We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown resort, nice new chalets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Blandford
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Although the resort is very rundown there are several new chalets/houses available. Our chalet was quite large (1000 sf?) and the kitchen contained a dishwasher and there was a full size washer and dryer with powder provided. Working gas grill as well.
Suggest you stop at Sobey's grocery about half hour before resort to stock up before a nice stay near terra nova np.
Only downside is no wifi in chalet so you must wAlk to resort to use.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatureEnthusiast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed over for a night on July 6th. The resort is well kept, staff are super friendly and willing to help out at anytime, we had a problem with our room key and someone was nice enough to come up from reception and help out, went over and beyond.. We ate at the restaurant and it had a nice selection of entries, very impressive wine cellar and the food was very very tasty. Mussels were amazing. Resort also had a hot tub and pool which my children loved, it has a retractable dome so when its nice outside , its opened and when its cool , its closed. Childrens playground is also great. If you want to see traditional newfoundland artwork, come here, beautiful collection of Newfoundland artists.
Golf course was in good shape and the salmon river running through it with all the bridges are spectacular. Great overnight or weekend stay for sure, we'll be back soon. Children friendly and very well priced especially for everything they offer.

Room Tip: They offer a number of stay and play package options that can fit anyones liking, and if not just te...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We spent three nights at the resort over the Canada Day weekend. We travelled with another family, who reserved two Premium suites with kitchen. However, when we called to confirm the reservation, they had us down for the first night in the Premium Suite and the other two nights were booked for the end of July! It was extremely lucky that we checked, and I would recommend that anyone traveling here do so and confirm your reservation is correct. They were able to book us in to a Business suite, which did not have a kitchen. This turned out OK only because we were able to use the other family's kitchen (plus it was $50 a night cheaper) Other than this, we had a pleasant check in experience. We had troubles with our keys, but they were remedied quickly and efficiently by staff. The children found the pullout couches to be comfortable to sleep on and the beds in the bedroom room were wonderful. We have actually thought of buying the mattress for home! I thought the price for the room was very reasonable considering the space that we had. The large (not full size but bigger than a mini fridge) and microwave were handy. Beware of the laminate flooring - I slipped and fell after returning from the pool with wet feet on our first night and hurt myself. Do NOT walk around without something on your feet on that laminate!

The other family had the Premium Suite and it was absolutely beautiful, with a stand up shower and jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, and a beautiful kitchen. It also had a sit out balcony. It rained our second afternoon, and the rain was still very deep on the balcony days later however. The main disadvantage to the Premium Suite was that the living area wasn't air conditioned. We kept the fan going and the patio screen door open, but it was extremely hot. This was a sleeping area at night for the kids, and they were a bit uncomfortable. Our friends also complained about the AC in their bedroom, but it wasn't serious. Our room had AC in both living areas which made it very comfortable.

The pool area was great, and we had it pretty much to ourselves most of the trip. The retractable glass cover over the pool was a fantastic addition for our unpredictable Newfoundland weather, and the kids loved being able to swim in all conditions. The sauna and steam room were also very nice. I didn't golf, but my husband had no serious complaints about the state of the course, although he said that Gander is in much better shape.

Staff was very friendly and accommodation in all areas. Our meal in the dining room on the first night was a bit overpriced for what we got (my shrimp skewer was stone cold, for example, in a $29 meal) but they had an excellent children's menu with good prices. Our only real issue was our extremely long wait for lunch at the pub one afternoon - we were there almost 2 hours. Luckily we decided to eat outside and let the kids wait for their meals in the pool. It would have otherwise been unbearable. The servers were amazing though, apologized profusely and comped our meal, including alcohol. Well above and beyond what I would have expected for the inconvenience. We were all very pleased, especially since they did this without anyone even complaining to them. Well done! Breakfast buffet on our last day was hot and delicious with lots of variety, and a very good price.

Overall, a fantastic stay! We would definitely come here again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Feckless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great area to walk or hike or golf. Lovely rooms. Great swimming pool. Good staff. Good business centre internet. Sometimes slow in rooms. All else good. Dining room pricey but pub downstairs excellent food and service. Great fish and chips.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with aview. Ours was superb.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bseagram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

A highlight of our summer has always been playing in Terra Nova. This year will be different. The course has been poorly maintained over the winter and is not fit to play, especially at the full rate that is being charged. There is no grass in some fairways, and greens are mostly terrible. It's a shame. We stopped staying at the hotel years ago, because you cannot put lipstick on a pig, and the recent renovations do not address the fundamental problem of its plywood construction and no soundproofing. For the price they charge, go stay at a B&B in Port Blandford. I'm shocked that a CPGA pro would let this gem of a course get to this state. Go play the Gander course instead

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCB68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

On paper, the Terra Nova Golf Resort has it all - 2 golf courses, swimming pool, fitness centre, pub, main dining room, etc. But the building is about 25 years old and is in dire need of updating and renovating. The bedrooms are tired and the meeting rooms are barely adequate. The staff is excellent and the food is OK,not great, but OK

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

stayed there this past weekend!! for a golf tourni...my room was infested with large ants!!! all over the towels in bathroom..told the lady at front desk when i checked out and she didnt reallt seem phased , then i found out others ,many others had same issue.
then we payed fulle cost for a golf course not fit to play on..dried dead hay and grass. hard pan.
not worth $20 a round even .again went to the resort and conplained and nothing done as well.
not good nl hospitality . and the food was unbearable

Room Tip: for a good room , stay at another resort
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Blandford
19.7 mi away
Clarenville Inn
Clarenville Inn
#1 of 4 in Clarenville
151 reviews
19.2 mi away
St. Jude Hotel
St. Jude Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarenville
136 reviews
18.6 mi away
Restland Motel
Restland Motel
#4 of 4 in Clarenville
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community

Address: 5-9 Muddy Brook Road, Port Blandford, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Blandford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Blandford
Price Range: $127 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Port Blandford, Newfoundland and Labrador, on the shores of Clode Sound, Bonavista Bay, our Resort is just a 2-hour drive from St. John’s. Our 220-acre oceanfront property is situated between the Discovery Trail and the Kittiwake Coast, providing the perfect location for exploring our province’s cultural and natural treasures. Whale watching, sea kayaking, hiking, professional theatre, and historical sites of Trinity and Bonavista are all nearby to add to your Newfoundland vacation. The Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community has 80 rooms and suites, along with 7 fully-furnished 2 and 3 bedroom Chalets. The Clode Sound Dinning Room and Mulligan’s Pub, along with the diverse conference facilities, make Terra Nova Resort the perfect Golf, Family Vacation or Convention destination. Golf at Terra Nova is a must! With the award-winning 18-hole Twin Rivers golf course and the relaxing 9-hole Eagle Creek, Terra Nova Resort has a golf experience for all levels of interest and skill! Besides golf, our guests can enjoy a swim in our enclosed outdoor pool (our retractable enclosure allows for all weather year round enjoyment), a dip in our hot tub to relax at the end of a day on the course, a steam room, sauna, fitness centre, and tennis & basketball courts. Whether you are on the course or hiking the network of trails, the dramatic, rugged beauty of the forest, rivers, and ocean is all here for you to enjoy. Live. Stay. Play. Naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Nova Golf Hotel Port Blandford
Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community Port Blandford, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing