We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Rocky Harbour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Vera and Dave were the best of hosts. We stayed two nights and totally enjoyed it. It was great talking to them and other guest during our delicious breakfasts. Even during a power failure Vera was able to supply us with a nice hot breakfast (off the BBQ) to start the day. Rocky Harbour is very central to all things Gros Morne. Don't forget to look up as you enter the stone porch as Dave is quite an artist. Make sure you do Western Brook Pond tour when your there, not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RayHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 141 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a wonderful B&B. Vera & Dave work hard to make your visit the best possible experience, from the delicous, hearty breakfasts, beautiful comfortable (& extremely clean) rooms to reliable advice about the area, its points of interest and local restaurants. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mammycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Vera and Dave are amazing! The B&B alone is wonderful. They have put so much care and love into it. It is clean and welcoming. We accidentally stumbled upon it and somehow it was the one night that there was actually room. I found the shower stall a little small, but there was a jacuzzi right next to it! (Not sure of the size of the shower in non-jacuzzi rooms). I would highly recommend calling ahead if at all possible!

Room Tip: For only $10+ you can get a room with a jacuzzi in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anjelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Found this place through tripadvisor. Boy were the reviews correct. Great place to stay by Gros Morne. Plan and book ahead as I called two weeks in advance but could only book one of two nights. Very clean, friendly and nicely designed b&b.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JVancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Vera and Dave are the most wonderful welcoming hosts you could ever wish to meet. They make you feel so at home. The bedrooms are extremely clean as are the bathrooms. We stayed three nights and had the most magnificent breakfasts you could ask for. Each day we were served a different entree and all were scrumptious. Vera and Dave also told us about places to visit and where to eat. We would recommend this B & B to anyone who is going to Gros Morne.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I are big travelers and have stayed in B&Bs quite extensively. I can very honestly say that our three nights at the Anchor Down was the very best B&B experience in all of my travels. Vera and Dave make you feel welcome from the moment that you walk up to the front entry (which, upon our arrival, also held a table of fellow guests who invited us to sit out with them in the sunshine for a drink). The entire house is extremely comfortable, clean, and modern. The rooms are large, spotlessly clean, quiet, and oh so comfortable. Not to mention the huge and modern en suite bathroom. And there is no way to write a review about the Anchor Down B&B without mentioning the AMAZING out of this world breakfast. I am not even normally a breakfast eater, but Vera's breakfast is not to be missed. I did not need to eat lunch or much of a dinner on any of our days there (savings!), though we were out hiking Gros Morne all day. Make sure that you come to breakfast hungry and you're set for the rest of the day.

Vera and Dave were an excellent resource for local hints and information about what to do in the park and in town. The B&B is just an easy 5 minute walk down a quiet residential street to the Rocky Harbour main town area and beach. There you can get anything from supplies to dinner to a drink in the evening.

I'll just sum this review up by saying that if you're planning a trip to Gros Morne, look no further for the perfect place to stay. Make your reservations and rest assured that you will be happy, comfortable, and well fed during your Gros Morne adventures. And think of me back home, only wishing for one more of Vera's amazing breakfasts!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NicolaSpringfield_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Vera and Dave made our Rocky Harbour experience so relaxed and comfortable. They are a very warm and welcoming couple who immediately make you feel at home. The breakfasts were out of this world - hearty and delicious! The rooms are large, very clean and very comfortable.They offered suggestions on what to see and where to go and after our three night stay we felt like old friends. The location was great with easy access to the highway and attractions. I hope our paths will cross again in the not to distant future as this was a great Newfoundland experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.9 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
116 reviews
24.5 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Gros Morne Cabins
Gros Morne Cabins
#3 of 5 in Gros Morne National Park
143 reviews
4.4 mi away
Out East B&B
Out East B&B
#4 of 4 in Norris Point
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

Address: 84 Pond Road, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 bedroom 4 star Bed & Breakfast with all en suites, we are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Park, close to all amenities and park attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing