We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4-star? Not really.”
Review of Candlelight B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlelight B & B
Ranked #1 of 10 Rocky Harbour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2010

On paper this appears to b e a four star b&b, but the owners seem to have forgotten the basics. Ceramic tiling, wood floors and modern/elegant furniture all add a four star touch that puts this b&b above the other places you can stay out here. The basics that are missing however are clean sheets (be prepared for pilled sheets with nasty stains), general cleanliness (I suggest bringing a swiffer to make your stay more comfortable and antihistamines if dust bothers you), and mismatched decor. It will leave you wondering whether you are staying in a fifties style doll house or a modern boutique motel. If porcelain dolls aren't your thing, neither is this b&b. And, as someone else on this forum pointed out here, there is a very odd feeling to this place that you can't quite put your finger on. Perhaps it is the bedrooms overlooking the cemetery or the complete disjointedness and layout of the entire place. Either way, your money is best spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank birdwatcher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Candlelight B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 183 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

Candlelight Inn B&B was one of the best bed & breakfast we ever stayed in. The rooms were exceptionally decorated & very clean. The beds & bedding were very comfortable. The Breakfast was excellent and the host very nice and welcoming! Would recommend this B&B to everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Worst 4 star??? B & B I stayed in in NFLD. During our 2 week stay we stayed at 4 star B & B's and all were excellent except for Candelight Inn and B & B... should not be a 4 star at all! Would definitely not recommend this to my friends.

Room was not clean...had to dust the room before settling in. The sheets were stained with bleach and did not smell clean. The towels were ragged and there was no bath mat. When we asked for an extra hand towel...we never got it!

Decor was not well finished. The kitchen had an offensive odor. The premises did not feel clean at all.

Breakfast was awful! The hot choice was eggs (fried) or pancakes, and not on the same morning! No fresh fruit cup only OLD FRUIT (such as apples, bananas, oranges) in a bowl! I am lactose intolerant and he did not accommodate my dietary requirement, as a matter of fact he said that I would probably have to cook my breakfast myself..I reminded him that I was at a 4 star accommodation and that the other 4 star B & B's I was staying in accommodated my dietary requirments no problem. I had to purchase my on Lactose Free milk and he did not offer to reimburse the cost...I left it there for his use.

The owner was very nice, no question about it, but the 4 star rating for this B & B is outrageous....should be a 3 star at the most!!!!

1  Thank Tourtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnynph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Thank susiq11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishermansBlues, Owner at Candlelight B & B, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
114 reviews
22.6 mi away
SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
0.7 mi away
Gros Morne Cabins
Gros Morne Cabins
#3 of 5 in Gros Morne National Park
143 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight B & B

Address: 89 Main St. North, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an adult only (19+) Canada Select 4* B&B located directly on the water in Rocky Harbour NL in the middle of Gros Morne National Park. All rooms provide one queen sized bed with pillow top mattresses (double occupancy only) and a large 4 piece en-suite. Choice of 6 breakfast items, made to order. Come and experience nature at it's finest, come to Gros Morne National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Candlelight B & B Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing