We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Rexton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Rexton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I now live in St. John's, although a mainlander and when my family and friends visit we typically stay on the Avalon and do small day trips. I had a friend visiting and we decided to drive out to Trinity and Bonavista and stay in Port Rexton. I have been looking at the pictures from the view in our room on a daily basis, as a reminder of this hidden gem on earth that everyone should visit. We decided on the suite (which although I felt was a little expensive, was well worth the price for 2 people looking for separate beds). The view from our room was incredible. The duvet was out of this world in comfort, the bath products were amazing and the suite was very clean and comfortable. The Ipod player was an added bonus as well. We decided on the dinner in the restaurant and were not disappointed. We had the best seat in the house. There is a lot to do in the area as we went through Trinity and hiked the Skerwink trail. The entire area, hotel and restaurant were top notch and I can't wait to go back. The one night away truly felt like a week long relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: The suite is great for 2 couples or people requiring 2 beds. There is a nice living room area and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    46
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
202
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

These beautiful older refurbished buildings are nestled amongst the most beautiful views you could ever hope for of the ocean on a Newfoundland coast. A few steps away is the Kerwink trail which walks a 5 km loop over looking cliffs to the ocean and beaches you only see in the movies. The food was excellent and also the breakfast. Specials are innovative and Gourmet quality. We enjoyed our stay there in the loft with a beautiful view of the ocean. We would definitely go back. Worth the 3 hr drive from St. John's for a one night stay and hike.
The new conference building would be an excellent place for a Wedding of 50-60

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We read that much of the design was attributed to the involvement of a local artist. It appeared that the concept was to recreate a U.K.-style seaside village with an emphasis on luxury. If this was the goal they succeeded. The location affords a stunning view from all vantage points.The furnishings were also inspired and designed by local artisans and added to the enjoyment of our experience. While we were there the inn was in the process of creating a garden "maze". We were told that the owner brought an expert over from the U.K. to design and oversee this project. It is this attention to detail that has made this a very special place. We also enjoyed the restaurant, for both breakfast and dinners.

Room Tip: From what we could see, you can't help but get a good room, as they all appear to have exception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I really liked the Fishers Loft. The room was spacious, had a comfy bed, high quality linen and furnishings and beautiful bath products (L'Occitaine is one of my fave's). We steered away from the fixed prix dinner as I thought it was very expensive and we are vegetarians and wouldn't eat the salmon that was part of it. Went on an adventure to find another place to eat (Two Whales was closed) and found nothing but gas station food. We returned and the dining staff offered us soup and bread. It was AWESOME. We raved about that soup for days. The breakfast was equally impressive and @ $16 pp was well worth it. At first I was disappointed that as a B&B we had to pay, but that flew out the window on first bite & the dining room view is awesome! Steps away from Skerwink Trail, arguably one of the best hikes for scenery in Canada!

Room Tip: Call ahead if you are a vegetarian. They can probably do up a vegetarian dinner for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyrood, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Newfoundland is a rare place in the world. It's charm and mysticism surpass that of the modern world, yet it embraces the modern world at the same time. Going to Newfoundland is not like any where else in North America. It's deep, introspective, and has an elegance in the simplicity of time, scenery and architecture.

Staying at Fishers' Loft is all of the best of what Newfoundland has to offer - all in one place. Endless trails, a new scene around every corner, breathtaking cliffs and fields. Truly a hikers paradise. The loft itself is intricately designed....to embrace everything Newfoundland as the local artisans have come together in craft and guild to contribute to the entity "Fishers' Loft". At every angle there is local art, local wood working, local craftsmanship and local architecture. Overseen and delivered by the Fisher family - this is a trip to be savoured, much like their cuisine...beyond words...and fashioned to taste!

Go there... and get lost in what it truly is to be in "Newfoundland".

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 - views from every room and angle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaOlivero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight at Fisher's Loft. The place was really beautiful. We stayed at room 15 and had a great view of the bay. The room was spacious, clean, and cute. The staff are really nice. We requested an early check in and they were gracious enough to let us do that. Overall had a great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 15 and it was spacious and had a good view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mavandgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have a summer home in this area and have had the pleasure of dining here several times but we were delighted to spend the night here this fall. Lots of attention to detail and incredibly comfortable. Great people, very private, stunningly beautiful.

Room Tip: You don't need a pool or a fitness centre with the incredible ponds and hiking trails nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthanddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Rexton
1.8 mi away
Artisan Inn
Artisan Inn
#1 of 11 in Trinity
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
1.7 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Eriksen Premises
Eriksen Premises
#7 of 11 in Trinity
90 reviews
11.6 mi away
The View Golf Resort
The View Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeton
17 reviews
21.1 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove

Property: Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove
Address: Mill Road, Port Rexton, Newfoundland and Labrador AOC 2HO, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Rexton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Rexton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Fishers` Loft Inn By Ship Cove Hotel Port Rexton
Fishers' Loft Inn By Ship Cove Port Rexton, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing