We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great breakfasts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Rocky Harbour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed there for 4 days. Our room was good size and well decorated. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. She did have shampoo and body wash there. The living room was comfortable and relaxing. Vera was very kind and caring.
The breakfasts were amazing. She made gourmet breakfasts all the time and she put home made berry jams, yogurt and plates of fruite on the table. We were always full during the day.
I really enjoyed myself there.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep early ask for the rooms away from the living room. Having the living room next...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Vera and Dave have really succeeded in creating a five-star B and B. They are wonderful hosts--very warm and accommodating. Each on the six rooms has an ensuite bath. Our room was decent size with lots and lots of closet space. Our bathroom had plenty of room to put our stuff.
Soft Soap body wash and hand soap ,Tresseme shampoo and conditioner, and kleenexes were provided. Our room did not have a chair to sit it but this was a positive thing. Both nights that we were there, we went out into the huge living room and enjoyed talking to the other guests.

I really liked the way Vera did breakfast. Breakfast was served at 8 o'clock. We all ate in an ell of the kitchen, but Vera prepared most of the food before we arrived in another kitchen that she has in her section of the house. Dave toasted the delicious pieces (they were huge) of homemade bread in the kitchen where we ate. Food was served buffet style. There were several types of homemade jams to choose from including bakeapple and partridgeberry.

Vera and Dave were able to chat with all the guests as we ate. Vera has a bubbling personality. Breakfast was fun and delicious. I am glad that one of the mornings we were there, Vera made her delicious baked omelet. She said that if she has guests that stay several days, she will make something different every morning.

We had a most enjoyable stay at the anchor. The rate $85.00 was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This B&B is excellent in every way. Vera is a wonderful cook and a charming individual who displays such genuine caring and kindness toward each individual guest. The B&B is very well laid out and the rooms are well equipped to accommodate one's every need and is centrally located in Rocky Harbour. The food is superb and the breakfast dining room is bright, cheery and attractively furnished. Dave and Vera are superb ambassadors for both Rocky Harbour and Gros Morne alike. This B&B is one of my very favourite B&Bs of all I have stayed in. It is NL hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernLite16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Anchor Down B&B was simply fantastic! Extremely clean, beautiful kitchen area and common area as well. Such charming and welcoming hosts (Vera and Dave) and the most delicious breakfast around (creme brulee french toast!). HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We will never forget our first stay in a B&B! Vera and Dave are so warm-hearted! You really feel at ease and at home. The first thing we noticed when we entered the building was how clean everything is: the hallway, the rooms and the large bathroom with the super white bedlinnen and towels. If you need anything, just ask and Vera and Dave will take care of it. Super breakfast, lovely served with all the guests at 8.00 h sharp. Book this B&B in the lovely small town of Rocky Harbour, centrally located for the Gros Morne N.P.
Too bad it takes such a long journey from The Netherlands to them otherwise I am sure we would have booked our second stay already!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda74L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Excellent choice for Rocky Harbour and Gros Morne. Very welcoming hosts with good suggestions for things to do in the area. We had a large room off the setting room with a comfortable queen-sized bed. Breakfast is at 8:00 for everyone, and there is always a good selection with more than ample quantities. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Torontoseniors-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Anchor Down was simply our home away from home!
Gracious hosts, Vera and Dave. Awesome breakfast each day. The early morning that DH hiked Gros Morn Mountain, Vera saw him all packed up to hike , stopped him and packed him pancakes and beans to eat before the hike. So nice!
Room was comfortable, large washroom ensuite . Guests have total access to living room, kitchen and dining room. These provided wonderful , comfortable areas for guests to mingle and get to know each other...in addition to the outside patio, tables and chairs. Breakfast each morning was amazing and Vera makes the BEST partridgeberry and bakeapple jams of any of the many B&B's we stayed in on our month long trip. We made nice friends while staying here. We went to the Anchors Aweigh show together as a group and had a great time. Wish we could have stayed longer. Also took the Western Pond Boat tour, which was well worth it. Bonne Bay Marine Station was worth the tour as well. Black flies and mosquitos were plentiful in Gros Morne NP, so bring repellant!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em-T-sails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.9 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
113 reviews
24.5 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gros Morne Cabins
Gros Morne Cabins
#3 of 5 in Gros Morne National Park
143 reviews
23.8 mi away
SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

Address: 84 Pond Road, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 bedroom 4 star Bed & Breakfast with all en suites, we are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Park, close to all amenities and park attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing