We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for more. Would stay here again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen Bed & Breakfast

Evergreen Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evergreen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 10 Rocky Harbour B&B and Inns
Smiths Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more. Would stay here again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Evergreen for 4 nights on a tour of Gros Morne park and the west coast of Newfoundland. The owners are very friendly and gave us lots of good recommendations for restaurants and attractions. We also got some good advice for hiking trails in the area and for climbing Gros Morne mountain (we even bought some homemade jam to make sandwiches for once we got to the top). One thing we liked were the different breakfast options and different times you could select to eat. Overall, this was a great place to stay and was a good price, too.

P.S. I read some of the negative reviews posted earlier and couldn't disagree more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

This was our first B&B experience in Canada and it was a good surprise. A clean bedroom and bathroom, different choices of breakfast formula with homemade-jam. Sarah and Carson (owners) are nice and friendly, giving advices, tips and more if you need.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we knew that staying with Sarah & Carson was going to be a welcoming & low-key experience. We were two hikers preparing to tackle a 7-day hike in Gros Morne National Park, and Carson was able to provide insightful information about what to expect. The pancakes in the morning were just the ticket to get us going on our hiking trip, and when we returned 7 days later, it was just like coming home. Sarah & Carson went out of their way to help us out when we needed a ride into town, or suggestions on where to eat dinner. We definitely recommend this B&B!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LW_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Sarah and Carson share their home freely, are welcoming but not intrusive. Relaxed atmosphere, birds on the feeder at the kitchen window. Carson is a wealth of knowledge on the flora and fauna of Newfoundland, especially the plants. Sarah serves a hearty breakfast with a variety of home-made jams. Thanks again for the good advice on how much water to carry up Gros Morne Mountain and letting us dry our gear on your sunny deck! Carson and Sarah go out of their way to help you enjoy your holiday in Gros Morne. We enjoyed our conversations very much!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at Evergreen on the nights of June 29 and July 1st 2011. We were welcomed into Sarah and Carson's house with a cup of tea, spent two extremely comfortable nights followed by very nice breakfasts. Carson's local knowledge of the trees, birds and animals of the Park kept us asking questions for hours. What a delight!
We recommended this B & B to two other B&Bers we met up near St Anthony.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleming2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallacetown
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

My three-night stay at Evergreen was my first B & B experience. I'd give it a big thumbs up!
I enjoyed the warm, relaxing atmosphere where guests were welcomed like friends.
The accommodations were clean and comfortable. I appreciated the fact that a bathroom was available for each room.
A delicious assortment of breakfast menu options made choosing ONE the most difficult decision I made during my vacation! I also liked being able to choose from the different times that breakfast was served.
Thanks for a memorable time. If I ever happen to revisit the Gros Morne area, I'd be sure to stay at Evergreen, a home away from home.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WallacetownCarebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

I had a very pleasant stay here - a comfortable room, and it was nice to have our own bathroom. Breakfast was delicious-the assortment of homemade jams was a real treat! Even though Sarah had to be away with a sick relative, Carson did everything in his power to make sure we were well looked after (I've never seen a man do so much laundry!) I found him to be a kind and gentle soul, and my friend and I had lots of laughs around Carson's kitchen table with him and the other guests. I'd go back in a flash, and would recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyLud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
23.6 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gros Morne Suites
Gros Morne Suites
#6 of 15 in Rocky Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
12.3 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
4.7 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Bed & Breakfast

Property: Evergreen Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Evergreen Lane, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Evergreen Bed & Breakfast Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing