We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice paddle but not much to see”
Review of Trinity Eco-Tours

Trinity Eco-Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.33*
and up
Trinity Bay Whale Watching Tour
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Trinity
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our tour company focus provides whale, puffin and iceberg tours in Trinity, Trinity Bay, Newfoundland by Rigid Hull Inflatable Boat (RHIB) and Kayak ! Our goal is to show our guests the beauty of Newfoundland from the water, while, at the same time, show respect to all animals that we see. . See and hear humpbacks and other marine wildlife from the comfort of our RHIB! You can see Minke, Sperm, Fin and Humpback whales as well as Orcas, Gannets, Eagles Seals, Puffins, great schools of Capelin that the whales gorge themselves upon. Enjoy the spectacular scenery along our route plus sea caves, aviaries and colonies of seabirds. After your tour enjoy tea or coffee and lunch at the lodge where you can share your memories of your Experience of a Lifetime, our theme and mantra!! Please look up our Lodge as well Trinity Eco-tours Lodge located right alongside St. Paul's Anglican Church, the biggest church in Trinity.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Zew Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice paddle but not much to see”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Can't comment on accommodation as only did ecotours kayak trip. Guide was perfectly nice and very pleasant. Was not a local and could or did not share much about history etc. Very little -actually none -wildlife to be seen. So quite expensive $200 for 4 people for what was not much more than a nice paddle around the harbour.

Helpful?
2 Thank kiwit0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    2
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good clean place/nice local people as staff”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Nice clean room (humpback), quiet and clean. Continental breakfast good homemade stuff. Good menu of local fare available all day. Ate at a couple of other local places-pricier, not as good, not as homey an atmosphere. I feel like I tried "real" cod tongues prepared the way the locals eat them, not some touristy "bar" version. We felt like we were visiting relatives. Great zodiac whale tour. Good hikes close by. Skegwink trail a short drive away is a must see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
133 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Be careful”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night because it was the only place available. The rooms were good, but the included breakfast was only a continental, but the owner kept asking if you wanted something else without telling you it was extra. We also had lunch, not recommended for low salt diets and frankly not very good. Go for the rooms but eat somewhere else.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank UNTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkipperBob_60, Owner at Trinity Eco-Tours, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Firstly I must apologise if it was understood that a hot breakfast was included, A continental breakfast including homemade bread is available plus cereals muffins yogurt etc,,, , Hot breakfasts are not included. We indicate on our website that continental breakfast is part of the room price. I can not say it is the owner that kept asking as I am the owner and I was definitely not there at the time. It must have been part of the new management staff that was recently hired.

I will admit that the menu can be a little on the salty side as we are trying to serve more traditional Newfoundland fare and the local diet had a tendency to be a little bit more salty including salt beef, salt fish, fish cakes and things fried in salt pork (scruncheons) like fish, cod tongues and halibut.

Certainly I will address the issues. Thank you for your comment and making me aware of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Siamsa Singers loved it”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Several members of our choir signed on to go on a kayaking adventure. They were thrilled with the scenery and appreciated being able to take a cooling dip in the fresh water waterfall they encountered along the way.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stutsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing whale watching!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had the most amazing whale watching trip with our captain, Gerald! As much as he goes out, he still enjoys the whales and really tried to get the best experience for us. We were blessed with many and very active whales. That's something they can't control, but our trip was one of the highlights of an awesome time in NL.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trinity Eco-Tours also viewed

 
Port Rexton, Newfoundland
Trinity, Newfoundland
 

Been to Trinity Eco-Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing