We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove
Nearby Hotels
Restland Motel(Clarenville)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarenville Inn(Clarenville)
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Jude Hotel(Clarenville)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
267
52
14
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
52
14
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishers loftfishers' loftdining roomskerwink trailseveral buildingstrinity bayhalibuthill overlookinggreat hikingrocking chairstwo nightstrail mixfine diningbonavista peninsulaseparate buildingfor salepair of binoculars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 338 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This place is very professionally run with pursuit of perfection obviously the goal. The various buildings are situated on a hill overlooking Port Ruxton and Trinity Bay and we felt that the village itself is more authentic than Trinity and the location is truly beautiful. The house we were in is at the highest level; our rooms (2 couples) very comfortable with wonderful beds. The food, though a bit pricey, is delicious, of the highest quality, both dinner and breakfast. The service was excellent and everyone seemed so happy to make us welcome. We stayed 2 nights and would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happytrav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at Fishers’ Loft in the Conference House on a very recent visit. Although the location was beautiful and the facility was well kept, it did lack a sense of something special. The rooms were comfortable but without the welcoming feel we often have experienced in Newfoundland. In fact the room seemed almost monastic in its starkness. Although this is a matter of taste there are three factual problems with the facility. First there is no elevator in the Conference House and the rooms are on the second floor which can be a problem. Second, this was the only hotel/inn in which we stayed that did not have room darkening shades; sunrise is very early. Third, there is no AC and despite a fan, the room was less than comfortable.

Room Tip: Be aware of lack of elevators.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SJayinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The beauty of this place is overwhelming from the moment you turn off the road. The reception area is in it's own building on a gravel road as you enter. We were warmly greeted and introduced to the property and our room.

After a very short drive on another gravel cart path we came to one of several houses that would be where we found our room. The older home, beautifully restored, was surrounded by lush gardens forever views.

The room was nicely furnished with sea views on two sides. The bath was large and clean.

The only thing keeping Fisher's Loft from a five star review is the thin walls. The guest upstairs was having an afternoon nap while I was reading in the room below. I could hear him snoring! I wouldn't complain about snoring but that is an indication of just how little sound it takes to be heard in another room. Arriving guests talking to each other in the hall sounded as if they were in the room with us. The Inn's website asks guests to be considerate of others and keep the noise down, credit to them for that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

For our party of three we all found Fishers Loft lacked the real feel of Newfoundland we found at other places in the Trinity area. Our first impression was provided by the receptionist who was professional and aloof with no typical warm Newfoundland welcome. Our room was well appointed but again lacked an authentic Newfoundland feel. We had just stayed at another Trinity Inn similarly set up with several small houses and a main dining room and there was no comparison. Yes the stairwells were narrow and the floors were squeaky as they should be in a historic home, but the beds were comfy and it was a great experience. The staff at that Inn were ALL exceptionally warm and welcoming. The food was phenomenal. Fishers Loft may appeal to those looking for an upscale Newfoundland experience, but for us it lacked authenticity.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CarrieJ378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great Rooms, helpful staff. Spent a couple of nights in a loft here, and well worth it. Views are perfect. Had a minor issue with one thing in the room and we had three different staff come and apologize about it. You won't find that degree of attention many places. Meals are $$ but worth it. Suggest reserving your dinner reservation before you arrive as late seating fills up early.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank northern_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews