decided to stay. Luckily for us there had been a cancellation for the nite we were looking for and the few pictures looked really nice. When we arrived, both the mother and daughter (I cannot remember their names) although very busy, were very polite and friendly. We arrived early and our room was not ready, but they were quick to ask if we knew how to get to the local hiking trail as well as any other directions we may need. When we returned, the daughter escorted us to our building (the Cove Room, in the Campbell House) which was a beautiful old home that had been restored to its original condition. Our room was lovely and so cozy, with the bathroom and one bedroom window that looked onto the water and the other bedroom window looked over some of the town.
After we had settled, we headed down to the Twine Loft where we had pre dinner drinks on the patio overlooking the water. It was a bit cool but they supplied us with blankets. We had made dinner reservations for the early sitting as we had theatre tickets and we were able to eat our dinner while overlooking the water. The dinners are freshly cooked and there are two choices of entrees to choose from which we had called in our choices earlier in the day. The appetizers, entrees, dessert and everything was divine. There is a good wine list, supplied by their sommelier. The dinner was topped off with a chocolate mint from the local chocolate shop (which we visited the following day).
The proprietors were so gracious for our entire visit and the food was amazing. We are already planning a next trip next year, with my parents. I would recommend this place to anyone. However, as I read from other reviews, reservations need to be made early to get a room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystaldominates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
323 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a spacious and decent room in a building right behind the reception/restaurant, with a view of the cove albeit not right next to the water. First thing to say is that Trinity is picture-perfect, the single most attractive spot we visited in Newfoundland, and with other beautiful locations such as Old and New Bonadventure within a few minutes. The place is run by an energetic and helpful lady who loaned us detailed maps to find photo locations, and we had a good time here. There's no doubt that we'd make a point of returning on any future revisit to Newfoundland. So why not five stars? The answer is the food is pretty average- its home-cooking, not really restaurant food as we understand it anyway. Which isn't to say that its unpalatable, but that its not standout, and that for the money ($39 plus tax and tip) for three simple courses, a little better would do no harm. That aside the room facilities and the Keurig coffee right outside the room were terrific.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

As we were travelling before the summer influx of tourists we hadn't prebooked any accommodation on our trip through Newfoundland and truly lucked out finding this place. We loved the owner and her staff, loved our rooms (had to switch as our original room was booked for the second night) with great facilities and very comfortable beds. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and the breakfasts were very good. We also enjoyed a great sense of Canadian history and loved the whole area. Would return in a heartbeat.The buildings reflect our pioneer era.
If you know when you will be in the area be sure to make reservations as you might not be as lucky as we were.

Room Tip: Each room has a unique attribute with view in various directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purpuraVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Artisan and while the weather was typical for early June ( more rain and fog than sunshine), we were cozy and comfortable in our room. The breakfasts were delicious, the staff very welcoming and helpful and the dinner in the restaurant was excellent.. The hike on the Skerwink Trail was a highlight and the location of the Inn was perfect for exploring the Bonavista Peninsula.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJC030644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just had the most amazing stay at the Artisan Inn. The room we selected was just great (Studio with king bed). Plenty of extra towels and a warm cozy and well furnished accommodation. The owner and manager along with all the staff were so kind and helpful throughout the stay. I loved the meals we had in their restaurant, Twine Loft.

I would highly recommend this charming place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trekkerman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
0.1 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#5 of 11 in Trinity
31 reviews
1.3 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
22.8 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bishop White Manor
Bishop White Manor
#9 of 11 in Trinity
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#4 of 11 in Trinity
65 reviews
10.8 mi away
The View Golf Resort
The View Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeton
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artisan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Inn

Property: Artisan Inn
Address: 57 High Street, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trinity
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Trinity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artisan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the city to a quiet and historic coastal village. Artisan Inn is situated by the ocean shore. With breathtaking views of the sea all around, this peaceful setting provides a tranquil contrast to everyday routine. Relax, breathe the fresh air, stroll the hills and meadows or explore the town. Located in Trinity on the Bonavista Peninsula, it is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and is one of the best-kept secrets in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Artisan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artisan Hotel Trinity
Artisan Inn Trinity, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing