We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Less Than Stellar - Dessert Menu Decieving”
Review of Sunset Restaurant

Sunset Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Marystown, Newfoundland, Canada
2 reviews
“Service Less Than Stellar - Dessert Menu Decieving”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went to this location for dessert one evening with friends while visiting the Gros Morne area.

First we called beforehand to ask what desserts they had the the lady who answered the phone said she "didn't have time to talk" and hung the phone up.

Secondly and most important the dessert menu was decieving since it indicated that the desserts were homemade. I was shocked to see when we got ours that they were not. I ordered the "homemade" strawberry cheesecake and my wife order the choclate. I was shocked to see that they were the exact same cheesecakes that are bought at Sobeys with 12-14 pieces for $13.99.

If someone is going there looking for a "homemade" dessert please be aware they are not( at least what we had wasn't).

Marystown

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dwight S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good Breakfast”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very good breakfast and coffee. We ordered off the menu and they were very accommodating with changes we wanted. Please was clean and service was friendly. Would go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Menu Variety and homecooked food”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Do stop here, especially if you have had enough seafood and french fries. You can choose from their extensive menu. This is also good value for money and nice service. Atmosphere is acceptable, nothing fancy, but does the job.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lunch was Excellent- Visited 2X”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

All four in our party loved the food.Cod Cakes with home-made pickles were excellent and the Pea soup was even better than excellent. Fish burger and the apricot scones were top notch.But I do have a warning DO NOT order the Moose BURGER as its a pre-formed patty.other restaurants in NL actually make their own patties..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great breakfast and a nice view out on the deck. Good menu selection as well as a perfect cup of coffee.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NatashaOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Restaurant also viewed

Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Sunset Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing