We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Ocean View Hotel(Rocky Harbour)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Lake Motel(Deer Lake)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Inn(Deer Lake)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corner Brook(Corner Brook)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
126
8
5
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
126
8
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadother guestsyogurtwonderful hostswonderful coupleliving roomevery morningrooms are smallnewfoundland experiencegros mornememorable stayfelt very much at homefriendly coupletea and coffeethe kitchenhighly recommend staying herevery comfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 141 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a great stay at this B&B; Vera and Dave were friendly and very helpful with suggestions about what to do and set such a great tone for lively conversation with the other guests at breakfast. Breakfasts were delicious and generous, and our room was newly decorated and quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amhale611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Vera and Dave are a friendly and courteous couple - great B&B operators. They gave us useful suggestions for our trip, offered us a clean and comfortable place to sleep and a gourmet breakfast to fuel our day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed on our last night before leaving Newfoundland.The room was ok nothing fancy kind of spartan and we could hear other people.It would be nice if they showed all the rooms on their website just not a select couple.The hosts are nice and thats why most of the positive reviews.The breakfast was a buffet only served at 8am other B&B's gave us a choice and it was ok if a lukewarm buffet is to your liking.The B&B is just beside the main highway to norris point around 6-8 blocks from the water and not close to resturants over all it"s ok but we would look for something closer to the water if we came back to Rocky Harbour again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daine, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We have no record of a John C. staying with us in August.
Dave & Vera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed with Vera and Dave for five nights in late July and did we chose well. Accommodation, breakfasts, conversation and service were all first class and with the back drop of Gros Morne one couldn't ask for any more. Rocky Harbour is ideally placed to explore the splendours of Gros Morne and Vera and Dave were always helpful in providing hints of where best to go. Our bedroom was comfortable, roomy and quiet and there are sufficient rooms to allow for a wonderful mix of guests each morning for Vera's delectable breakfasts. We already have our sights set on a return visit to Anchor Down in 2015.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed there for 4 days. Our room was good size and well decorated. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. She did have shampoo and body wash there. The living room was comfortable and relaxing. Vera was very kind and caring.
The breakfasts were amazing. She made gourmet breakfasts all the time and she put home made berry jams, yogurt and plates of fruite on the table. We were always full during the day.
I really enjoyed myself there.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep early ask for the rooms away from the living room. Having the living room next to your room can have the benefit of using it any time.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews