We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Stop on the Irish Loop”
Review of The Claddagh Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Claddagh Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 St. Mary's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly Stop on the Irish Loop”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

When we arrived at The Claddagh Inn, we were warmly greeted by Carol, who along with her husband, Patrick, own the inn. Later we had a chance to meet Patrick and enjoy his tasty snow crab dinner.

Room's are clean and adequately furnished. Some of her nice water views. The bathroom has a shower stall and is amply sized.

There's a full-service pub at the inn, where you can enjoy a variety of liquors and beers. Yellow Belly (a small, St. John's brewery which we visited earlier on our trip) was on tap.

The four-course dinner featured snow crab caught in the waters off St. Mary's. Other options are available if you don't like crab. If you've never had this Newfoundland treat, it is delicious. My only suggestion for improvement, and this applies to other places we ate at in Newfoundland, is a better selection of wine. As one who enjoys wine, I would have liked some better options with the good food.

Breakfast featured some granola and yoghurt as a first course and crepes and ham as the main course. Both were very good.

If you are visiting this part of the Irish Loop, be sure to spend a night at The Claddagh Inn. Book well in advance as the inn has but six rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
106
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prince George
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We recently had the opportunity for two stays at the Claddagh Inn in Aug 2012. One for our two teenage daughter's for four nights, and the other for our 24th wedding anniversary. Pat and Carol went out of their way to make our girls feel comfortable and encouraged them to feel at home. They really enjoyed the stay and even got up early daily for the lovely breakfasts.
The evening meal on our anniversary was superb. Carol's home made salmon tortellini is scrumptious as was the snow crab in the main meal. We stayed in the Limmerick room which was lovely and tranquil and woke up to views of St. Mary's Bay, followed by a lovely breakfast.
Pat was a charming and knowledgable host as we visited and enjoyed a glass of wine in the quaint pub. We truly recommend the Claddagh Inn to all that have the chance to stay and would stay again in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMJPrinceGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a night at The Claddagh Inn for our first anniversary. We stayed in the Limmerick room and I must say, it's even more beautiful than the pictures. The Inn has a small pub that is just full of character and a wonderful spot to grab a drink and have a chat. The hosts, Patrick and Carol were excellent and made the stay a comfortable one. We were served a very tasty breakfast of crepes, coffee, yogurt and OJ. I had a great time at the Claddagh in and we genuinely can't wait to go back. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a little get away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmallay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at Claddagh Inn in Aug 2012 while touring Irish loop with my family
Beautiful view from the deck. Pat and Carol were excellent hosts.
Great meal at supper (snow Crab) huge. Best desert I have had in a long time.
Outstanding breakfast. Arranged a tour for us in Bay Bulls whale and puffin boat tour.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Claddagh Inn and were blown away by how much we enjoyed our time there. Our comfortable room made for a great night's rest and it was great to wake up with a view of St Mary's Bay in the morning. Pat and Carol are excellent hosts and very familiar with the local attractions.

The optional dinner was a definite win - one of the best meals we had on our trip, with homemade soup, fresh snow crab, pasta and Carol's delicious apple crumble to top it off. And being able to tuck into padraig's folly, the in-house pub, for a drink and a good chat before bed made our evening even better. If only all B&B's had a pub - so civilized and a great way to get to know fellow travelers (if you wish).

Scotch-lovers: they have a great collection to sample from; along with Yellowbelly Red ale on tap and other beer and wine selections.

We would stay here again without any hesitation and have already recommended it to a few people planning their own Newfoundland holidays.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were touring the Irish Loop and stayed here with our two children. The Inn was beautiful, the views breathtaking and the hosts incredible!

We stayed in the Limerick room and felt like royalty. They even had a small cot set up for our daughter and lots of room for our family of four to sleep comfortably. My son woke up in the morning and said "I love this place!" - now that's all that needs to be said to let you know how wonderful it was. After traveling the world with our kids, their opinion is always honest and from the heart - The Claddagh Inn was a winner :)

The pub Padraig's Folly is to die for - with Yellowbelly Irish Red ale on tap and traditional pub decor, this is the perfect place to wind down after touring around.

We spent a great evening chatting and meeting people and would return in a second!
Highly recommend the Claddagh Inn if you want good food, clean and comfortable accommodation, and time to unwind.
Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayanChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hightlight of our trip to Newfoundland was spending time at the Claddagh Inn. We stayed two nights at Pat and Carol's B&B in St. Mary's, Newfoundland. They are very charming hosts, that have a great knowledge of the local area. Our room was very clean and well appointed . The bed was so comfotable I actually slept in. The homemade food was absolutely delicious. We especialy enjoyed the soups, breads and crepes (the crab dinner was awsome Pat and Carol). Make sure you make a reservation for dinner, you wouldn't want to miss out on this experience.The pub was a great place for conversation and a cold one at the end of the day. Out of all the B&B's we have stayed at, The Claddagh Inn ranks number one for us and we would definitely stay they again. Overall great experience. Doreen and Jeff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doreenstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mary's
15.7 mi away
Edge of the Avalon Inn
Edge of the Avalon Inn
#1 of 1 in Trepassey
83 reviews
14.1 mi away
Northwest Lodge Bed & Breakfast
23.9 mi away
The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claddagh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claddagh Inn

Property: The Claddagh Inn
Address: Directly on the Irish Loop (Route 90) in St. Mary's | 65km from the Trans Canada Highway taking exit 35, St. Mary's, Newfoundland and Labrador A0B 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claddagh Inn, once the Saint Ann's Presentation convent, was transformed into a quaint traditional Irish style Inn by local craftsmen. Completely refreshed by its new owners in 2011 and 2012, it boasts 6 private en-suite rooms. There's a spacious honeymoon suite with majestic king-size canopy bed and spa bath and also a double room available for family travellers. "Padraig's Folly" is a cozy guest pub or "snug" featuring a fine selection of whiskeys, a local craft beer on tap, and other refreshments for guests to enjoy during dinner, in the pub, or while enjoying the view of peaceful St. Mary's Bay from the deck. This eclectic pub is furnished with re-claimed furniture from the nun's chapel. St. Mary's Bay Snow Crab is our signature dish in the dinning room where four-course fine dining is offered by reservation. The room features incredible wood work in rich warm textures and is decorated with traditional and international art. The view is remarkable and is a great place to start your traveling day while enjoying a hot three course breakfast in the morning featuring local berries and home made jams. New for 2013: starting in June lunch will be available daily! Bi-lingual service bien sur :) Join us in St. Mary's and enjoy access to the amenities offered by the Irish Loop. Cheers, Salut! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Claddagh Inn Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing