We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brisk 5k walk with fabulous cliff views”
Review of Skerwink Trail

Skerwink Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skerwink Trail is the hiking Jewel of the region. It is internationally recognized and was ranked the top 35 trails in North America and Europe by Travel & Leisure Magazine (2003). This 5.3 km hike will provide the opportunity to view and photograph the amazing coastal scenery, sea birds, whales, eagles, sea stacks as well as icebergs (in season).
Sydney
Level Contributor
156 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A brisk 5k walk with fabulous cliff views”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The Skerwink Trail is a well-developed path around the hills between Port Rexton and Trinity Harbour. The cliff views are sensational. It can be misty, windy or wet - or all of the above.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    21
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Hike!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We hiked the Skerwink Trail this past weekend. It was a beautiful day for a hike and the view was spectacular!!! What an amazing view from the lookout!! All I can say is WOW!!! The hike is not too difficult and the trail is in excellent condition. Great job to the volunteers to take care of this trail. Will definitely be visiting again.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank cruiser2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level Contributor
356 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Of all the hiking we did in Newfoundland, this was our favorite.”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

It was a bright sparkly day, and we took full advantage of this wonderful trail. You go to East Trinity and park in the parking lot by the church, then this is a 4 or 5 km trail. First it is fairly flat, but it leads to the cliffs and you walk along and see the ocean and all the sea stacks. It is just sublime! There are many, many steps going up, and then, of course, going down. There are also a couple benches and you can rest and take it easy. We saw many wildflowers and bake apples. This, for us, was just a perfect way to spend an afternoon.
The sights are unbelievable, and the trail, while having inclines and declines, is not all that strenuous for two retired people. We thoroughly enjoyed it and would have hated to miss it. If you can plan this on a clear day, it will be the highlight of your trip!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome coastal beauty!”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I would definitely recommend this trail to anyone who is able to hike and enjoy the beauty of creation. The trail is in excellent condition and we would like to thank all those who volunteer to keep it up. It is a great way to spend any part of the day. We did it in the late afternoon, and then again in the morning. We had hoped to spend some time reading at the beach at the end of the hike, but weather did not permit us to do so. I would love to do it again. It has some gorgeous views of both Trinity and Port Rexton. Make sure you go to the lookout point. :)
There is a dropbox for donations at the end of the trail.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank duchessofsunhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

In Newfoundland, there are many beautiful trails along the cliffs overlooking the ocean, but this is one of the loveliest, and is easy to find. Beautiful views, wonderful stretches of forest and wildflowers a chance to watch murres dive - what more could you want?

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skerwink Trail also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Skerwink Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing