We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cleanest place we stayed in NL.”
Review of Bayside Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayside Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cleanest place we stayed in NL.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Bayside Cottages was by far the cleanest place we stayed. Home away fr home. Prior to our trip we looked at accommodation brochures and internet websites of places we would stay during our trip to Nl. we were disappointed numerous times as we checked in to our bookings. Bayside Cottages is true to their advertising, they kept their places modern, updated and most important EXTREMELY CLEAN. Very nice meeting the staff, and very nice to have a peace of mind and fell comfortable and at home....Thank you, we do home to see you again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcleod2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    30
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Rocky Harbour is the most central place you can stay in Gros Morne, and if there are more than 2 of you and/or you want to make your own breakfasts, then cottages are the way to go.

We stayed in 4 cottages in 4 Gros Morne towns during our trip, all similarly priced. Of these, Bayside was the most recently renovated and therefore freshest feeling, and there's absolutely nothing wrong with it. All works as expected. Things work. Staff is helpful when asked. If that's what you're looking for and you're happy getting all your jollies from the glorious scenery of Gros Morne, it is more than fine. But it really had no personality, and there's nothing special about its location compared to others.

Small detail: the kitchen is well equipped, but of the 4 cottages we stayed in, this was the only one that did not have salt and pepper provided plus complimentary ground coffee and coffee filters to use in the coffee maker. Would be a friendly touch, esp. given grocery selection in town isn't that great and staples are not available in small quantities. Felt really silly to be buying a kilo of salt in the store on our last night in Newfoundland!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montrealais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Motel as there were no cottages available when we booked. The room was very spacious and clean but also very basic. You could hear people in adjoining rooms just walking around. The bathroom was very small and there was barely enough room to keep a toothbrush in there. The view was nice from the room but there was no place to sit outside and enjoy the view. No deck or patio at the front. No comfortable chairs to sit in the room and the bed had only 2 thin pillows. I found 1 spare pillow only. The signal for WiFi was out of range for me while I was there. I would have liked to see a mini fridge and microwave in the room. I would recommend the Motel at the Bayside Cottages for a one night stay but for anything longer book a cottage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Clean, nice,good location. Unfortunately cabin 6 has a very strong, unpleasant odor coming from the bathroom (cat urine?). Had to leave the fan on and the door closed. The rest of the 2 bedroom cabin was great. How did housekeeping not notice the smell?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank windandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family of 8 adults and one toddler spent a delightful week at the Bayside Cottages this summer. The cottages are bright, clean and fresh, and have all the essentials for living, including BBQ and outside tables for our lively lobster picnic, and a grass area for ball games. We were minutes from the harbourside and downtown amenities. The service was friendly and accommodating. Rocky Harbour, the west coast of Newfoundland and Bayside Cottages are a must to visit for all travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

If your heading to enjoy the wonders of Gros Morne Park I would recommend staying at Bayside Cottages. The facilities are clean and well maintained. You have the option of smaller nightly accommodation units or spacious cottages. The owner/operator Lloyd is a super sweet gentleman who is quick to respond to any questions you may have and the whole family that runs these cottages are very friendly. I liked the location because it's walking distance to the town and wharf (fresh seafood) although they are set back from the road so you get peace and quite. The price is $10-15 cheaper per night than other local cottages which I checked out. The cleaning staff are friendly and everyone asks if you need anything and if you are enjoying yourself whenever they see you. Molly the German Sheppard is there to greet you when you come back from a walk and you can sit out and look over the harbour while sipping your morning coffee. I will stay here again when I return to Gros Morne.

Room Tip: I would recommend booking well in advance if you would like a cottage. I would also recommend bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Don't stay here if you require a large, flat screen TV, totally reliable internet (ours worked fine for two of our four night stay), or plush, boutique hotel bedding and decor.

Do stay here if you would like quiet, SPOTLESS accommodations, the convenience of a kitchen equipped with most anything you need, friendly, helpful staff, views of the harbour and lighthouse, and a location convenient for exploring most everything in Gros Morne from one lodging. In about a one hour, picturesque drive you can get to the southern part of the park; the northern part is closer and all of it is fabulous for scenery, hiking, wildlife and geological wonders!

We had a delightful stay!

Room Tip: Our room had a double bed. If you need something larger be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winterbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
184 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
93 reviews
23.6 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
7 reviews
5.2 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gros Morne Suites
Gros Morne Suites
#5 of 16 in Rocky Harbour
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Cottages

Property: Bayside Cottages
Address: Lloyd's Lane, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Rocky Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We operate cottages & motel units in the Gros Morne National Park. All units fully equipped with bath/shower, cable TV, wireless internet, balcony with bbq. We are located in the heart of the park with a view of Gros Morne Mountain and a beautiful sunset overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayside Cottages Hotel Rocky Harbour
Bayside Cottages Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing