We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“urghhhhhh....”
Review of Marble Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marble Inn Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Steady Brook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“urghhhhhh....”
Reviewed July 10, 2010

I'm not sure now why I stayed here. There must be better places.

I was encouraged to stay here as the restaurant in the main lodge is excellent. It is the ONLY reason to stay here and a smarter traveller would have just driven out from another establishment for the meal.

This is a 2 star "resort" with tired, pathetic little cabins, no view and few if any amenities.

The cabins must have been built 20 years ago and don't seem to have much in the way of upgrades. The walls are paper thin (don't get a conjoined cabin whatever you do), the floor uneven and every step creaks, the gouges in the doors and wall speak of abuse over time, the beds are designed to encourage a visit to a chiropractor in the morning, etc. There is no air conditioning (only needed in the summer) and no fan. There is no screen door so you can't even get a breeze through it. No shampoo, no hairdryer, bath towels so thin you can see through them and the size of hand towels. The furniture is either the original or was bought at a dump. There were no hangers to hang your clothes. No tea or coffee. The kitchen table was sticky (with heaven knows what). The main door has only a chain, no deadbolt.

On the plus side, the kitchen had a working fridge, microwave, kettle and two burner stove top. There is a parking spot for your car just outside the door. The indoor pool looks OK.

For $140/night I expect something better than a Motel 6. On second thought, I have stayed at cheap hotels with a much better room and amenities.

The only thing about this place I liked was the restaurant, Madison's. Otherwise give it a miss.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmberK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleInnResort, Owner at Marble Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Hello,
We are very sorry to hear about your past experience with Marble Inn Resort.
We have replaced the cabins with luxurious 4-star condominium suites earlier this year.
In each of our new suites, we have very dense walls to prevent noise from neighbouring rooms, all new hardwood flooring, specially designed beds to give customers the most comfortable sleep possible, remote-controlled heating/cooling systems, everything you require in terms of bathroom supplies, brand new furniture throughout, a complete kitchen with all appliances and dishes included, as well as your own personal patio to take in the surrounding area. We have worked very hard to transform this resort into what it should have been and hope you give us another chance to meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    27
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
28
47
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Topsail CBS, NL Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for five days end of Feb first of March. We recommended this place to our group of friends to stay here for our annual ski trip. Between our group we spent thousands of dollars at this place. I personally spent over 1600 dollars myself. My 72 year old mother was supposed to stay at the inn as well that week end but she cancelled five days prior due to illness. The inn says it didn’t get the cancellation and charged my visa for one night. That charge was $111.00. Both mom and called asking for it to be reversed and none of our calls were ever returned. In the end they told my mother that because she couldn’t prove she had cancelled within their SEVEN DAY cancellation time frame they wouldn’t remove the charge. Someone there needs to take a course on customer service and learn how to keep a customer and her friends coming back. They lost our business over a lousy 111 bucks!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GraysNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleInnResort, Owner at Marble Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Hello,
We apologize for your inconvenience in the past and hope that you give us another chance to make up for our previous impressions. As we have implemented new changes to our resort, we have also undergone various staff changes to provide better customer service to all of our occupants. Unfortunately, if we don't receive notification of a cancellation, we have to follow our cancellation policy. To ensure we know, if you do not receive an email confirmation with a cancellation number, we ask that you call us, so we can make the necessary changes and provide you with a cancellation number over the phone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenvalley,n.b.
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

stayed in the cottages. If you've skied at any no of resorts...this would be your ave budget studio with two beds, housekeeping amenities, very large room. Not the ritz, but clean, affordable accom & good base to see surrounding area. Very friendly & helpful desk staff.
We had a lovely two hour dinner in the small/intimate restaurant which was hi-lighted with our waitress (i velieve was Lisa or Leesa) also being a co-owner of the restaurant along with hubbie who is the chef. I would not hesitate to stay a week or two during the ski season. It's a dollar well spent.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brokenjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleInnResort, Owner at Marble Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Marble inn Resort and look forward to seeing you again. We would just like to let you know that we have replaced the cabins with all new 4-star suites, which provide a much more relaxing and enjoyable stay. The restaurant has all new cuisine as well as, new management and staff, whom will surely make your dining experience far more memorable. We hope to hear from you and meet your accommodation needs again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We were on our way back from Labrador and did not have a hotel to stay at for the night. We called several hotels in Deer Lake and could not find availability. I remembered seeing the Marble Inn from the Highway on our way to the National Park and was able to locate the number and call.

The young lady answering the phone was very friendly and helpful and we were pleasedto find a room for under $100 a night.

We had a long ride on our motorcycle from St. Anthony and didn't get to the Marble Inn until almost 8 p.m. From the moment we checked in the staff made us feel at home. I was especially pleased to find the coffee bar that also had hot herbal teas - all available until the front desk closes.

We had dinner at Madison's - the restaurant in the Marble Inn. It was fantastic! It was something I would expect to find in Los Angeles or New York or Boston - not in a little town outside Corner Brook, Newfoundland. If Madison's was near my home,, I'd eat there often!

Our room was what I would expect from a hotel located near a ski resort. It was clean and comfortable. The carpet is the kind that is used in other hotels I've stayed at near snow and outside activities - more heavy duty than luxury - but clean. A small couch and fireplace. Good lighting on both sides of the bed making it easy for one person to read and the other to sleep.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Marble Inn.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — The gal at the front desk in the morning - she seemed like she got up on the wrong side of the bed. She was totally the opposite than the people at the front desk when we checked in the evening before.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2spin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We booked a 4 bedroom deluxe cabin at the Marble Inn Resport for our wedding July 14th 2007for a group of 7 adults. We followed this up with three nights in thier 1 bedroom deluxe cabin (with its own small jacuzzi).
The location for the resort is excellent, it sits right on the Humber River (view from the cabin) and at the base of Marble mountain.

The price was midrange for the area and the accommodations were fairly basic (simple furniture, small beds, inexpensive linens) but on par with the price range. (I wouldn't really consider it deluxe, however.) The cabin was clean and in good repair. The style of the cabin was rustic with wood finished walls. The cabin had two small bathrooms, four bedrooms and two fold out couches (no extra bedding was provided for the couches). A small tv with cable and a large fridge and stove were included. Limited kitchen & bathroom supplies were available (we had to request dish cloths, extra towels etc to cover the number of people) but service upon request was fast and efficient. The rental bbq was small and basic but again, for midrange next to the mountain and river, it was fine.

The deluxe 1 bedroom was more luxerious with attractive interior & better furniture but the kitchen facilities were somewhat limited. It had a nice romantic atmoshere but the exteriror grassy area could use more upkeep and perhaps a patio area.

The main building has a restaurent (not reviewed as did not visit) a small indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and exersize facilities. All were nicely decorated, clean and pleasant. The jacuzzi was shut down for maintainance for what seemed an excessive amount of time during our stay but Ido not know if this is typical. The equipment all seemed fairly new and well kept.
We booked kayaks through the hotel at a really good rate for kayak rentals and paddled around the area a bit. Quite enjoyable.

All in all we had an excellent experience and would consider the Marble Inn Resort again. It would be particularly suitable for a family group.

  • Liked — Location, locatrion, location. Clean, comfortable, convenient and the the lovely pool/sauna area.
  • Disliked — Skimpy provision of towels, toilet paper etc. No shampoo provided... the little things that take away from a pleasant stay.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleInnResort, Owner at Marble Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Marble Inn Resort.
We would just like to inform you that our cabins have been replaced with 4-star luxury suites at the start of this year. We hope you make a reservation with us again, so you can experience the great new changes that have taken place since your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steady Brook
24.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
4.8 mi away
Glynmill Inn
Glynmill Inn
#1 of 6 in Corner Brook
241 reviews
4.9 mi away
Greenwood Inn & Suites
Greenwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Corner Brook
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Corner Brook
68 reviews
23.7 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble Inn Resort

Property: Marble Inn Resort
Address: 51 Dogwood Dr, Steady Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador A2H 2N2, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Steady Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Steady Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marble Inn Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the majestic Marble Mountain and the mighty Humber River, Marble Inn Resort offers 4.5 Star luxury & sophistication in a relaxed natural Newfoundland setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Marble Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble Inn Resort Steady Brook, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing