We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a room with seaview, it is worth the extra cost” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Christopher's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Christopher's Hotel
Belgie
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take a room with seaview, it is worth the extra cost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is located close to the ferry, which is convenient when arriving in the evening like we did. The room was clean and seemd to be renovated recently (3rd floor, seaview). The staff was very friendly. Take a room with seaview, it is worth the extra cost when you wake up in the morning on a sunny day.

Room Tip: Take a room with seaview, it is worth the extra cost when you wake up in the morning on a sunny day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    69
    56
    12
    9
See reviews for
55
81
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at St. Christopher's Hotel for three nights on a leisurely trip to Newfoundland's southwest, which allowed us the flexibility of seeing the outdoor sights on good weather days, leaving the rainy days for museums and galleries. We found our room (#303) overlooking the water to be spacious, well laid out, and up to date. We liked the separate “vanity” room and the option of opening a small section of the window. From our window we watched the ferries manoeuver through the tight channel and then turn 180 degrees to back up for loading. One clear morning the sunrise viewed from our window was spectacular. One evening, after returning from dinner in the hotel dining room, we heard music at the waterfront below so went down to listen to a Newfoundland group playing traditional music. Along the waterfront are small shops, looking like fishermen's huts painted in various colours. They offer souvenirs, local food, and other specialty items. There are very few options in Port aux Basques for good dining, the Captain's Room in St. Christopher's being one of them. However, we found it was worth the 7-minute drive to the Seashore Restaurant, overlooking the water in Margaree. Most of their dishes are made on site, including home-made fries and outstanding desserts, all reasonably priced. The trip to Rose Blanche Lighthouse is spectacular and the site is well designed for tourists, as is the beautiful Cape Ray Lighthouse and historical site for wireless transmission and under-ocean cable telegraph communication. We are happy that we were able to see these picturesque areas in perfect weather as the following two days brought very heavy rain and high winds, making sightseeing difficult. The weather was so bad that ferries were cancelled for a day. St. Christopher's Hotel provided us with a comfortable and reasonably priced place to stay as we waited out the storm. It is well maintained and most likely the best place to stay, not in only in town, but in the surrounding area as well.

Room Tip: For the best view of the waterfront, ask for a room on the third floor overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wood64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great place to stay after getting off the ferry. Only a few negative comments. Found a large nail clipping in the carpet, the TV was snowy but they came up and fixed it and the dinner service is slow so don't be in a big hurry and order ASAP...
The bed left me a little sore in the morning but the hot shower helped with that.
Overall it was up to date, close to ferry and friendly people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here twice very recently due to the Marine Atlantic mix ups. This hotel has friendly staff, and a nice restaurant as well. The rooms were average, but exceptionally clean and comfortable. The bathroom has an odd setup - the tub and toilet are separated from the sink by a door which makes it a little tight for space, but not a huge inconvenience. I would recommend that all rooms have a bar fridge however, as our first room did not and it would have made our stay more convenient (traveling with a toddler and dog). It's a prime location for NL-NS ferry goers as it is mere minutes away from the terminal (and Tim's is just down the road!).

Room Tip: Well priced, comfy, clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you're planning to stay in Port Aux Basques before or after your trip on the ferry, this is the place to stay. You can see the ferry from the hotel. We arrived close to midnight, and the staff was friendly and helpful even at that hour. Our room was average but clean, with a very small bathroom. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jubejube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Like most who stay here, our family stayed after getting off the Ferry.

We stay here every time we travel from Ontario to NFLD to visit family. It's convenient, accommodating, clean and very comfortable!

The restaurant also has a nice little breakfast which we also have every time we stay.

Not a bad thing to say!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We reserved a room at the St. Christopher's in anticipation of our ferry trip the following day. St. Christopher's has a great view of the harbor, and their beds were simply excellent! We liked that we could either use the a/c unit or open the window. The restaurant was fine (we had dinner there, as well as breakfast the following day). What we didn't anticipate was how enchanting this southwest corner of Newfoundland would be - had we known, we would have booked for at least one more full day.
The road to Rose Blanche was just spectacular; kettle-and-knob topography with the road rolling through. Definitely hike the coastal 'Harvey Trail' at Isle aux Morts; we did that at sunset and it was gorgeous. With more time, we would have explored more, especially up toward Port au Port peninsula.
All these ideas were in our hotel room's booklet 'The Wayfinder - 101 Things to See and Do' on Newfoundland's Southwest Coast. This corner of Newfoundland is clearly much more than just a ferry terminal, and The St. Christopher Hotel makes a very convenient and very comfortable base to explore. Next time!

Room Tip: Not a room tip per se, but Read the travel booklet that is placed in your room for '101 ideas of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewHampsterite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port aux Basques hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Port aux Basques
Hotel Port aux Basques
#1 of 2 in Port aux Basques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radio Station Inn
Radio Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Port aux Basques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
2.4 mi away
Right Off Da Boat B&B
Right Off Da Boat B&B
#2 of 2 in Port aux Basques
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Hotel

Property: St. Christopher's Hotel
Address: 146 Caribou Road | P O Box 2049, Port aux Basques, Newfoundland and Labrador A0M 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port aux Basques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port aux Basques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Christopher's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canada Select 31/2 Star property. Overlooking the Ocean. Secure, clean, well maintained, comfortable beds, quiet air conditioned rooms, private bath (four piece), 37" flat Screen cable TV, telephone (direct dial), voice mail, washer/dryer on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your St. Christopher's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christophers Hotel
St. Christopher's Hotel Port Aux Basques, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing