We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and neglected” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Blandford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Blandford
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tired and neglected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place seems tired and neglected and so were we.  Staff were disinterested and some even seemed to resent being interrupted when asked for information help or service.  We had a premier room which was much better then the regular but the bathroom was tiny, terribly designed, sloppily finished and shabby. The old air conditioner unit did not work but made a horrible noise all night.  Pool area ugly and fitness area illequipped.  Food expensive and not impressive. Too bad because with moderate renovationss and some good management it could be a nice place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Merrytraveller44a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
17
24
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room was clean, but the beds, furniture and everything else was a little run down. The lock on the patio door didn't work but there was a stick to lock the door with. Ate at the pub, soup was excellent but my sandwich was so so and fries were horribly undercooked. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It just too bad the place hasn't been kept up. I think it would be an OK place for a bunch of buddies to go golfing and get drunk but I would never take my wife here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We pulled off the highway after a long day driving and decided to stay. We had a room facing the water that we had just enough time to see before sunset. We had a very nice swim in their pool and the staff were very friendly, all in all a very nice stay for one night when you need a comfy bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RayHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are golf enthusiasts so Terra Nova Golf is an ideal place to stay. The two golf courses have been built to provide excellent golfing conditions in a beautiful natural setting. The views are stunning.

The hotel is very attractive from the outside. The rooms are of a good size and I enjoyed staying there. However, I last stayed there 7 years ago and it is now much more run down. There was no fridge in the room which we missed. However the view over the fjord where one of the twin rivers meets the sea water, is spectacular.

We had lunch in the bar of the hotel and one of our group had ordered a burger which came after everybody else was nearly finished eating and then was not cooked properly. The greens on the golf course were not of good quality.

Good golf, friendly staff and acceptable food made our stay there very pleasant but I felt something was missing. On reflection, it was the lower quality of the rooms that just took the edge off what could have been a perfect stay.

Room Tip: A room on the back of the hotel, overlooking the fjord, is recommended. However, I have not stayed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonycStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Although the resort is very rundown there are several new chalets/houses available. Our chalet was quite large (1000 sf?) and the kitchen contained a dishwasher and there was a full size washer and dryer with powder provided. Working gas grill as well.
Suggest you stop at Sobey's grocery about half hour before resort to stock up before a nice stay near terra nova np.
Only downside is no wifi in chalet so you must wAlk to resort to use.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureEnthusiast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed over for a night on July 6th. The resort is well kept, staff are super friendly and willing to help out at anytime, we had a problem with our room key and someone was nice enough to come up from reception and help out, went over and beyond.. We ate at the restaurant and it had a nice selection of entries, very impressive wine cellar and the food was very very tasty. Mussels were amazing. Resort also had a hot tub and pool which my children loved, it has a retractable dome so when its nice outside , its opened and when its cool , its closed. Childrens playground is also great. If you want to see traditional newfoundland artwork, come here, beautiful collection of Newfoundland artists.
Golf course was in good shape and the salmon river running through it with all the bridges are spectacular. Great overnight or weekend stay for sure, we'll be back soon. Children friendly and very well priced especially for everything they offer.

Room Tip: They offer a number of stay and play package options that can fit anyones liking, and if not just te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland and Labrador
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We spent three nights at the resort over the Canada Day weekend. We travelled with another family, who reserved two Premium suites with kitchen. However, when we called to confirm the reservation, they had us down for the first night in the Premium Suite and the other two nights were booked for the end of July! It was extremely lucky that we checked, and I would recommend that anyone traveling here do so and confirm your reservation is correct. They were able to book us in to a Business suite, which did not have a kitchen. This turned out OK only because we were able to use the other family's kitchen (plus it was $50 a night cheaper) Other than this, we had a pleasant check in experience. We had troubles with our keys, but they were remedied quickly and efficiently by staff. The children found the pullout couches to be comfortable to sleep on and the beds in the bedroom room were wonderful. We have actually thought of buying the mattress for home! I thought the price for the room was very reasonable considering the space that we had. The large (not full size but bigger than a mini fridge) and microwave were handy. Beware of the laminate flooring - I slipped and fell after returning from the pool with wet feet on our first night and hurt myself. Do NOT walk around without something on your feet on that laminate!

The other family had the Premium Suite and it was absolutely beautiful, with a stand up shower and jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, and a beautiful kitchen. It also had a sit out balcony. It rained our second afternoon, and the rain was still very deep on the balcony days later however. The main disadvantage to the Premium Suite was that the living area wasn't air conditioned. We kept the fan going and the patio screen door open, but it was extremely hot. This was a sleeping area at night for the kids, and they were a bit uncomfortable. Our friends also complained about the AC in their bedroom, but it wasn't serious. Our room had AC in both living areas which made it very comfortable.

The pool area was great, and we had it pretty much to ourselves most of the trip. The retractable glass cover over the pool was a fantastic addition for our unpredictable Newfoundland weather, and the kids loved being able to swim in all conditions. The sauna and steam room were also very nice. I didn't golf, but my husband had no serious complaints about the state of the course, although he said that Gander is in much better shape.

Staff was very friendly and accommodation in all areas. Our meal in the dining room on the first night was a bit overpriced for what we got (my shrimp skewer was stone cold, for example, in a $29 meal) but they had an excellent children's menu with good prices. Our only real issue was our extremely long wait for lunch at the pub one afternoon - we were there almost 2 hours. Luckily we decided to eat outside and let the kids wait for their meals in the pool. It would have otherwise been unbearable. The servers were amazing though, apologized profusely and comped our meal, including alcohol. Well above and beyond what I would have expected for the inconvenience. We were all very pleased, especially since they did this without anyone even complaining to them. Well done! Breakfast buffet on our last day was hot and delicious with lots of variety, and a very good price.

Overall, a fantastic stay! We would definitely come here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Feckless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community

Property: Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community
Address: 5-9 Muddy Brook Road, Port Blandford, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Blandford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Blandford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Port Blandford, Newfoundland and Labrador, on the shores of Clode Sound, Bonavista Bay, our Resort is just a 2-hour drive from St. John’s. Our 220-acre oceanfront property is situated between the Discovery Trail and the Kittiwake Coast, providing the perfect location for exploring our province’s cultural and natural treasures. Whale watching, sea kayaking, hiking, professional theatre, and historical sites of Trinity and Bonavista are all nearby to add to your Newfoundland vacation. The Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community has 80 rooms and suites, along with 7 fully-furnished 2 and 3 bedroom Chalets. The Clode Sound Dinning Room and Mulligan’s Pub, along with the diverse conference facilities, make Terra Nova Resort the perfect Golf, Family Vacation or Convention destination. Golf at Terra Nova is a must! With the award-winning 18-hole Twin Rivers golf course and the relaxing 9-hole Eagle Creek, Terra Nova Resort has a golf experience for all levels of interest and skill! Besides golf, our guests can enjoy a swim in our enclosed outdoor pool (our retractable enclosure allows for all weather year round enjoyment), a dip in our hot tub to relax at the end of a day on the course, a steam room, sauna, fitness centre, and tennis & basketball courts. Whether you are on the course or hiking the network of trails, the dramatic, rugged beauty of the forest, rivers, and ocean is all here for you to enjoy. Live. Stay. Play. Naturally. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terra Nova Golf Hotel Port Blandford
Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community Port Blandford, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing