We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed at the Ocean View for three nights. Beautiful sunset and view. The staff were very courteous and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. Despite the fact the hotel was full, it was quiet. We will definitely be staying here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsobol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    73
    43
    14
    6
See reviews for
22
93
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The Ocean View is a terrific base for exploring Gros Morne (which, by the way, is stunning). The hotel is clean; the rooms are spacious; and the bedding - which apparently has been spiffed up of late - is very, very comfortable. I had heard about the potential of noise from the pub, so requested (and received) one of the back rooms. (A sound sleep was marred only by a banging door somewhere). As for the restaurant, my family's experience was very positive. I'm told that Newfoundlanders like their cod cooked to death, but ours was perfectly done. And the service was uncommonly accommodating. One example: My daughter decided to order a pasta dish off the main menu. Not surprisingly, her eyes were bigger than her stomach, so we asked that the server if she could put the remainder in their fridge and re-heat it the next day. When the next day arrived, the cook decided that the pasta had been sitting too long in the fridge and simply cooked up another helping fresh - and gratis. Bottom line: The Ocean View is not grand luxe, but it is a very good, completely unpretentious place set in an environment that is stark, beautiful and remarkable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Hi there! Our sincere appreciation for your time in reviewing our property. We are so pleased that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our hospitality and your experiences in Gros Morne National Park. Hope to see you again in the future.

Cheers,

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden
Level Contributor
114 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We had a nice quiet room at the rear of the hotel,. Front facing room have good sea views but there is a main road. Liquor store 3 min + family restaurant adjacent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Owner at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to review us. So glad you enjoyed your room and the location. Hope your Newfoundland experience was wonderful.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
184 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

During the summer a theatre piece is staged in the pub of the hotel, Anchors Ahoy, or something like that. The whole parking taken by pub guests. If you arrive late there is no place for your car, the hotel lobby is packed with pub guests and the person behind the reception is totally down and doesn't even has the courtesy to answer any questions. The elevator is out of order, so we had to take our bags (6!) all up by stairs. We stayed for two nights and eat diner and breakfast by the neighbors, which was very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Spot1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Owner at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Hello and thanks for the review. I have never said this in a TripAdvisor response but I feel it might be a touch harsh? All of our guests are important to us and we appreciate them equally...if you received less than appropriate service we do apologize. I recognize our lobby was busy due to the Pub's very popular Anchors Aweigh nights. We have identified the issue and will be redesigning the entrance for next season so as to limit the lobby traffic before the shows. Parking is ample and free though as with any busy establishment, there is competition for the best spaces. You are right on about the elevator as we are awaiting repair. Not sure why you rated SLEEP QUALITY a 1... new mattresses, duvet bedding, AC? Seems like we got off on the wrong foot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rocky Harbour hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

After a long day of driving from the ferry we arrived at this hotel about 5:00PM which was booked in early March, to discover all the bus tour people got the first floor rooms we were on the second floor, no elevator. Rooms are dated, gaps in doors, balcony doors did not work right. This was one the most expensive hotels we stayed in on our 9 day tour of nfld and it was by far the worst. We paid premium rates for this hotel and should have been provided with premium service for the price of it. We had reserved tickets for the Anchors Aweigh show as soon as they were available...probably first or second on the list for 2011. We went to pick up our tickets, just after we checked in, for the 8:00PM show and were told to be in the Pub by 6:00PM if we wanted a decent seat. We felt we were being held hostage by the hotel, because of the time we had to have dinner in the pub???? Chicken wings that were deep fried with the deep fried fish....it was disgusting. No time to see the town or stretch our legs or risk a poor seat. They need to clean up thier act. We will not recommend.

Room Tip: Check this site for any hotel you stay at, we found the comments valuable and found a couple of gems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Hello. Thanks for the review. Not sure there are many positives in your review to comment on. Sounds like the experience did not meet your expectation. We generally try to block the bus tours on one floor or the other. Sorry we couldn't accomodate your request but it is very difficult to juggle sometimes as we are running at capacity most nights. We have a stringent maintenance policy for the rooms and we were certainly unaware of any issues related to the doors...hope you left the issues on the room review card for attention. Our rates are generally moderate for the area $139 for garden view/$159 for ocean view/suites are $179 to $259. The pub does have some competition for seating and we cannot really change that without making it into a theatre with arranged seating...and I do understand that this can interfere with planning a dinner and then the show. Love to have the chance to host you again as most of our guests are big fans. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

All in all it's good value for accommodation in the area: rooms were spacious and clean.
Location is great: a playground nearby, lots of groceries and restaurants around in walking distance.
But, as a family, we were disappointed that the room was not equipped with fridge or microwave. Also, no elevator to the rooms on second floor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Hello and thanks for taking the time to review us...we sincerely appreciate your feedback! We are glad you liked our rooms and the area. Apologize for the elevator...it's been the single longest repair request ever...hope to have it up and running by the end of August. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Great location, right in the middle of Rocky Harbour, central to all Gros Morne activities and trails.

The unusually large rooms are well-equipped (iron & board, coffee maker, hairdryer, and loads of electrical outlets) – appears to be recently renovated. Wifi in room worked well. Enjoyed the best sleep I've had in years! The cool fresh air was definitely a major contributor. Breakfast is not included, but a coffee maker in the room, together with muffins and fruit purchased at a nearby convenience store, was all we needed to get the day off to a good start.

Bon Tours boat cruise office in the lobby was convenient, and we enjoyed a drink in the bar with local entertainment. We did not try the on-site restaurant - too many other choices.

Perfect for those who prefer the anonymity a hotel/motel style accommodation.

Room Tip: For convenience ask for ground floor, for a view ask for 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenThere1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Owner at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thanks for the great review...glad you enjoyed our recent upgrades and enhancements to the rooms. Appreciate your time in reviewing our property. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.6 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
94 reviews
12.7 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
6 reviews
23.2 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
228 reviews
5.2 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
216 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Property: Ocean View Hotel
Address: 38 - 42 Main Street | PO Box 129, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean View Hotel's 52 newly upgraded rooms are located centrally in Gros Morne National Park, on the Rocky Harbour waterfront. We are the region's flagship property, offering excellent chef prepared dining, breathtaking sunset views, and live entertainment 5 nights per week. We're at the centre of all events and amenities. We are also the ticket office for Bontours/Western Brook excursions. Book early and don't forget your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean View
Ocean View Hotel Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing