We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly not a "4" but certainly a solid "3"”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Candlelight B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlelight B & B
Ranked #1 of 10 Rocky Harbour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly not a "4" but certainly a solid "3"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

|Our unanimous first impression as we drove up was "Oh, Oh have we made a big mistake" booking this location, even knowing it had a 4 star rating.
Once inside however, we found a much more inviting atmosphere & a very nice & friendly owner, Winston. We also found our rooms nice, the linens were fine & the beds very comfortable.
Winston went out of his way to assist us with a flat tire on our truck. He had it pumped up first thing in the morning so we could quickly drive it to a recommended service station for repairs.
Winston prepared an excellent full breakfast for all of us. "His pancakes were the best ever". Needless to say, we all left well fed & satisfied.
While definitely not a "4" rating overall, this location was certainly a solid "3" in our book.
Gary & Mary Ellen Thorne
John & Marion Lobban

Room Tip: The outside appearance should not deter you from staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1961Gary1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    13
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
106
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We booked this place last minute based on published information available to us on our trip. I do not understand how this B & B was able to get a four star rating through Canada Select. At first blush this B & B seems clean however it is deceiving and once you look closer you can see that it is not clean. For example, our bedsheets had obviously not been changed as they were full of hair and were soiled. When I brought it to the proprietors attention and requested new sheets he was insistant that I was incorrect. I was provided with clean bedding and I ended up changing the bedding myself and discovered that not only were the sheets soiled but that the mattress did not have a cover on it nor the pillows. Once I got home, I looked back at a previously written review from 2010 and discovered that our experience was not unique.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

My 92 year old mother and I had a reservation here, but when we arrived our room had been given to someone else. There was not other place in town to stay and we had to travel 45 minutes to the next town, Cow Head.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had a lovely stay here for 3 nights. Our host, Winston, was amazing in providing us with everything that we needed and more. He is a "one man show" and is an attraction in his own right. We had comfortable accommodations with TV and plenty of DVD's for a rainy day, plentiful food for breakfast that appealed to adults and a picky 7-year old, and a superb location. We were within walking distance to restaurants, grocery stores, and within 40 minute drive to most sites within Gros Morne. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you, Winston!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queen_Marg0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here on the last 3 nights of our fantastic vacation in Newfoundland. Found out the Inn was an old Salvation Army Church, could be the reason for the odd feel. The owner Winston was a great host, as he is 70 we were very pleased with the state of our rooms. Clean, tidy & a comfortable queen size bed with an en-suite and with breakfast included, perfect. Eggs, bacon, toast, cereal & juice, coffee & tea for first morning then pancakes, toast, cereal & juice, coffee & tea for the next, he had fresh fruit available too. Kitchen was available as the common room for all the guests, fridge & Internet available in the kitchen & we were also free to use the back deck, which we did. Beautiful view of the harbour great location for our travels. Old cemetery at the waters edge, found this was the case all over Newfoundland. The whole guest area of the Inn is on ground level so easy access to room & kitchen facility. Winston made some excellent recommendations for things to do & places to eat, make sure you get to Parson's Restaurant - pre book fresh seafood, had the best lobster with homemade bread & soup as a starter & order a great bottle of wine. Also go see the Anchor's Aweigh show at the Anchor Inn, great music & comedy with a history lesson to boot. Both highly recommended by Winston. The Inn is within walking distance to the centre of town so no need to drive if wanting a change. Nice place to stay. Nice area, close to many cross country walks. Also check out the Gros Morne Park tourist information complex very good tourist guides with a lot of interesting movies & books & flyers avaliable to learn about the area. All round great experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you book your rooms at least 2 month ahead of time when traveling in Newfoundland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pm-jm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

On paper this appears to b e a four star b&b, but the owners seem to have forgotten the basics. Ceramic tiling, wood floors and modern/elegant furniture all add a four star touch that puts this b&b above the other places you can stay out here. The basics that are missing however are clean sheets (be prepared for pilled sheets with nasty stains), general cleanliness (I suggest bringing a swiffer to make your stay more comfortable and antihistamines if dust bothers you), and mismatched decor. It will leave you wondering whether you are staying in a fifties style doll house or a modern boutique motel. If porcelain dolls aren't your thing, neither is this b&b. And, as someone else on this forum pointed out here, there is a very odd feeling to this place that you can't quite put your finger on. Perhaps it is the bedrooms overlooking the cemetery or the complete disjointedness and layout of the entire place. Either way, your money is best spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank birdwatcher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

Candlelight Inn B&B was one of the best bed & breakfast we ever stayed in. The rooms were exceptionally decorated & very clean. The beds & bedding were very comfortable. The Breakfast was excellent and the host very nice and welcoming! Would recommend this B&B to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
22.6 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
22.8 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
5.7 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight B & B

Property: Candlelight B & B
Address: 89 Main St. North, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an adult only (19+) Canada Select 4* B&B located directly on the water in Rocky Harbour NL in the middle of Gros Morne National Park. All rooms provide one queen sized bed with pillow top mattresses (double occupancy only) and a large 4 piece en-suite. Choice of 6 breakfast items, made to order. Come and experience nature at it's finest, come to Gros Morne National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Candlelight B & B Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing