We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, staff, and room!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Claddagh Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Claddagh Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 St. Mary's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
1 review
“Excellent food, staff, and room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband and I were given a gift certificate from my work to stay here and have the 4 course dinner as well for a wedding gift. We live in St. John's and have never been out to St. Mary's. When we got there is was beautiful! The room was amazing with the Jacuzzi in the room and a mattress to die for! I had trouble getting up in the morning.

We had the 4 course meal and it was the best stuffed chicken breast I have ever tasted! My husband had crab legs and he was in love as well! Every single serving, from the soup, perogies, main course, and dessert was incredible!

After supper we stayed up and drank some beers at the bar and Carol and Patrick as well as other staff members hung out with us and told stories and were just great people. We had such a great time, I wish we stayed two nights!

The Claddagh Inn is a hidden gem that everyone must visit, whether you are from far away or just a little get away from the city life, it is a treasure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks for the review, we've been seeing more and more local visitors here at the Claddagh! It's great to be able to offer our evening fine dining and rooms for all to enjoy, and as word spreads we've seen day-trippers, anniversary celebrations, birthday over-nighters and more! Close enough to Town as not to take all day driving and far enough to be truly "On The Bay". Glad your fellow workers thought so too ;)

Cheers, Patrick and Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
97
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed there for one night on our way on a tour of Newfoundland (from UK). What a delightful place. The Limerick room is absolutely beautiful with a wonderful large bed and jacuzzi.
The evening meal of snow crab was fantastic. We were there off season with only one other couple there that night. We didn't hear anything from outside the rooms so sound wise was great. The breakfast was also fantastic. A great place to stay on the way around NFLD. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AneleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We're happy you folks enjoyed your stay so much, we have the same fun meeting all the travellers like yourselves! Hope your Newfoundland experiences were all memorable, tell your friends ;)

Be well, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Limerick and please people do not hesitate to spend the little extra on this room. The breakfast you get in the morning is not your traditional continental. You can get a full breakfast, they have several choices. The owners are beyond hospitable and I don't mean in a pushy way, just great people. The little pub is to die for, you must have a drink and chat while there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budsybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to notice our little Inn and deciding to stay! Carol and I are looking forward to another great season meeting people and chatting in the pub!

Cheers, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just popped in today for a special luncheon. The owners were incredibly welcoming and accommodating. I was blown away by the amenities- wait until you see the miniature Irish Pub!! A great experience and I can't wait to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Carol and I had a blast hosting your luncheon (thanks for calling ahead and working out details) we look forward to doing it again. Don't forget we've got free rooms and breakfast for CF and RCMP veterans still serving or ret'd who want to take in the remembrance ceremony at the legion in nearby River-Head!!

Cheers Gully, stay safe!

Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for one night and wished we had time to stay longer. You can tell a lot of love went into planning this inn. Room was super clean and we had everything we could possibly want. We really enjoyed the cozy pub and the 4 course dinner. Breakfast was much better than you normally get in a B&B or inn. You won't be disappointed if you decide to stay here. So glad I found it while I was searching places to stay during our 3 week visit to Newfoundland. Thanks for a wonderful stay! Rick and Sharon Dartmouth NS

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and the great review! We've been having fun with the menu this season thanks for noticing; Carol says: "c'mon back any time"!

Be well,
Pat and Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My friend and I chose the Claddagh Inn at St. Mary's Bay for our first night in Newfoundland. We could not have made a better choice. It is a converted convent full of comfort and charm. Our hosts, Patrick and Carol, were friendly and hospitable and the fellow travelers we met there were wonderful. We booked the 4 course dinner option and had the snow crab which was fresh and fabulous. Breakfast the next morning was just as good. She we ever have to chance to travel to the Rock again the Claddagh will be on our list of places to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sussex56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Carol and I were so happy to welcome you to the Rock with some steamed snow crab, glad you enjoyed! We hope the rest of your journey provided you with many great memories and positive experiences.

Cheers! Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatley, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

A must stay if driving the Irish Loop! We booked reservations at the Inn for the 4 course dinner option! One word: AMAZING We had never had snow crab, so my husband and I pre-ordered the chicken and the pork, which were both wonderful...but if we were to return we may try the snow crab. Everyone was raving about it. Next time! Carol and Patrick are inviting and the attention to detail is impeccable! We hope to return! Thank you so much for making our trip so enjoyable. Great job Patrick and Carol!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RENWIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, Owner at The Claddagh Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you visit with us, and we're happy you enjoyed our menu! That's what makes it (preparing these meals) both fun and rewarding; knowing the enjoyment and memories experienced by our guests!

Cheers, be well!
Patrick And Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mary's
14.1 mi away
Northwest Lodge Bed & Breakfast
15.7 mi away
Edge of the Avalon Inn
Edge of the Avalon Inn
#1 of 1 in Trepassey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claddagh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claddagh Inn

Property: The Claddagh Inn
Address: Directly on the Irish Loop (Route 90) in St. Mary's | 65km from the Trans Canada Highway taking exit 35, St. Mary's, Newfoundland and Labrador A0B 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claddagh Inn, once the Saint Ann's Presentation convent, was transformed into a quaint traditional Irish style Inn by local craftsmen. Completely refreshed by its new owners in 2011 and 2012, it boasts 6 private en-suite rooms. There's a spacious honeymoon suite with majestic king-size canopy bed and spa bath and also a double room available for family travellers. "Padraig's Folly" is a cozy guest pub or "snug" featuring a fine selection of whiskeys, a local craft beer on tap, and other refreshments for guests to enjoy during dinner, in the pub, or while enjoying the view of peaceful St. Mary's Bay from the deck. This eclectic pub is furnished with re-claimed furniture from the nun's chapel. St. Mary's Bay Snow Crab is our signature dish in the dinning room where four-course fine dining is offered by reservation. The room features incredible wood work in rich warm textures and is decorated with traditional and international art. The view is remarkable and is a great place to start your traveling day while enjoying a hot three course breakfast in the morning featuring local berries and home made jams. New for 2013: starting in June lunch will be available daily! Bi-lingual service bien sur :) Join us in St. Mary's and enjoy access to the amenities offered by the Irish Loop. Cheers, Salut! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Claddagh Inn Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing