We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Blandford
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here during customer appreciation week but did not feel the appreciation!
The website itself is misleading, an efficiency suite does not look as the pictures or the description show....unless you are in a newly refurbished part of the building it seems....yet nothing to indicate otherwise on the site. Room very outdated in terms of furnishings, paint peeling from ceilings, bathroom fixtures not in good shape, bathroom faucet came on full speed on hot nearly burning my child's hand. We were in a non smoking room but could smell smoke either from someone before us or in an adjacent room/ across the hall. Terrible.Pool area was ok, the kids enjoyed that but no towels available, we were asked to take them from our room and they would be replaced in the evening when someone came on duty...no coffee or shampoo in the room either and housekeeping staff not working until 8 pm we were told.

Upon checkout we were given our driving range ticket.....would have been nice to have gotten that when we checked in so that we could have used it! It seemed a chore to be served and checked out.

Meals much overpriced...we ordered from the pub and paid $35 for some nachos (if you could call a handful of cheese and tomatoes nachos), fries and onion rings.

Needs much improvement before we will ever return here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewsbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Terra Nova with another couple to play golf and celebrate his birthday. The hotel is just average in terms of its overall appearance. A good coat of paint would do wonders to brighten up the place. The beds were fine, the room was clean. Ours had a nice view. There is a pub resto in the basement, and a slightly better than average main restaurant, as well as an outdoor pool. Value for money? At $145 per night, overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notbornyesterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Friendly and very helpful staff, excellent kitchen, top-notch golf course, but these can't overcome basic infrastructure problems.

Rooms are roomy and some have been updated (try "new section") but bathrooms stodgy (clean, though), air conditioners cannot handle summer heat, hallways not a/c at all and like ovens, and elevator slow.

Despite all this, will continue to make my annual pilgrimage because of golf. Great layout, beautiful scenery and good conditions except for sketchy fairways. Get a package and enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dufferMcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in a suite at this hotel for two nights with two children. The suite itself was modern and spacious with a comfortable king-size bed in a seperate bedroom, a nice balcony, as well as a fully-equipped kitchen. The resort has an enclosed pool and hottub, a small, clean, well-equipped gym, tennis courts and of course it is adjacent to the golf course. I had two complaints: The first issue was the NOISE. There was a wedding at the hotel, and there was loud music and partying until well past 3AM - hotel management should control this for the sake of all guests. The second issue was the food/service in the restaurants. Both were subpar for the price paid. Big city pricing ($27+ for dinner entre) without the freshness, taste or excellent service one would expect at that price point. Overall, nice place to stay if you get a suite and bring your own food to cook.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a suite.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lc123BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel again this year. We stayed July 5th and 6th. I don't know why this place has gotten the bad reviews of late. First off the people at the front desk are friendly and will help with any requests you may have. There are two types of rooms, the older style which is not bad at all and the refurbished room which are just wonderful. I found the hotel to be very clean both in the lobby, restaurant, around the pool and inside my room.
We ate at the restaurant for both breakfast and supper. They had a breakfast buffet both mornings we were there and it was very good. Lots of variety.
We had a wonderful supper as well, I had the angus steak and my wife had the cod. Both cook to perfection.
The pool and fitness room were great, pool was very warm, just great. Fitness room is new and had lots of equipment.
The golf course was in good shape this year. Tee boxes and greens are very well kept. You cant beat the scenery either.
All in all I was very impressed. Certainly would recommend this place to family and friends!!

Room Tip: Ask about the stay and play packages. Great Value.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spent 2 nights here this past weekend and it was a horrible experience. The rooms and very very dated in regards to decor. The A/C was non functional, the window was blocked and could not allow fresh air inside. I found beer stoppers in closet, the tv remote was missing the battery cover and you had to hold the batteries in place to use the remote, not to mention the very small tv, and the bathroom is very small and the door swings into the sink. We were very disappointed when we checked out and polietly told the clerk but our concerns fell on deaf ears. No one called us at all to discuss our issues. I'd never ever stay here again ! We would have left the next morning after the first night but i was the area to work and after working 13 hours i was too tierd to make the 2 hour drive home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeepmancrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RChrisAnthony, Owner at Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Jeepmancrd,

My Name is Chris Anthony and I am a co-owner and the new Director of Operations at the Terra Nova Resort and Golf Community. I would like to offer my sincere's apologies that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at our resort and that it has taken so long for your concerns to be addressed. We are currently undertaking major renovations of the hotel and supporting facilities. I can assure you that will be undertaking to full A/C, window and bathroom upgrades in all of our resort rooms during the coming off season's. I would like the opportunity to discuss and try to personally resolve your concerns. I invite you to contact me at (709) 543-2525 ext. 0 or via email: chris@terranovagolf.com. I look forward to speaking with you and thank you your patience as we upgrade our facilities and improve our staff training programs.

Sincerely,

Chris Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were coming to the 2013 Salmon Festival and the Terra Nova Golf Resort was the closest place available to rent. We booked a room with one queen sized bed. Imagine our surprise when we went to our room at 2:00 a.m. and seen what we consider a double bed. Spoke to the girl at the desk and she told us it was a queen bed. We asked for a different room that supposedly had two queen beds and only to find again two double beds. Very tired so went to bed! On check-out complained to the hotel staff who told us it was a normal sized queen bed and we must have been used to bigger queen beds. Decided to check online when we got home on queen bed sizes. There seems to be different sizes for double bed but only one size that I could find through my search for a queen which are around 60 "x 80". Somebody needs to educate the owners of the Terra Nova Golf Resort on bed sizes. Very disappointed with the bed and the service! Will never stay there again!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the size of the beds if you are looking for a queen.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Blandford
19.7 mi away
Clarenville Inn
Clarenville Inn
#1 of 4 in Clarenville
151 reviews
19.2 mi away
St. Jude Hotel
St. Jude Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarenville
136 reviews
18.6 mi away
Restland Motel
Restland Motel
#4 of 4 in Clarenville
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community

Address: 5-9 Muddy Brook Road, Port Blandford, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Blandford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Blandford
Price Range: $127 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Port Blandford, Newfoundland and Labrador, on the shores of Clode Sound, Bonavista Bay, our Resort is just a 2-hour drive from St. John’s. Our 220-acre oceanfront property is situated between the Discovery Trail and the Kittiwake Coast, providing the perfect location for exploring our province’s cultural and natural treasures. Whale watching, sea kayaking, hiking, professional theatre, and historical sites of Trinity and Bonavista are all nearby to add to your Newfoundland vacation. The Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community has 80 rooms and suites, along with 7 fully-furnished 2 and 3 bedroom Chalets. The Clode Sound Dinning Room and Mulligan’s Pub, along with the diverse conference facilities, make Terra Nova Resort the perfect Golf, Family Vacation or Convention destination. Golf at Terra Nova is a must! With the award-winning 18-hole Twin Rivers golf course and the relaxing 9-hole Eagle Creek, Terra Nova Resort has a golf experience for all levels of interest and skill! Besides golf, our guests can enjoy a swim in our enclosed outdoor pool (our retractable enclosure allows for all weather year round enjoyment), a dip in our hot tub to relax at the end of a day on the course, a steam room, sauna, fitness centre, and tennis & basketball courts. Whether you are on the course or hiking the network of trails, the dramatic, rugged beauty of the forest, rivers, and ocean is all here for you to enjoy. Live. Stay. Play. Naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Nova Golf Hotel Port Blandford
Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community Port Blandford, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing