We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cottage choice”
Review of Bayside Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayside Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Bayside Cottages are a good choice for your stay in Gros Morne National Park. Centrally located with well equipped kitchens, they are a good value.

LOCATION: Easy to find on Main Street and right across from the water, the cottages have a great location in Rocky Harbour. It is an easy walk to restaurants (Eddies, Fisherman's), grocery store, and the 'nightlife' at the Oceanside (there is live music Wed and Fri). Our room had a nice view of the water. Easy drive to many of the hikes.

ROOM: Clean room with a well equipped kitchen (range, micro, fridge, cookware, dishes, etc.). Table and seating for 4. The only place where this establishment lost points with me and my travel partner is the bed. It was old and the mattress wasn't very comfortable. Luckily we were so worn out by all the hiking that it didn't bother us very much. If the owners updated the mattresses it would definitely add to the property. The decor is outdated too but you almost have to expect that with this type of accomodation. There was a small sofa and tv as well, although we didn't really use them.

BATHROOM: Clean and good shower pressure. No hair dryer.

STAFF: All the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. Check in/out was a breeze.

OTHER: No laundry facilities (although some nearby) and lots of parking. Fish Plant at the end of the road has great cheap seafood if you can cook for yourself.

OVERALL: Good value if you are looking for a step up from camping. Definitely worth having cooking facilities to take advantage of the fresh seafood!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2010

The woman in the registration office was so friendly and outgoing, as were the owners and fellow guests. We stayed for 2 nights in a 1-bedroom cottage on a hill with a view of the harbour and spectacular sunsets. Clean, bright and spacious, the cottage instantly helped us unwind after busy days hiking and driving. It was fully equipped and we had everything we needed without asking.
The location is ideal for walking anywhere in town. The owner is very personable and is happy to share his tips about 'off the beaten track' places to go.
I would highly recommend Bayside Cottages.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitcat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

would have loved a cottage but were full. Took motel room for $99....a great value with lovely water view. Met one of the owners for interesting talk. I asked him if they had just opened motel...said was open now for ten years. Unbelievable...it was as if had just opened, spotless, not a nick or dent in sight. I would gladly stay there at a cottage for a week of so. I have travelled world wide, work at a ski resort in western canada for 15 years & this is probably the best value i have come upon. Ps...ea cottage has a bbq outside ...now that 's service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brokenjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Wow, these cottages are a gem, they are clean, very spacious and quiet. We had a view of the bay from our little deck. There were no 2 bedrooms available so our teenage daughter stayed on a cot and we still had lots of room. The bathroom is huge. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayleighgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2006

Great cottage for a central location while visiting Gros Morne National Park. This hotel has both cottages and motel rooms. It was only $10 more for a cottage. Definitely worth the extra money for the additional space. Everything was clean and tidy in the unit. I enjoyed having the kitchen facilities - especially the refrigerator.

4  Thank Likes_to_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Thivierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank jeanzigla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
116 reviews
24.0 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gros Morne Cabins
Gros Morne Cabins
#3 of 5 in Gros Morne National Park
143 reviews
5.1 mi away
Out East B&B
Out East B&B
#4 of 4 in Norris Point
22 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Cottages

Address: Lloyd's Lane, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Rocky Harbour
Price Range: $71 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We operate cottages & motel units in the Gros Morne National Park. All units fully equipped with bath/shower, cable TV, wireless internet, balcony with bbq. We are located in the heart of the park with a view of Gros Morne Mountain and a beautiful sunset overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayside Cottages Hotel Rocky Harbour
Bayside Cottages Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing