We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B with great hosts”
Review of The Claddagh Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Claddagh Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 St. Mary's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We recently stayed at the Claddagh Inn and were blown away by how much we enjoyed our time there. Our comfortable room made for a great night's rest and it was great to wake up with a view of St Mary's Bay in the morning. Pat and Carol are excellent hosts and very familiar with the local attractions.

The optional dinner was a definite win - one of the best meals we had on our trip, with homemade soup, fresh snow crab, pasta and Carol's delicious apple crumble to top it off. And being able to tuck into padraig's folly, the in-house pub, for a drink and a good chat before bed made our evening even better. If only all B&B's had a pub - so civilized and a great way to get to know fellow travelers (if you wish).

Scotch-lovers: they have a great collection to sample from; along with Yellowbelly Red ale on tap and other beer and wine selections.

We would stay here again without any hesitation and have already recommended it to a few people planning their own Newfoundland holidays.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 178 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were touring the Irish Loop and stayed here with our two children. The Inn was beautiful, the views breathtaking and the hosts incredible!

We stayed in the Limerick room and felt like royalty. They even had a small cot set up for our daughter and lots of room for our family of four to sleep comfortably. My son woke up in the morning and said "I love this place!" - now that's all that needs to be said to let you know how wonderful it was. After traveling the world with our kids, their opinion is always honest and from the heart - The Claddagh Inn was a winner :)

The pub Padraig's Folly is to die for - with Yellowbelly Irish Red ale on tap and traditional pub decor, this is the perfect place to wind down after touring around.

We spent a great evening chatting and meeting people and would return in a second!
Highly recommend the Claddagh Inn if you want good food, clean and comfortable accommodation, and time to unwind.
Cheers!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayanChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hightlight of our trip to Newfoundland was spending time at the Claddagh Inn. We stayed two nights at Pat and Carol's B&B in St. Mary's, Newfoundland. They are very charming hosts, that have a great knowledge of the local area. Our room was very clean and well appointed . The bed was so comfotable I actually slept in. The homemade food was absolutely delicious. We especialy enjoyed the soups, breads and crepes (the crab dinner was awsome Pat and Carol). Make sure you make a reservation for dinner, you wouldn't want to miss out on this experience.The pub was a great place for conversation and a cold one at the end of the day. Out of all the B&B's we have stayed at, The Claddagh Inn ranks number one for us and we would definitely stay they again. Overall great experience. Doreen and Jeff

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreenstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Nice, clean and comfortable Inn on the Irish Loop scenic drive and interesting history at this restored convent. If you can work in a stop here, be sure to sign up to enjoy dinner at the Inn. Not only is it one of the few choices nearby but Patrick and Carol do a GREAT job at serving fresh crab and good quality side dishes!! Some interesting walks nearby and beautiful view of the water.

Room Tip: The Clare on the main floor is a fine, handicap accessible room but right next to the bar. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleVisitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed one night at the Claddagh Inn in St. Mary's, Newfoundland. We had spent the day travelling the Irish Loop and arrived pretty tired. Although we had neglected to book for dinner, Pat and Carol did make sure we could enjoy a four-course meal. (Note to others: be sure to book!) Before dinner we had a Yellow Belly beer in the new pub and met a local couple who were so interesting that they ended up joining us as we ate our meal. The atmosphere was really friendly and jovial and the dinner was delicious. Breakfast was just great, too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodmaryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

What a pleasant surprise! After a day of driving and experiencing the Irish loop in both complete fog and complete sunshine, Pat and Carol made us feel more than welcome. The room was lovely with excellent toiletries. The view was lovely and we enjoyed a great beer on the porch while waiting to get ready for supper!

Supper was absolutely amazing and should not be missed, as it is an option! 4 courses 4 stars for sure. Same for breakfast.

This was one of the best B&B's that we have stayed in Newfoundland and we've done a few now.

We would recommend to anyone!

And we will go back!

Mike and Carmie

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmie_Mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

THe dinner served at The Claddagh Inn is not to be missed, especially in Newfoundland, where restaurants, never mind good restaurants, are hard to find outside of St John's. Our dinner was part gourmet delight, part feeling a part of an intimate Newfoundland family, and part enjoying a fabulous view. It turns out the fisherman bring tons of snow crab into St Mary's and the owners of this inn, just walk across the street to pick some up each evening.We paid for the meal in advance because the owners cook just enough for those who have reservations. We could not believe the meal we got for the price. We had a delicious bowl (not cup)of homemade soup, homemade ravioli stuffed with salmon and cream cheese, plenty of great snow crab and home cooked dessert for $39.00 each. And when I mentioned that I cannot eat chocolate, the chef made a special apple crumb dessert just for me. We have found eating out in Newfoundland to be rather expensive and dissapointing outside of St John's, so this was an unexpected treat. Don't miss out on this lovely experience.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the inn, but drove a couple of hours just to eat dinner there after having lunch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Claddagh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claddagh Inn

Address: Directly on the Irish Loop (Route 90) in St. Mary's | 65km from the Trans Canada Highway taking exit 35, St. Mary's, Newfoundland and Labrador A0B 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mary's
Price Range: $122 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claddagh Inn, once the Saint Ann's Presentation convent, was transformed into a quaint traditional Irish style Inn by local craftsmen. Completely refreshed by its new owners in 2011 and 2012, it boasts 6 private en-suite rooms. There's a spacious honeymoon suite with majestic king-size canopy bed and spa bath and also a double room available for family travellers. "Padraig's Folly" is a cozy guest pub or "snug" featuring a fine selection of whiskeys, a local craft beer on tap, and other refreshments for guests to enjoy during dinner, in the pub, or while enjoying the view of peaceful St. Mary's Bay from the deck. This eclectic pub is furnished with re-claimed furniture from the nun's chapel. St. Mary's Bay Snow Crab is our signature dish in the dinning room where four-course fine dining is offered by reservation. The room features incredible wood work in rich warm textures and is decorated with traditional and international art. The view is remarkable and is a great place to start your traveling day while enjoying a hot three course breakfast in the morning featuring local berries and home made jams. New for 2013: starting in June lunch will be available daily! Bi-lingual service bien sur :) Join us in St. Mary's and enjoy access to the amenities offered by the Irish Loop. Cheers, Salut! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Claddagh Inn Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing