We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveler rating
859
69
9
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
859
69
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gros morne trout river western brook pond boat tour woody point shallow bay bucket list green point hiking trails several days earth's mantle spent days green garden discovery center a unesco world heritage site beautiful scenery natural beauty
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 937 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of our best national parks! The beauty is breathtaking...everywhere you go, you look at amazing sites. We saw about 9 moose, and a gorgeous fox. Hiking trails are excellent. So much to see and do.

Thank andiejpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This national park is an absolutely must. Hiking trails for all levels. Unique rock formations, wide vistas, quiet hikes, friendly people!

Thank bkmccann75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Gros Morne is huge. Don’t think it’s just one area. You will need a Parks pass, these can be purchased from the Discovery centre near Trouts River.

The Tablelands area is unique in the world. The Parks Rangers do a guided walk each morning in the busy months. It’s rugged terrain so go with a guide if you want to walk on the top of the plateau.

The Park has many sections spread over various areas on the mid west coast of Newfoundland. Do your research, hire a car and give yourself a week to explore the area.

Thank 63AnitaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

For the little time we were there, the scenery was phenomenal! We saw all kinds of wildlife; from Eagles to whales to moose and lots of shore birds! Geographical features were awe inspiring and the diversity of the entire park was amazing! We went to the marine study center and saw all kinds of fish and sea creatures and even got to hold/pet some of them! Great experience!

Thank Blacksmith12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

I visited the national park to hike the northern and long range traverse. The hikes were very challenging and require a solid knowledge in navigation. The weather is very unforgiving should it turn bad.

That being said, I didn’t see another human for three days and the hike is one on the most beautiful hikes I’ve ever done.

Thank Go_Ami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

What an amazing location, even for those of us who do not hike. There are easy trails to follow, great parking areas and views whichever direction you turn. It is a breathtaking place that draws in people of all ages.

1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

For those of you interested in hiking this is a great place to visit. We hiked the Table lands, going beyond the short marked trail to do try to do a loop up to the top, around the edge and down. We didn't make it because the trail is not marked. There are some cairns marking the way up to the top but once you get up to the top the cairns disappear and it is very difficult to figure out where to go, as the entire landscape looks the same - lots of yellowish boulders and rocks. We ended up coming down the way we came up. Not the most visually interesting hike there.
We also did the day-hike with Bon Ton Tours at Western Brook Pond. This is not nearly as scary as the website makes out, as the place where it is steep is full of trees and bushes and there are lots of handholds to make your way up. However, it is a very strenuous hike for those people not in good shape. You need to be in better than average fitness. One of our fellow hikers who was a bit overweight had to stop and return with an earlier group of hikers. And in the earlier group there were some smokers who really struggled. Remember you can hike only as fast as the slowest person in your group. We also hiked Baker's Brook - pretty and easy, mostly along a boardwalk, but the falls are worth seeing, and the Green Coastal Trail, again very easy but so beautiful, and very interesting from a geological point of view. Watch out for blackflies in Gros Morne. We had bug hats and very glad we did. They are voracious.

Thank CEA63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Gros Morne National Park is a five star world class site an worth the effort to get here. I am from the West and proud of National Parks in our Region. I asked one of the staff if she would every like to work in Bannard or Jasper National Park. Her was surprising and disappointing. She said she had lived in Edmonton for four months and hated it. She would never want to work anywhere but Gros Morne. I thought her comment was short sited and unprofessional. I left the visitor centre with a bad first impression. Luckily, Gros Morne’s beauty can outshine and inspire a negative uninformed comment.

1  Thank bhoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Gros Morne N.P. is fantastically beautiful. Very diverse, lots to see and do and learn. We spent a couple of days here and are already planning to spend more time during our next trip.

Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

WE visited GM for five days. While two of us did the Long Range Traverse hike, the ladies did a number of day hikes.
The LR traverse was an incredible experience with awesome scenery, challenging hills, ample game sightings, and vast amounts of untouched unspoiled vistas.
The day hikes were generally accurate as rated in the park guide. Lots of variety in length and duration.
The Western Brook Pond boat ride was incredible.

Thank kennydh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews