We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Gros Morne National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$650.14*
and up
Historic Boat Tour on Bonne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

After travelling all through Newfoundland in the days before, I was beginning to wonder what was going to be so special about Gros Morne when the remainder of the island was already so beautiful. However, be prepared to be stunned.

I only had a couple of days in which to try and see as much as I could, and would love to go back and see more in the future. In particular, I was very sorry to have run out of time for the Western Brook Pond tour - the sight of the fjord from the road was simply breathtaking (I nearly drove into the ocean!!).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    726
    64
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
““The more you know, the less you need.” - Yvon Chouinard”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have done quite a few breathtaking hikes in the park from 2km -16km. The park center was really helpful with all kind of information and the staffs there were knowledgeable with a friendly manner!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dihon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth at least two or three days visit”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Even if you are not the outdoor types there are many things to do in Gros Morne. The scenery is varied from the Tablelands wasteland look to the bog lands and the mountains. Try staying in Cow Head for easy access to the Theatres and the Western Brook Pond tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The scenery is breath taking. Pure wilderness.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent one week in Woody Point on Bonne Bay. The scenery is breath taking. The people are so friendly. We even helped some local folks pick wild blueberries up on a hill by a lighthouse overlooking the harbour. The Green Garden Hike is mandatory to do as well as the cruise on Western Brook Pond. Dress warmly though for the cruise. Despite being a fairly warm day, the wind over the water was rather brisk! There is so much to see here and not enough time to do it all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KarnMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breathtaking scenery”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a great time hiking, kayaking and just generally enjoying this fascinating park (despite some rain). We were there three days and could have stayed longer, as we didn't see as much of the southern end of the park. Highly recommend the Western Brook Pond boat ride and the Tablelands guided hike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amhale611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gros Morne National Park also viewed

Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland
 

Been to Gros Morne National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing