We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gift Shop with a Kitchen”
Review of Treasure Box

Treasure Box
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Local Crafts, Local Knitted Goods, Great Food and Coffee
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
242 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Gift Shop with a Kitchen”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Treasure Box is a gift shop selling chotchkies and souvenirs, but also has a kitchen. I ordered a combination plate that included the salted cod fishcakes, baked beans, and toutons. The fishcakes were formed with more cake than fish and lacked a nice crispy exterior, but still maintained a tasty flavor. The baked beans were very standard fair, while the toutons (fried dough) dipped with molasses hit my stomach with a "thud." I found the split-pea soup (a Newfoundland classic) to be rather tasty and the highlight of my meal.

Overall, I have provided better reviews for other establishments in the area that focus more on the quality of their food than selling souvenirs.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    58
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good Newfoundland food at more reasonable prices!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Had fish cakes here with the toutons and beans for just $11.95 while the day before that we had fish cakes at Java Jacks where we spent $18 for 3 fish cakes and it felt like we were disturbing the waitress when we ordered....come on people! The food was very good at Treasure Box and the lady who runs the place showed us downhome hospitality! Will definately go back again if we are in Gros Morne area

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marandbrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food with Great Comfort”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Treasure Box or "Joyce's", as we call it, is a small intimate cafe with great food. Joyce, the owner, is a welcoming soul, and very keen to help in whatever way she can. The food tastes homemade, nothing out of tins, packages, etc. and her breadbuns, which accompany just about everything are delicious. Try the "special"...fishcakes, toutons and baked beans...my personal favourite.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SteffieNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay, NL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it here!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stopped in here just to look for souvenirs to bring home, however once inside we were so taken by the smell of the great food we had to have some lunch there! We had toutons, baked beans abd fish cakes. It was fantastic! I don't even like fish cakes but I devoured half of my fiance's! I don't know how this places doesn't have more reviews!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank klm277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great food I can't believe nobody has reviewed this!”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Well I guess I'm the first. My wife and I had breakfast here and it was absolutely delicious. There is a great selection of Newfoundland specialties and I wish we could have had lunch or dinner there going back is a must. They have a nice gift shop with lots of nice collectables, souvenirs and preserves. It is a great place to go if you want to engulf yourself in the culture of Newfoundland very friendly and timely service.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Senior_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treasure Box also viewed

Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Treasure Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing