We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very pleased”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Spent the weekend at the Ocean View and were very pleased to say the least. Very nice room, great bed, friendly service. We had dinner in the main dining room Fri evening. Excellent seafood luguini. Great friendly service.and reasonably priced for the area and quality of meal . We heard the hotel manager say to a table that he had ordered up a beautiful sunset for the evening and though we are not sure how he did it he certainly did deliver. :) The room was very clean, very comfortable and had a great bed.. Would definitely stay here again if we return..

Room Tip: rooms with a direct view of the harbour are really worth the $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Glad you enjoyed your room and dining experience. I laughed at the comment about the sunset but I will take full credit ha ha! Appeciate your review and hope you can visit again soon.

Cheers,

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    73
    43
    14
    6
See reviews for
22
93
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corner Brook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I always maintain that a visit to Rocky Harbour is as close as one gets to visiting paradise. My most recent stay at The Ocean View Hotel confirms this opinion. The rooms are super clean, very comfortable, modern and spacious. The staff are the most hospitable and accommodating you'll encounter anywhere in your travels and go out of their way to make you feel like you truly are "at home". The dinning room is far and away the best in western Newfoundland offering superior traditional and innovative dishes, such as lobster caps, with par excellance service. I would be remiss not to mention the spectular view of the ocean from the dinning room further enhancing your memorable experience. Our friends from Ottawa, who were visiting NL and accompained us on this trip fully concur with my recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Feedback is always great but reviews like this are awesome and I love to share these with the team. Hope to host you again soon! Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardinal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have just returned from a three week tour of the west coast. It was an awsome experience. The people of newfoundland are very friendly. With the exception of this place, all the motels and B&B's we stayed at were good to great. This place was very poor. I would not recommend it or the resteraunt to anyone. The quality is poor and the prices are out of line. We travel at least 12 week a year and have for years. We found this one of our poorest stays.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello and thanks for the review. Not sure what your specific issues were other than price. We generally have very positive feedback on the rooms and the food in the dining room. Sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Feel free to email with particulars as I would love to know where things went wrong. So glad you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in our Province.

Cheers,

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rocky Harbour hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The location of the hotel is very good and Rocky Harbour in general, is a good base to explore GMNP. Since Ocean View is pricier than some of the other places we looked at, we expected a bit more than an average hotel room. No specific issues to report, enjoyed our stay here. Staff at the front desk are very helpful. Oceans room restaurant is ok, again pricey. The fact that Bon tours office is at this location is a good bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMP1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for the review! We appreciate your time in offering some feedback. FYI the pricing is about mid-range for the area and we do try make it a very good value for the experience :).

Cheers,

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steady Brook, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed Wednesday night for pub night, and it was awesome! If you are from the province or from anywhere in the world, this is something everyone should experience! We upgraded to the suite and I have to say it is one of the nicest hotel rooms I ever stayed in. World class!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marbleziptours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed your stay here and the Pub night. Cheers, Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in August at the Ocean View. Room was very average for the price but clean. 2 double beds in the room, no Queen size. Bed was not very comfortable. Room in dire need of an update. The harbour view turned out to be a view of the parking lot (noisy at night particularly as people leave the Anchors Away show), beyond which there is a road and then the harbour. Prices are very high in season because hotel is only open for a few months in the year. Front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Bon Tours office, where you can book your boat tour of Western Brook Pond (not to be missed) is right in the lobby of the hotel. Anchors Aweigh show is right in the hotel bar (book early - only plays MWF nights). The show and the songs are great but food and service at the pub are pretty sub par. Close to Norris Point, where there is good sea kayaking and tours of Bonne Bay. We drove as far north only as Cow Head and did some of the shorter hikes on the north side of Bonne Bay. Then we stayed on the south side.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
HI there;

Thanks for the review. We really appreciate feedback on stays here at the hotel. Glad you enjoyed the show and some of the hotel offerings. Our prices are mid range for the area...but you are correct that we have a short season! Not sure about the comment re the bed being uncomfortable? I know we don't have 2 queens in our double rooms but we get consistently great reviews on the new mattresses we have in all rooms. Please email me with the room number as we would like to know if there is an issue with a bed (preferably on the room comment card).

Cheers,

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

hi we attended the 'anchors aweigh show " friday past.
while the show itself was a great nite out. service on part of the bar staff was lacking.
we waited approx. 1 hour for a meal of fish and chips and longer for beers etc. the place was packed with approx 150 patrons from all over the globe.
if only the y could hire on a couple of extra bar keepers they would sell twice the beer or spirits.
there was only one girl working behind the bar!!!
come on this is the height of tourist season and ocean view was a letdown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewartNewfoundland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thanks for the review of your visit to the Anchor Pub.

We apologize for the lapse in service on this particular night. I am familiar with the night in question as we are generally well staffed...but honestly we were short of staff on this particular night (we did have 2 bartenders and 2 servers). Hope you check us out again as we aim to exceed expectations!

Cheers,

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.6 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
94 reviews
12.7 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
6 reviews
23.2 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
228 reviews
5.2 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
216 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Property: Ocean View Hotel
Address: 38 - 42 Main Street | PO Box 129, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean View Hotel's 52 newly upgraded rooms are located centrally in Gros Morne National Park, on the Rocky Harbour waterfront. We are the region's flagship property, offering excellent chef prepared dining, breathtaking sunset views, and live entertainment 5 nights per week. We're at the centre of all events and amenities. We are also the ticket office for Bontours/Western Brook excursions. Book early and don't forget your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean View
Ocean View Hotel Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing