We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed two nights here while we toured around Gros Morne Park. There are not a lot of hotels to choose from and this one was clean & comfortable with a nice outlook as well.
The restaurant was good and there is also a good family restaurant right across the street.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treylya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    73
    44
    14
    7
See reviews for
23
98
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bay Roberts, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Facility was very clean, staff were simply amazing. Food, service and cleanliness were the reason I write this review. No pool amenities but I was not looking for that anyway, I was there to experience a unique culture and a wonderful destination, I felt I recieved my monies worth.

Room Tip: Jr. Suite upgrade was well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron_Delaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Great location and very kind staff. Stayed in the off-season. Rooms were nice and the price was reasonable for a room inside a national park. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This is a good hotel in a great location. The rooms are good and when there is live music the bar is lively.
On a previous visit we had a good meal in the restaurant. This time the service was terrible - we waited over an hour for the bread and starter. I think we were probably just unlucky and the food was good when it arrived.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callisto71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVM2730, Owner at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thanks for the great review. We apologize for a rare lapse in service with the dining room. Glad you enjoyed the food! T. Wight - Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Our group was headed to the Long Range Traverse and planning was done a bit last minute but this hotel was quick to accomodate 9 of us on a short timeline. Further to that they allowed the use of one of their conference rooms without an issue so we could do a quick brief/planning session in a more open area. Service was prompt and friendly. Restaurant in the hotel is a bit pricey but the food is good. The hotel itself is 'downtown' Rocky Harbour - though 'downtown' is a small single strip. Nice views, clean rooms, no issues.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyGuyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Didn't stay in a room here but the Chowder, Lobster and service at the restaurant where excellent while viewing the sunset in the Harbour....but if you go for any reason you have to go for the Band...Mon, Wed and Friday nights the best in Newfie music and laughs!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
188 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I chose the Ocean View for the fact of an ocean view. Our room faced the harbour and provided us with a great view of the water across the street. (Ask for second floor). The second reason for choosing this hotel was the fact the manager answered criticism offered up on Trip Advisor with a note of genuine regard. Our stay was enjoyable in all respects. The only negative was our continental breakfast was not restocked the first morning at 9am but was more than adequately the second morning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockhoundParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.6 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
95 reviews
23.2 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
12.7 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
231 reviews
5.2 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
219 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Property: Ocean View Hotel
Address: 38 - 42 Main Street | PO Box 129, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean View Hotel's 52 newly upgraded rooms are located centrally in Gros Morne National Park, on the Rocky Harbour waterfront. We are the region's flagship property, offering excellent chef prepared dining, breathtaking sunset views, and live entertainment 5 nights per week. We're at the centre of all events and amenities. We are also the ticket office for Bontours/Western Brook excursions. Book early and don't forget your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean View
Ocean View Hotel Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing