We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great view of the ocean sunsets and whales”
other travelers have booked this property
View of Cottage from Salmon Point Trail
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Cottage from Salmon Point Trail
Bayview Heights Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
View of Cottage from Salmon Point Trail
Bayview Heights Cottage
View from the living room
Bedroom 2 (double bed)
Main Bedroom (queen)
View from the front of the cottage
Lobster Cove Head
Caribou are plentiful in the park
Arches Provincial Park
Arches P.P
Berry Pond Trail
Sunset at the Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter M
1 review
“great view of the ocean sunsets and whales”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great spot. Bit difficult to find. Well stocked with most things except toilet paper. Would have brought our own but had been assured there be enough for the six of us but not even close. More was provided once we contacted the housekeeper. Great spot, Great deck. great fire pit. Rocky Harbour is a great spot.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: views and the deck
Liked least: difficulty with getting in touch with the manager
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Hello Peter,
I am happy you enjoyed your stay at the cottage!
I have taken note about the toilet paper and will ensure future guests will have enough!
Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated!
Tinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feenix3
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Cottage - Impossible to Deal with Owner”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
5
people found this review helpful

I stayed with a friend this September for 8 nights. The cottage was nice but deficient. There was supposed to be someone we could phone if there were problems, but she only answered the phone once, to replace a light bulb the following day. We had other questions, and she eventually got back to us, perhaps after 5 days. The BBQ gas ran out of gas after 2 uses. The toilet seat came loose when we first sat on in (but we got charged $50, even though it had been broken by previous occupants). We emailed the owner regarding a promised DVD player and were answered 2 days before we left. Some long-previous renters had lost keys, left a faded note taped to the fridge apologizing and leaving a tip, but we were asked on the day of departure where the tip was that *we* had promised. In all, a terrible experience, not because of the cottage but because of the people who claim to manage it properly. Go at your own risk, and be prepared to lose your security deposit unless you check everything when you get there and successfully manage to inform anyone of a problem.

Date of stay: September 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2015
I am sorry you had a bad stay with us. We try to make each guests stay a great experience.
We failed that with you and I am very sorry for that.

I understand that our housekeeper contacted you within the day every time you called with a concern, if that is not the case please let me know.
As for the broken toilet seat, I regret having to charge you $50 out of the $200 deposit but throughout your 8 day stay you never indicated the issues to us or the housekeeper,even after having had several touch points with her.

For the instructions for the TV/DVD I apologize for not responding in a more timely manner, and will continue to ensure there are multiple written instructions on how to work the VCR within the cottage, as not to inconvenience other guests.

I trust that our housekeeper helped on getting you alternate accommodations after your stay with us (unfortunately we could not provide you the extra day as per your request, as we had other guess already booked for that time) helped make your stay with us more enjoyable.

I would like the opportunity to speak to you about your experience. Feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience.

The Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasgenie
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cozy cottage with an unbeatable view”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

5 of us stayed in this delightful cottage. It was clean and welcoming on our arrival (thanks to Mona, the housekeeper!) There is a pullout sofabed in the living room that can accommodate the 5th or 6th person. it was very comfortable and homely, and even on rainy days it was a pleasure to laze around indoors. It has a well-equipped kitchen, and a great BBQ on the deck for use. The fish store is a short stroll away as are tidepools, and a cliff-top lookout. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoop5
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A fantastic place in Gris Morne”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for 2 days, If you are going to Gros Morne this is the pace to stay, It is a well maintained house with a deck overlooking the ocean, Beautiful view of sunsets, Most staples are here but you should buy groceries in Deer Lake.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: THe view from the deck
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inymoo
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rocky Harbour's Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our month long stay in our 2 bedroom cottage at the Bayview Heights Cottage. It offers all the comforts of home including the best beds ever!
Overlooking an unobstructed view of the ocean with amazing sunsets. We enjoyed a few BBQ's on the large deck and the privacy of the home. There is everything you require in the kitchen & laundry facilities. A visit to the fish market at the bottom of the hill is a must, they have everything you could want in seafood. The restaurants are quaint & affordable, but we did most of our own cooking. A must see with local entertainment is "Anchors Aweigh" at the Ocean View hotel. We also took in the Western Brook Pond hike & boat tour, excellent. But another favourite was the Bonne Bay boat tour in Norris Point, only a 15 minute drive away.
The Visitors Centre on #430 is so helpful, make sure to visit. Owners Tinda & Leo made sure we were comfortable and met our needs as promised. Enjoy your stay in Newfoundland with the nicest people in the world!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness & view
Liked least: No cable or wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan3196...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super cabin and view”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at this cabin for 4 nights in June, as part of a 3 week tour of Newfoundland. It was just like the photos but actually better in reality. The cabin is well laid out, very well equipped and comfortably furnished. The woodburner is great and very welcome, as the weather on occasion was awful. The view from the picture windows and large deck is fantastic and unbroken. We managed on BBQ on the deck and one morning coffee but rain stopped us using any further. On a bad evening, the cabin is so cosy with the wood stove on.
Rocky Harbour is a nice little place with small shops, restaurants, liquor store etc. The locals are very friendly. Great walking in Gros Morne and alongside the coast. Enjoy!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alopecuru...
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great situation, great faclities”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Very comfortable and well equipped cottage in great situation - perhaps the best in Rocky Harbour. Lived up to expectations

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing