We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful and pretty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinity
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maidment House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Trinity B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

we had a lovely couple of days here.karen cooks a very nice breakfast (2 course and different each day)and the tea or coffee keeps coming,the guests of the three rooms sharing one large table in the dining room. we had a queen room with ensuite .our vista was of the yard ,beyond to the local houses and the church.there is a shared living room with tv down stairs in this very homey accomodation.all fittings and furnishings are very nice and equipment is totally up to date (hairdryer in room).trinity is a very small village ,you park at your accommodation and just walk around everywhere.i recommend prebooking the rising tide theatre for what ever show may be on.we went to the dinner show and had a lot of fun-they have a varying range of shows each year.all would be good.there really isnt a night life as such there are a restaurants to eat at (prebook),the one at the harbour is very casual-walk up.there is an gallery that was having an evening wine tasting and viewing one night.if the weather is even fair get up early and go for a walk to take photos of this lovely town and harbour you will be back before breakfast anyway.thanks for a real newfoundland welcome karen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blondiesorrento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 101 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

I received a warm welcome at Maidment House in Trinity, a beautiful, centrally located B&B in a delightful little town. It was within easy walking distance of the museums and restaurants in town, and breakfast was filling and delicious, with some of the best coffee I had this trip. This was my first stay but it won't be my last -- I'd love to go back for a longer stay when time allows.

Room Tip: While all rooms have private bathrooms, the bathroom belonging to the twin-bedded room is not ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NLfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very well appointed B&B with clean rooms, comfortable bed and some nice touches (homemade soap). This is an old building however so you can hear EVERYTHING going on both upstairs and downstairs (including other guests in their rooms or someone putting away cups and saucers in the kitchen). After a long day of traveling we had hoped to sleep in a bit but were told that breakfast is ONLY served at 8:30 am (we have never been to a B&B where there has not been at least a ½ hour of flexibility for breakfast .. ) I felt uncomfortable asking if we could eat at 9am (but I asked) and was told no. Breakfast was very good and high quality food - but simple (pancakes and sausage) so it seems that the convenience of the homeowners is more important than the guests – which is a surprise considering most of the hospitality we felt around Newfoundland. Did not feel comfortable here so we left.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Point2Point4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerryMaidment, Owner at Maidment House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We're sorry to hear that you didn't feel comfortable here. We endeavor to be accommodating. We gladly vacate our home each summer to accommodate guests for the season, and quite enjoy this business.
Our home dates to 1892, and as they say in Newfoundland: "these old walls can't talk, but they sure can hear"...noise does travel in the house, despite our efforts to work gingerly. We likewise depend on our guests to be considerate of other guests. Our decision not to put televisions in the bedrooms stems from our concern about noise traveling through the house.
In the case of breakfast, we seat everyone around the same table, and often serve something requiring advance preparation or something served warm from the oven (although not on this particular morning), so coordinating a different breakfast time, when our guests are arriving at different times and coming and going throughout the day, proves difficult. Most of the tourist activities here commence at 10am. We've found that serving breakfast at 8:30 gives our guests time for a leisurely and enjoyable chat, and yet time enough to organize for their chosen activities for the day, or to get checked out on time.
The day after your arrival, we were away, to take our son to a medical appointment, and while we take responsibility for our absence, it is more difficult to be flexible when we know we won't be home, or when trying to leave instructions for staff.
We sometimes have to choose between being parents and innkeepers.
We thank you for your business and your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We regret not spending more time here. Karen had email a plethora of activities to partake in around the area. Very friendly hosts, comfortable rooms that are charmingly decorated. Delicious gourmet breakfast. So grateful that these folks are willing to share their home with us. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We spent 2 nites at the Maidment House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Karen and Eric were warm and friendly hosts and provided great tips about things to see and do in the area. We came to Trinity for the Sea of Whales whalewatching tour and quickly fell in love with the charming and historical town. We hope to return one day and do more whale-watching and take in the pageant (Rising Tide Theatre) and I would request our same room @ this B&B! We stayed in the Gardenview Room, which was spacious, tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Maidment House!

Room Tip: The Gardenview Room is a good pic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillnZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

staying in "downtown" Trinity is perfect both for the chance to stroll this lovely and historic village and to use it as a jump-off to explore the many closeby sites (Skerwink Trail, Random Passage site, Port Union, Bonavista and The Dungeons and the root cellars and puffins at Elliston) young family who operate the Maidment are delightful - breakfast and cook are just great - rooms are fine and have a shared living room

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Best gourmet breakfasts, sensitive to food allergies. Beautiful and serene.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jano12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
0.2 mi away
Artisan Inn
Artisan Inn
#1 of 11 in Trinity
308 reviews
1.2 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
#1 of 1 in Port Rexton
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eriksen Premises
Eriksen Premises
#7 of 11 in Trinity
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bishop White Manor
Bishop White Manor
#8 of 11 in Trinity
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#5 of 11 in Trinity
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidment House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidment House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4 Dandy Lane, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trinity
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Trinity
Price Range: $115 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by Enoch Heber Maidment, a local cobbler, circa 1892, Maidment House has been masterfully restored by a third generation local carpenter. Come enjoy our memorable breakfasts, inviting beds, and friendly hospitality. We use eco-friendly cleaning and make our own unscented soaps. Laundry service available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maidment House Bed & Breakfast Trinity, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing