We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Beautiful View!”
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The service is second to none! We stayed for two nights and our suite was very spacious and comfortable. We ate in the dining room - fantastic food and also a gorgeous view of the ocean. I highly recommend staying at the Ocean View Hotel! There is fantastic live entertainment every single night of the week at the Anchor Pub located in the hotel. And the show Anchors Aweigh is not to be missed! So entertaining and well worth the money! Anchors Aweigh plays a couple times a week and is superb! We definitely plan to return to the Ocean View Hotel when we are back in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLTravellingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for the awesome review! We love hearing that you enjoyed your experience here. Hope to host you again soon.

Cheers,

Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 220 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great staff as are most Newfoundlanders. Food is a bit pricy at the diner lounge but delicious (lobster dinner and surf and turf, partridgeberry / bakeapple cheesecake). We were lucky to get a great view of the ocean. Flowers on the bedspreads got to go as most hotels and motels on the planet. No fridge. Close to restaurants and stores in town.

Room Tip: Eat next door at the Fisherman's Landing for half the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_in_Whitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed the room and the food. I know the bed covers you are speaking of...we have about 10 of these in select rooms and they are new and custom made by my family :) . Thanks for the tips as well.

Cheers,

Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice place to stay, continental breakfast was included. Travelled there with my son's hockey team. Staff were very friendly. Rooms were very clean and quiet. Area had some beautiful scenery, great place for pictures.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel facing the harbour, sunsets are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterHNewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hi and thanks for the review! We love hosting the hockey groups here in Gros Morne and the staff especially like having the kids here at the hotel. See you again next hockey season!

Cheers,

Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here after hiking for 4 days in Gros Morne National Park . After 4 days of sleeping in a tent and hiking through the rain with only our packs on our back, we were excited to experience the comforts of home - a clean, warm bed, a hot shower and a warm meal. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite (which must have been a converted conference room because the layout was identical to the layout one floor below - which WAS the conference room) which was a spacious suite with a beautiful view overlooking the ocean (and the wonderful sunsets). The bed was comfortable and the linens clean, and the bathroom, although small, was clean and had a shower with great water pressure and a temperature dial that was easy to use (i.e., not one of those 'sensitive' dials that go from cold to scorching hot with a mere nudge). The attendants at the front desk were polite and knowledgeable. We elected to eat down the street, but returned for some live music and draft beer at the hotel bar, and had a great time - the music was great (local tunes) and the beer was cheap. I would definitely stay there again if I was passing through again on an 'active' vacation.

Room Tip: Pick the honeymoon suite! Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for the great review! That room is certainly about the nicest place you can go to get out of the rain! It sure was a conference room but we converted it about 2 yrs ago to a signature suite...next upgrade will be a patio! Glad you enjoyed the entertainment as well...come again soon!

Cheers,

Todd Wight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Spent the weekend at the Ocean View and were very pleased to say the least. Very nice room, great bed, friendly service. We had dinner in the main dining room Fri evening. Excellent seafood luguini. Great friendly service.and reasonably priced for the area and quality of meal . We heard the hotel manager say to a table that he had ordered up a beautiful sunset for the evening and though we are not sure how he did it he certainly did deliver. :) The room was very clean, very comfortable and had a great bed.. Would definitely stay here again if we return..

Room Tip: rooms with a direct view of the harbour are really worth the $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for the great review! Glad you enjoyed your room and dining experience. I laughed at the comment about the sunset but I will take full credit ha ha! Appeciate your review and hope you can visit again soon.

Cheers,

Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I always maintain that a visit to Rocky Harbour is as close as one gets to visiting paradise. My most recent stay at The Ocean View Hotel confirms this opinion. The rooms are super clean, very comfortable, modern and spacious. The staff are the most hospitable and accommodating you'll encounter anywhere in your travels and go out of their way to make you feel like you truly are "at home". The dinning room is far and away the best in western Newfoundland offering superior traditional and innovative dishes, such as lobster caps, with par excellance service. I would be remiss not to mention the spectular view of the ocean from the dinning room further enhancing your memorable experience. Our friends from Ottawa, who were visiting NL and accompained us on this trip fully concur with my recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for the great review! Feedback is always great but reviews like this are awesome and I love to share these with the team. Hope to host you again soon! Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have just returned from a three week tour of the west coast. It was an awsome experience. The people of newfoundland are very friendly. With the exception of this place, all the motels and B&B's we stayed at were good to great. This place was very poor. I would not recommend it or the resteraunt to anyone. The quality is poor and the prices are out of line. We travel at least 12 week a year and have for years. We found this one of our poorest stays.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hello and thanks for the review. Not sure what your specific issues were other than price. We generally have very positive feedback on the rooms and the food in the dining room. Sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Feel free to email with particulars as I would love to know where things went wrong. So glad you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in our Province.

Cheers,

Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.5 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
117 reviews
23.2 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
23.0 mi away
SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gros Morne Cabins
Gros Morne Cabins
#2 of 5 in Gros Morne National Park
143 reviews
5.2 mi away
Out East B&B
Out East B&B
#4 of 4 in Norris Point
22 reviews
12.7 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Address: 38 - 42 Main Street | PO Box 129, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Price Range: $135 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean View Hotel's 52 newly upgraded rooms are located centrally in Gros Morne National Park, on the Rocky Harbour waterfront. We are the region's flagship property, offering excellent chef prepared dining, breathtaking sunset views, and live entertainment 5 nights per week. We're at the centre of all events and amenities. We are also the ticket office for Bontours/Western Brook excursions. Book early and don't forget your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean View
Ocean View Hotel Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing